We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

I just returned from a truly magical week at Cotton Tree Lodge. Everything from the cabanas, handmade from local materials, to the delicious organic food grown on site, to the friendly, attentive staff was wonderful. Returning from each day's activity -- snorkeling on Snake Caye, Hiking in the Jungle, or swimming in Blue Cave, we would relax in the river while the bartender brought us mojitos in the river. Life just doesn't get any better than that!

Room Tip: The jungle cabana is a hike from the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PublicPolicyAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    44
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
106
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Returned from Cotton Tree Lodge on Sunday. Had a physical on Tuesday showing the lowest Blood Pressure reading in years. Can only attribute it to the combination of being lulled to sleep by Howler Monkeys and awakened by a cacophony of birdsong, the becalming waters of the Moho River, the attentive service of Barman Barrio and the fresh organic produce from the nearby garden. A delightful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Cotton Tree Lodge was a wonderful surprise. I travel a lot and was excited to try this lodge in the middle of nowhere in southern Belize. I loved every minute of it. The lodge itself is architecturally gorgeous, green, and incredibly comfortable. The open main lodge is where everything happens - meals, gift shop, organizing day trips and activities, reservations, etc. The guests sleep in individual cabanas. Our hammocks looked right over the river, and the lush setting, jungle sounds, and the wonderful air all contributed to a sense of healthy fun and peaceful renewal. The food was amazing - fresh from the garden, interesting and delicious menus every day, and of very high quality. Don't miss this!

Room Tip: Try the Jungle House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LVSBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Cotton Tree Lodge was the absolute highlight of our travels through the beautiful jungles and beaches of Belize. From the moment we walked into the Lodge, everyone we met was so friendly, kind and helpful. It was a humbling experience - especially when walking into such an incredibly beautiful setting. It's obvious that a huge amount of care and work went into the creation of the lodge and cabanas, which rise up out of the jungle along the edge of the Moho River.

After getting a welcome rum punch drink, we were off to drop our bags, change into swimsuits and get into the river! The cabanas were beautifully decorated, cool in the dry season heat, and luxurious beyond the rest of our travels - hot water in the shower, flowers scattered throughout the room, and constant access to free, triple-filtered water (this was the most luxurious in Belize, where you have to buy all drinking water).

If you're like us and looking to spend your vacation doing rather than sitting, there is more than enough at Cotton Tree to keep you occupied. We spent our first afternoon swimming in the river, amazed at how the top few feet of water is cool, and the bottom layer is hot (at least 85 degrees F). This comes from the river being a mix of salt water and fresh water. You can borrow kayaks or a canoe and paddle down the river. We paddled for an hour and didn't come close to leaving the boundaries of the lodge (more than 100 acres!). But we did see iguanas, hear howler monkeys in the distance, and experience the kind of bliss you can only get while floating in sunshine through the quiet of the forest. There are also bikes to ride, a beautiful garden to visit (where the food you eat each day comes from!), or just wander around the grounds.

Beyond those free things, you can book tours through Cotton Tree. We took the Blue Cave Swimming Tour. It was one of the most fun and joyful experiences I've ever had. Exploring caves is fun. Exploring caves by SWIMMING through them is even more fun! We went with a group from the lodge, led by a guide, and spent the afternoon hiking through the jungle to the cave, swimming through the cave, and then having a picnic lunch before heading back to the Lodge. It was more than worth the cost of the trip and I was sad we didn't have time to do other trips, like horseback riding to a nearby village to learn how to make tortillas with a local Mayan woman.

Dinner at Cotton Tree is served family style with all the guests sitting at tables together. This creates a wonderful atmosphere of meeting and mingling and hearing funny travel stories.

Finally, there is really, truly no better way to start a day than to roll out of bed at sunrise, hop into your swimsuit and jump into a perfectly-temperatured river surrounding by beautiful forest.

I could go on and on. This really was one of the best, most exciting and fun vacation experiences I've had, filled with the kindest staff members who felt like friends by the time we left. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveling_wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

My friend and I spent two nights at Cotton Tree, and of the week that we spent in Belize, those two nights were the highlight of our trip. Cotton Tree is a beautiful place, set right on the Moho River. Chris, one of the owners, is a really cool and welcoming guy, and the staff are all friendly and love to talk and hang out with guests. We arrived in late afternoon on our first day and immediately jumped into the river. The river scene is beautiful, and I recommend using one of the lodge's kayaks and floating downriver a ways. The meals are excellent, the cabanas are absolutely beautiful, and the whole place forces you to relax and enjoy your time in the jungle. The only tour we did was the Blue Creek cave, which I highly recommend for anyone that has never swam in a cave. It was quite an experience. We hope to get back some day and were sad to leave. The rest of Belize was amazing, but Cotton Tree was the gem of our trip by far. Thanks to Jeff, Holly, Chris, Ernesto, Jose, Arcelia, and the rest of the crew for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LatinTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We only spent two nights at Cotton Tree Lodge, but would have loved to stay longer to enjoy the lodge and surrounding area. We spent time kayaking on the river and saw iguanas, many different birds and heard howler monkeys. We biked into a small village and enjoyed viewing the countryside on our trip. They offer a large variety of activities and tours of the surrounding area depending upon your interests. The food was excellent and we liked meeting the other guests in an informal get together over cocktails each evening. Our room was large and spacious and we had hot water for almost the first time while staying Belize. It was a great experience all around.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amandalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

This was an awesome experience. While in PG, I found out that Cotton Tree offers last minute in country bookings. My boyfriend called and we got a 50% discount. They planned our transportation there and back. The food is great but pricey. There is only one food option per meal (they do make adjustments for food restrictions). There are many free things to do: kayak, hikes, swimming, tree rope, etc. Went on an amazing free night jungle tour and learned how the natives collect water, eat, drink, cook and live in the jungle.

I have told many people about this place and would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetpea077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
23.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#9 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#2 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Property: Cotton Tree Lodge
Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing