We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations!”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place. After driving that long dirt road we weren't sure what to expect anymore but after getting there my boyfriend and I were blown away. The food was great and the service was excellent! Great staff. Couldn't have asked for a better weekend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlyyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    44
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
107
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We just returned from 5 nights at the Cotton Tree Lodge and had a great time. It is a great place for families to unwind, unplug, decompress and just be. The lodge is off the beaten path... about 45 minutes from Punta Gorda and 7 miles down a bumpy dirt rode but that's what makes it awesome. I mean come on, they had a jaguar picking off their chickens a couple years ago!!! Everyone is incredibly friendly... staff and guests alike. Hector at the front desk was wonderful, friendly and got to know each guest personally. Be prepared to get to know everyone (including guests) as it is a very personable experience and the lodge only has 10-12 cabanas. Dinners are served together (except Sunday). The cabanas are amazing with lovely covered decks with hammocks and fans. I love how they are all open to the jungle (but are screened against bugs and critters). The sounds at night are amazing. Food is excellent even the packed lunches while on day trips. You may want to bring a bottle of wine if you don't want to pay for drinks but the prices were not too bad (less than states) and are very good (especially the chocolate colada made with local chocolate). The Moho River is quite lovely. There is a layer of freshwater over a layer of warmer saltwater. There is a dock to swim off of and a rope swing. We did a dry and a wet cave tour. Both were outstanding and our guides (William and Pop) were wonderful and passionate about their Mayan heritage. On site, you can kayak, hike in the jungle, go for night hikes, horseback ride, tour the organic gardens and farm, and tour the cacao processing facility. You are situated in the beautiful Jungle among picturesque Mayan villages. Experience this why you still can because cable TV, improved roads and power are coming. This was a unique and memorable trip for my family (including 2 teenagers) and goes beyond a simple stay in a hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great experience. Food is good and plentiful, you're not going hungry or loosing weight at this place. Staff is attentive, professional, and super friendly. Accomodations are comfortable and clean, just don't go around looking for spiders and such in the cabanas because you will find them, the sooner you come to terms with the insect population the sooner you can relax and enjoy the place. Just ignore the bugs, they're not going to bite you if you leave them alone. The grounds of the lodge are beautiful and well maintained. Howler monkeys are around but did not cost me any sleep. The trip to Blue Creek cave was really fun. The creek water was cool and refreshing in the hot climate. Permit fishing is off the chain, captain Alex is a professional, competent fishing guide. The road to the lodge is a little bumpy, but tolerable. It's comparable to the dirt roads here in the mountains where I live, so I didn't mind the road as much as a city dwelling, pavement travelling, person who's unaccustomed to driving off road. I really enjoyed the place. It's definitely a unique lodge with jungle character. I didn't consider it like camping at all, I felt more comfortable here than any nice hotel. The only negative thing I can say about the place is that alcoholic beverages are pricey. I hesitated to get my swerve on due to the cost of the drinks. Perhaps management is trying to avoid a partying, booze hound type of clientele/atmosphere. Not necessarily a bad strategy because the place is very peaceful and suitable for families with children. My girlfriend and I loved this place!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe cabana with hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a great adventure--but an adventure with the welcome addition of comfort and knowledgeable people to show us where to have fun!

We loved the healthy, well-tended jungle feel of Cotton Tree--it really does look like the pictures! The cabanas and grounds are beautiful, and the staff are wonderful.

My husband and I stayed for a week, and were amazed at how many different tours and excursions there were to choose from. My favorite may have been the Blue cave adventure--a beautiful hike up to the cave, then way, way back into the cave, in water all the way, swimming and scrambling over waterfalls, with helmets, headlamps and life preservers--I amazed myself! The tour of the chocolate farm was also exceptional--a unique glimpse into the spiritual side of sustainable farming, and Mayan family life as well. (And despite what you may have heard, there really are white chocolate beans!)

If you possibly can, do the three day boat tour down the river through the jungle, across the bay and into Guatemala! The owner, Chris, has been in the area for many, many years, and seems to know every little out of the way place, and all the people, too! Wonderful to be so far from the tourist crowds, to experience the beauty of the Rio Dulce, to see men fishing with nets from dugout canoes, to climb to the hot waterfalls--and to enjoy the sudden unexpected elegance of great waterfront restaurants and jungle bars catering to the international sailboats at Fronteras!

The staff are attentive, knowledgeable and fun, the grounds and cabanas are exactly the way I'd hoped, the food is plentiful, the drinks are amazing. It was an exciting, memorable week, and we're already discussing a return trip.

Room Tip: Get the all inclusive package and do the tours. And go for the deluxe cabanas--how often are you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgkukal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just got back from Belize having been there 2 week, Spent a few days staying in the Jungle Hut at Cotton Tree Lodge. If you are looking for Comfort, convenience, or luxury go somewhere else. If however your looking for a real jungle experience then this is place. Our cabin was close to a half a mile over board walk into the jungle. We had a troop (?) of howlers roosting over our head all three days. We first found that out at 11:30 the first night when they began to "howl" LOUDLY. Then again at 2 am and then again at 5:30 this happened every night for 3 nights. Did I mention loudly. At first it scared the crap out of us but then we remembered the bed was covered by mosquito netting so we should be safe, did I MENTION THEY WERE LOUD. During the day we watched them off our back deck just yards away and were amazed how something that small could make that much noise. Cotton Tree is quite an experience, the road there is bad even by Belizian standards there are few to no signs directing you there DO NOT take the coastal Highway as it is neither a highway nor does it run near the coast. Do the "all inclusive" package as there is a charge for everything and everything is expensive. Food is adequate, as is service, One complaint is there is not a comfortable chair within 50 miles of this place they are all wooden and hard and after a day bouncing around on the roads or walking thru the jungle a soft chair to sit on would have been nice. Did I mention the monkeys were loud?

Room Tip: Howler Hut if your brave enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NDanger580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Wonderful place to relax and just take in the beauty of Belize. This is a rustic get away and is worth the bump ride into the resort. The river is the perfect temperature to swim in, the cabins are clean and spacious and the Howler Monkeys and birds are always entertaining. The staff are very friendly and generous and the food was great. Our group had many people with food restrictions and the kitchen staff went out of their way to make sure everyone had enough to eat. The bar also makes some mean blender drinks! This is a really special place and I too recommend Eladdio's chocolate farm. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: River side rooms have huge balconies which are wonderful to watch the birds and butterflies cruise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flybyinstinct6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I recently took a trip to the cotton tree, and I can't say enough about our visit. The staff was extremely friendly, the meals were delicious, and the tours were outstanding. I highly, highly recommend taking Eladdio's chocolate farm tour. This guy's is amazing!

I see that a few reviews have panned cotton tree mostly due to the unpaved road into the property, the "rustic" setting, and the insects. All I can say is, get over yourself! You're staying at an eco lodge in the middle of the jungle, not the Ritz Carlton in the middle of New York City. If you show up at cotton tree ready to appreciate the jungle, enjoy yourself, and understand that you're staying in "country setting," then you're going to have the time of your life. This is a truly unique place with a lot to offer.

Thank you cotton tree, for making this trip so incredible. We had a remarkable experience!

PS-special thanks to intern Noel for his time, effort, and energy!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a little extra for a riverside cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
9.0 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
257 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
90 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Property: Cotton Tree Lodge
Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing