We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rustic stay in the jungle”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing rustic stay in the jungle”
Reviewed 7 May 2007

Cotton Tree Lodge has only been open since December 2006 and while they are hard at work putting the finishing touches on the lodge, you can tell it has been developed and launched with the "it takes a village" approach and lots of love for staying true and honest to the surroundings and background of the Belizean jungle. The locals that work there helped design and build it, and the daily trips you take to learn how to grow/make mayan chocolate, swim through a river in a limestone cave are really interesting, but what makes them extra special is that you get to do it with local folks and even meet their families along the way - it has not been "touristized" and is real, human and a great learning experience for adults and kids. Be prepared for a rustic stay - if you are used to turn down service and air conditioning - this is not the place for you. Yet, the beds are comfortable, there is enough privacy, and the rooms are lovely open air thatched huts (better to hear the fantastic birds singing in the morning and the low hum of the howler monkeys at dusk) and we're talking spiders in the shower and eco-toilets (they flush, but you can figure that one out). The hammocks on our porch provided an excellent way to chill during the heat of the day. I do think they could provide a little more FAQ type information to NYers like me to make sure we're prepared (e.g., wear closed-toed shoes on certain trips - you WILL be following a guide through the jungle wielding a machete and many of the "rest stops" are wooden outhouses with a hole in the ground). While you want to sleep in on vacation, on this kind of trip they may want to start the activities earlier in the morning, as it takes a while to get to places (only 2 paved roads in the country!) and it does get pretty darn hot during the midpoint of the day. Great for nature photography. We were there for four days - and for the first three, there was only one couple besides my friend and I - on one hand, we got pretty much private tours of everything and got to pick and choose whatever we wanted. On the other hand, once other people got there, it was fun to share in the experiences. Most of the guests were adventurous singles or couples from the U.S. in their 30s, 40s. I would recommend combining a stay here in the jungle with a few days in Placentia, or another low key beach location so you can get the best Belize has to offer.

  • Liked — Rustic nature, not "touristy"
  • Disliked — Can't do anything about it - but would've liked a shower sans spiders!!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ladyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    44
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
107
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2007

We stumbled onto the CottonTree Lodge purely by chance – and primarily because it was listed as an “eco tourism” lodge. We were not disappointed one bit! CottonTree Lodge strives to be ecologically and economically sustainable by utilization of solar energy in its efforts to be “off grid,” bioremediation to handle waste water, and involvement of the local community.

We took our two teenage children (daughter-18; son-15). We stayed in two cabanas since the family cabana was occupied. This provided a great respite for my husband and I and much needed independence for the kids. My husband and I upgraded to the Jungle House for our second and remaining nights. The experience of staying in the Jungle House is indescribable. After walking a bit on a raised walkway, you reach an elevated two-story cabana, complete with a raised bed overlooking the jungle. It has a porch that is great for watching birds, monkeys, etc. The jungle noises surround you in the early mornings and evenings. Howler Monkeys romp – and howl - in the trees over the cabana. The first time hearing them will send chills up your spine – but you get used to it and the nights they woke us were well worth it!

The included activities were very exciting (e.g. swimming in a cave, kayaking up the Moho River) and informative (e.g. sustainable cacao harvesting, Mayan ruins). There was always time in the mornings and evenings for a dip in the Moho (with rope swing) or a paddle up the river (for wildlife viewing). Our son even kayaked with the owner at 4:30am to scramble up a hill to see the sunrise! Of course, hammocks abound, so simply relaxing is always an option!

The staff – more like the family – of CottonTree Lodge makes everyone feel at home. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had anything and everything we wanted. The food was great – generally bought fresh from local farmers and fishermen and cooked immediately. Delicious!

Our only regret is that we were there for only 4 nights….way too short for such a fantastic place.

On a side note – if you can’t live without a hair dryer or make-up, must wear heels in the evening, or can’t stand the sight of spiders or bugs, this Lodge may not be for you. For everyone else – this is a wonderful sensory experience!

  • Liked — way out there, away from city commercialization; nature is it! It is not a "pool scene" - and should never be!
  • Disliked — storage space (shelfs, desktops, hooks, etc) for cameras, books, flashlights, etc (due to being an emerging business)
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HARDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2007

Just got back from Cotton Tree Lodge with my 18 year old daughter and her friend. Not only did i have a great time but they said it was the best vacation they have ever been on. It was relaxing but so much to do. We went swimming in caves, on hikes, to Mayan Ruins, horseback riding, to the cays and much more but the best part was the people we met. The staff was so friendly, accommodating,knowledgeable and fun. Can't wait to go back!
travel4fun247@aol.com

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travel4fun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2007

The Cotton Tree Lodge was everything we were expecting in a lush jungle setting and then much, much more. The entire staff headed by Chris and Gloria were terrific and made us feel part of their family. The meals were delicious including lunches that were usually packed and taken on our daily excursions. Planned activities were exciting, educational, and staffed by local people who know and appreciate the delicate ecosystems of the jungle. Their website gives you a sense of how nice it is to visit there. However, be prepared for something wonderful that cannot be described by words and pictures.

The facility is made up of a main lodge and a number of individual cabanas, each raised above the ground and very comfortable. Several of the cabanas are situated next to the Moho River, although all are very private and make you feel part of the jungle surrounding you. At night and early morning you hear the calls of countless birds and often the howling of the howler monkeys.

Visiting the Lodge will allow you to learn and absorb the magnificence of the jungle, enjoy the ambiance of very good people, and relax to the point of forgetting what day it is -- you will be on Belizien time.

Our only sadness was the day of departure when we realized that we wanted to spend another week there. We will definitely be making plans to return to the Cotton Tree Lodge within the next year or two.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank John-in-Larkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
9.0 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
252 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
340 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
95 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
42 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Property: Cotton Tree Lodge
Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing