We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco Friendly Enviroment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
1 review
“Eco Friendly Enviroment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

We just returned from a trip to Belize where we stayed at three separate locations. The last and in many ways the best was the Cotton Tree Lodge. We wanted to do a lot of birding and the guides provided were very knowledgable. We were with two excellent naturalists so we were surrounded by 'experts'. The rooms were comfortable, I especially loved my veranda with hammock from which I could watch the birds in the nearby fruit trees. The food was varied and all delicious. The organic garden on the property provides all the produce.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank BirderSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    44
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
106
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

Located on the banks of the Moho River, it was wonderful to wake up to just the sounds of hundreds of birds singing. The cabanas are spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was well laid out and also spacious. The reception area is located in a very large cabana which is also where the daily excursions leave from and meals are taken. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and the family-style meals are generous in their portions. Their use of local fruits, vegetables and main dishes alllow you to sample local cuisine and most of the food is produced on the grounds. With just 10 cabanas, plus the Jungle Cabana, you never feel crowded or rushed. I took the all-inclusive option of including meals and excursions. Although excursions are listed on the website as happening on certain days, a more casual approach is actually used where the guests can choose the excursions they would like to take. I had a wonderful tour to the Mayan ruin of Lubaantun followed by a packed lunch near a beautiful waterfall with swimming offered in the river. The next day we boated down river to a Mayan village and learned how to make corn tortillas from scratch and then took a jungle hike to look at medicinal plants. All very educational and entertaining. I would recommend Cotton Tree for families or couples who are interested in the Mayan culture and also interested in an active vacation, but don't require a lot of outside stimulation...no TV's, etc.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

I stayed at Cotton Tree Lodge from July 13-20 2008 for my honeymoon. The experience was absolutely wonderful. The staff on hand at Cotton Tree (especially the cooks!) were warm, friendly and helpful every step of the way. Daily activities included tortilla making, chocolate making, kayaking, spelunking, visiting with a harp maker (1997 Belizean Musician of the Year!), hiking, horseback riding, visiting waterfalls and jumping off cliffs, spending time in Punta Gorda, etc. There was always something to do & the 7 days we spent at Cotton Tree were perfect!

  • Liked — Food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RussellHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

We were looking for a blend of adventure, romance, comfort, and opportunity and found it all at Cotton Tree Lodge! My husband loves the outdoors and wanted to find somewhere in Belize to do some hiking, kayaking, snorkeling, and jungle walks. I wanted to do some of these too but also wanted nice accomidations, cleanliness, and great food. Then we found Cotton Tree Lodge. We stayed in the Honeymoon Cabana and thoroughly enjoyed the king-size bed and beautiful bathtub, then we also stayed in another cabana with a queen bed that was wonderful too. The food was incredible (much of it locally, organically grown) with appetizers at 5:30 everyday then a four course meal at 7pm. Breakfast was an unbelievable buffet and the lunches they packed for us were always filling, well balanced and tasty! We enjoyed swimming in the Blue Creek Cave (twice!), walking through the jungle, kayaking and swimming in the Moho River (so refreshing!), a dry cave trip, market day in Punta Gorda, visiting Mayan Ruins and taking supplies to a local school (bring some along or send them ahead. They Really need Big pencil sharpeners, pencils and small notebooks!) plus hanging out in one of the many hammocks, or visiting with new friends we made. We loved to great mix between alone time and community. We met wonderful people from all over the world and came to really love the staff at Cotton Tree too. Bincente took us on many of our trips. He was so informative, pleasant and professional. Antonio was patient and laid back and so helpful. Eduardo and Ernesto made us wonderful drinks and shared what they know about Belize with us with a smile! The staff have a wonderful sense of when you need them and when you need privacy, they are so friendly and made us feel very welcome. We visited in mid-May, some of the hottest weather of the year! Definitely bring cool clothes and drink a tonne of water (bottled water is provided in abundance). The mosquitoes weren't too bad, and we did have a few ants, spiders and cockroaches in our room. We kept in mind though that we were in the the jungle after all, so not all insects can be kept out 100% of the time!

Some recommendations when you are booking...The riverfront cabanas are awesome since you overlook the beautiful Moho river and can watch the iguanas and other lizards chase each other, climb trees and drop in the river right from the comfort of your very own balcony and hammock.
The Blue Creek Cave (a wet cave that you float/swim through with life jackets and headlamps) is breathtakingly beautiful. It's worth going to Belize just for this!

Relax and be prepared for some of the awesome sights and sounds of the jungle!

I could write all day about it, it was a wonderful experience for two Canadians who have never ventured out of North America before!

  • Liked — the blend of adventure/comfort
  • Disliked — I guess the bugs?
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OCANADIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2008

My family of four stayed at the all-inclusive, Cotton Tree Lodge over Spring Break. It was a fabulous experience. The staff are all so friendly, especially Bincente who looked after my kids one morning while we took a special tour. He didn't even correct us when we called him Vincent. Everyone made it feel like you were being welcomed into a family.
The cabanas are private and luxurious. I'm not sure how they manage to pull off luxury with no a/c, but they definitely do. The cabanas are designed to catch every breeze available and it works.
I especially liked the tour for the Blue River Cave. It's walking/swimming up a cold, spring fed river inside a cave. My kids were cold, so you may want to bring a shorty if you have skinny kids like mine! I loved it. In the afternoons, we would head to the river for a refreshing swim. My kids really loved the rope swing. We used the kayaks to check out the river upstream - who knew my 6-year-old could kayak by herself? I also really enjoyed when Santiago took us on a tour around the lodge. I can't believe how much water can be had from cutting a vine! There were several pregnant horses when we were there, so pretty soon there will be some great riding too!
Overall, it was a wonderful family experience.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — A Little Difficult to Get To
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadyToSplit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2008

I've always been one to want to experience the heart and soul of a destination... not just the postcard-ready shell that is presented to tourists. The CottonTree Lodge was all I could have ever hoped for and MORE. Located along the inviting Moho River in the Mayan Villages outside of Punta Gorda, Belize, the CottonTree is a gorgeous little bit of luxury in the middle of the jungle. Outstanding cabanas, outrageous food, incredible excursions and a staff that I would welcome each and every one to visit the US and stay in my home.

If you want AC, cable and a pool, you're out of luck. The river is the best pool ever and the nighttime breeze cools the room thru the screen windows as well as a ceiling fan. If you want to experience Mayan culture, the jungle, ancient ruins, getting to know your fellow travellers, falling asleep to the sounds of howler monkeys, learning about the lives of the staff, unbelievable hospitality, spontaneous extras and a true commitment by a resort to better the community in which it is located...then the CottonTree is for you. A week at CottonTree is worth every pennny and then some.

We've never vacationed in the same spot twice. We want something new each time. But we WILL be returning to the CottonTree to check up on the friends we made and to support this amazing lodge. We brought school supplies/learning games for the nearby village schools. You should too : ) You can see complete slideshows and many videos from our trip to Belize as well as our time at the CottonTree at youtube.com/katiegd

  • Liked — Cabanas were clean and beautiful. Staff is amazing. Location is a dream!! If you miss your dog and/or cat, they have one to borrow!
  • Disliked — Having to leave at the end of the week.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katiegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

From the moment we got off of the little 12 seat plane in Punta Gorda and into the 12 seat boat headed up the peaceful Moho River, I knew I was in paradise. The Cotton Tree Lodge is a mini village consisting of indigenous Mayan cabanas hand-made of thatch roofs with mahogany details surrounded by lush, green vegetation hugging the riverside. Inside, the cabanas are cozy, clean and comfy. Outside, (those cabanas with verandas) the hammocks and views of the jungle are relaxing. The large local staff is friendly and anxious to please. Our group of 20 women occupied the entire resort and loved every minute of our week-long stay. All of our requests were graciously accommodated. The food was creative, fresh and plentiful. The all-inclusive excursions were well prepared for as to gear, guides and again, plenty of food. Overall, this place is paradise on earth.

  • Liked — Serene location, culturally interesting, great staff.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yogini08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
23.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#8 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#2 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Property: Cotton Tree Lodge
Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing