We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply elegant jungle sanctuary”
Review of Hickatee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We found Ian and Kate to be gracious hosts whom we felt we had been good friends with for a long time. The cottage, grounds and meals were perfect. We remember our stay at the Hickatee as we do a wonderful dream. It was so nice to wake up to coffee that had be quietly delivered to the cottage each morning. We believe that Kate and Ian are able to provide their guests with such a special experience because they are so passionate about sharing their jungle paradise and knowledge of Toledo. We look forward to returning to this very special place. We feel blessed to have found the Hickatee.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluemorphomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2009

Ian and Kate are wonderful, interesting and charming. They know where to go, what to do and who to talk to. And they are also very interesting to talk with. My sons and I were charmed with the cottages placed as they are in a beautiful garden in the midst of the forest. We will return whenever we are in Toledo district. Can't say enough good about the place or the hosts. Try it, you will like it unless you are the most jaded and selfish traveler around.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluzluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

The reviews sum up Hickatee very well – comfortable accommodation, great food, and a lovely jungle setting, but close enough to cycle to PG town and visit the chocolate factory, market, the local maya embroidery cooperative, and for meals at local restaurants. Ian and Kate were great company, very hospitable, and have loads of information on self-drive tours of the District. They linked us up with two great local guides to visit the maya villages, and Barranco village – a small Garifuna village. Don’t miss a trip to the Snake Cayes (Oliver was a great captain and guide and the snorkelling was great), or the visit to the butterfly farm which our girls loved. Toledo is still pretty much off the beaten track, but with a bit of advice easy enough to get around - as long as you don’t mind the bumpy roads!”

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn_and_Chetna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Punta Gorda (PG) is one of those rare, uncompromised havens that true travelers will cherish. PG is close to treasures of the land and the sea. There are keyes for diving and jungles for exploring. The area’s economy is simple but its culture rich and diverse. Families grind exquisite chocolates from cacao grown on trees that they treat like friends. Butterflies are cultivated by a local Mayan whose knowledge of the art has yet to be captured in a book or digitized for the Internet. Fishermen hawk catches of the day from small boats grounded on shoreline on the edge of town. A short bicycle ride from the heart of Punta Gorda is Hickatee Cottages, a tribute to a more gracious time when civilization complete with a proper cup of tea flirted with the wild. Hickatee proprietors Kate and Ian graciously treat guests like visiting British dignitaries. Hickatee’s hostess and host work enthusiastically with locals intent on preserving the area’s natural beauty and sharing its reefs, jungles, caves, rivers, flora, fauna and wildlife with visitors. Hickatee is absolutely a place to luxuriate in a time forgotten in ways you will long remember.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJFAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Ian and Kate have truly created something special at Hickatee. The location is great -- only 1.5 miles from PG. . yet, you feel as though you are in the middle of the jungle. I have stayed at other jungle accommodations in other parts of Belize -- the kind that are far away from everything - and I felt the same 'away from it all' feeling at Hickatee, even though everything was close!

It's clear they have an attention to detail to make things wonderful for guests. The rooms have many special touches. The amount of tourist information they have available is abundant, and more well organized and laid out than I've experienced before! Plus, they are more than accommodating to provide any input you need as well -- just ask! And make sure you check out the nice walking trails through the property. A great dusk or dawn way to enjoy the jungle sounds. (just don't forget the bug spray)

Anyone heading to the PG area MUST stay at Hickatee! I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikingOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We traveled to Belize in May and planed our entire trip around staying at Hickatee Cottages because of the reviews we saw on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. Ian and Kate organized private tours at our request and we couldn't have been happier. The trip and accommodations exceeded all our expectations. We were treated like royalty and we had the best time of our life. Everything that's been written in these reviews is true and even better. Caving, jungle hiking and a fishing tour to beautiful Snake Keys are a must. The butterfly farm is also amazing and a real treasure. Thanks Ian and Kate for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmariushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We spent 5 wonderful days at Hickatee cottages at the end of our 2 week stay in Belize. Our cottage, located in a beautiful jungle setting, was extremely clean and comfortable. This was the least expensive accommodation that we used in Belize, but was by far the best. The food (breakfast and dinner) was delicious and very reasonably priced – the best Belizean dishes made from fresh, locally sourced ingredients, as well as some of the things you might miss from home, like freshly baked bread. Like other guests who have left reviews, we were exceptionally well looked after by the owners of Hickatee: Ian and Kate. They gave us lots of ideas for exploring Toledo and put us in touch with the best local guides (for no commission). It’s difficult to leave Hickatee without sharing some of the enthusiasm that Ian and Kate have for the region. Toledo has so much to offer in terms of wildlife, culture, activities and local industries (such as chocolate making and embroidered bags). With Ian and Kate’s help, we enjoyed an authentic “tourist experience”.
Deirdre and Ronan, Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dive_traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.2 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiskadee Lodge
Kiskadee Lodge
#8 of 18 in Punta Gorda
17 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £77 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing