We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ecofriendly jungle getaway”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Howler monkeys howling in the trees, beautiful / elegant/ rustic cabanas all with locally handmade furnishings situated on the edge of a creek. This is a beautiful wonderful place, good homemade food, trips and adventure available nearby, good people , friendly warm atmosphere dedicated to self-sustainable farming. Taste the chocolate they make--delicious

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliespeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

Cotton Tree Lodge is an amazing place. Located in a non-tourist area of Belize, the lodge wisely includes all meals, plus visitors have the choice of a rate which includes a daily tour, or a rate without. Unless you just want to sleep in a hammock all day, take the rate with the tour! They take guests to a wide range of interesting places -- an organic cacao farm, with chocolate making; tortilla preparation, beginning with grinding the corn; Mayan ruins; a Garifuna village, etc. The local people are extremely welcoming, as are all of the staff.

Cotton Tree bills itself as an eco-lodge, and for the most part I think they live up to their claim. A lot of the vegetables and eggs served are raised organically at the lodge; they use a combination of solar power and generators for electricity, and they have composting toilets. Some of these things require a little adaptation from guests who are used to the typical American lifestyle -- hair dryers are discouraged, as they are energy hogs, and nothing should be flushed that hasn't gone through you. All paper products in the trash can, please.

The food was wonderful -- far above what I would have expected in such a remote place. Breakfast was buffet, but lunch and dinner were plated meals, with dinner preceded by hors d'oeuvres in the evening. The serving sizes were fine, probably a little more than most women eat, but it's certainly possible to leave what you don't want. And they accommodate vegetarian diets.

The grounds are gorgeous -- elevated walkways between the main lodge and the cabanas (it floods in rainy season) -- with lots of interesting flowers, trees, and shrubs. The citrus trees in particular attract wonderful birds, some local and some North American birds spending the winter in the south. The warblers were everywhere at the end of February.

The only thing that visitors might need to think about is that jungles have lots of insects and spiders, and there is nothing that can be done about it. Because of their environmental approach, Cotton Tree does not use insecticide sprays in the cabanas, which means that you will see some insects and spiders in there with you. If you are not comfortable shooing them out, the staff will do it for you. Fortunately, other than the mosquitoes, the bugs want even less to do with you than you do with them, and in addition to good screens, all the beds are equipped with nets, so nothing will sneak in bed with you at night. And the good side of no sprays for insects is that you aren't breathing the fumes or touching the residue either.

In all, a really wonderful place

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia_Lee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Attractive, small hotel in which each room is a separate building, with screens and mosquito nets. Staff is eager and friendly. The eco-friendly spirit is manifest by general lack of illumination at night. Menu does not include choices, but they do honor special requests (e.g. vegetarian). Daily trips to nearby tourist sites and subsistence-farming Mayan villages involve travel on rutted dirt roads. I'd probably be more enthusiastic had my stay been 3-4 days instead of 7.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hptn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We arrived in Punta Gorda (PG to the locals) to be picked up by the Cottontree Lodge van and whisked from a rather bleak town to an absolutely wonderful compound about 20 minutes away.

We stayed a week and experienced many of planned trips as well as created some of our own experiences. One of the great things about the CottonTree Lodge staff is they are open to change and so flexible about what you want to do. Tell them what you are interested in and they will do what they can to accommodate you.

Our cabana was stunning and right on the beautiful Moho river, which was wonderful to swim in and, apart from one day of flooding, which is unusual in February, we did every day.

We stayed one night in the jungle cabana, which is a bit of a walk from the main lodge, but really worth it. We heard the quite frightening sounds of howler monkeys, which in fact are small and harmless and roam the trees right outside the cabin. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My husband and I just returned from a week at Cotton Tree, and we loved it. It was even better than we expected, the food was superb, the lodging was very nice, and the environment was beautiful. The staff took great care of us, and brought us on wonderful excursions, where we interacted with locals and the jungle.
This is a not a luxurious resort where you can lounge by a pool and just relax. Go there if you have a sense of adventure and want to experience some local culture.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelindacycleTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We just returned from a trip to Belize where we stayed at three separate locations. The last and in many ways the best was the Cotton Tree Lodge. We wanted to do a lot of birding and the guides provided were very knowledgable. We were with two excellent naturalists so we were surrounded by 'experts'. The rooms were comfortable, I especially loved my veranda with hammock from which I could watch the birds in the nearby fruit trees. The food was varied and all delicious. The organic garden on the property provides all the produce.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank BirderSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Located on the banks of the Moho River, it was wonderful to wake up to just the sounds of hundreds of birds singing. The cabanas are spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was well laid out and also spacious. The reception area is located in a very large cabana which is also where the daily excursions leave from and meals are taken. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and the family-style meals are generous in their portions. Their use of local fruits, vegetables and main dishes alllow you to sample local cuisine and most of the food is produced on the grounds. With just 10 cabanas, plus the Jungle Cabana, you never feel crowded or rushed. I took the all-inclusive option of including meals and excursions. Although excursions are listed on the website as happening on certain days, a more casual approach is actually used where the guests can choose the excursions they would like to take. I had a wonderful tour to the Mayan ruin of Lubaantun followed by a packed lunch near a beautiful waterfall with swimming offered in the river. The next day we boated down river to a Mayan village and learned how to make corn tortillas from scratch and then took a jungle hike to look at medicinal plants. All very educational and entertaining. I would recommend Cotton Tree for families or couples who are interested in the Mayan culture and also interested in an active vacation, but don't require a lot of outside stimulation...no TV's, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luv2travelTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
9.1 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
270 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
92 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £171 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing