We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Belcampo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belcampo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
The Peg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Starting with the cool small airplane flight to the resort and flying just above the water was sensational.

Upon landing, we were picked up by these cool open air vehicles and in about 10 minutes we arrived at this step mountain to the lodge right in the rainforest. Amazing!


Stayed 2nd week of March only for a few nights but it was not long enough by a long shot!

Staff are amazing..so genuinely friendly and helpful..just to name a few: Timothy & Ducky & Vince. Christine & Devon, the new managers of Machaca were so friendly and accomodating ... very seasoned at what they do. They have worked in the Caribbean for the last 5 years at Laluna and you can tell they are really happy to be in Belize. It is the joy that they exude that really adds to the whole experience...so funny and easy going yet super attentive!


The bathrooms are incredible with these enormous stone showers and a full glass floor to ceilling window looking out to the rain forest. Truly amazing. I can't say enough about the place. I can't wait to go back. Breaathtaking and relaxing all at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7trailblazer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
133
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This place is truly unbelievable. The lodge (a series of cabins) sits high on a hill over the Rio Grande. The jungle is lush and there is abundant wildlife, including howler monkeys that will serenade you to sleep. The lodge provides kayaks and canoes, plus rentable motorboats, for use on the river. There's a quaint little tram that you can take back up from the river if you don't feel like walking the 300+ steps. There are paths throughout the property for hiking. The spa is lovely and the pool area is very nice, though we did not spend much time there. Most of the food is farmed onsite and, as a consequence, every meal is made with fresh ingredients. You will want to go with one of the meal packages since the place is pretty remote; you won't be walking anywhere for your meals. The room itself was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff are incredible -- nice, helpful, knowledgeable. We took a number of excursions from the lodge (Mayan ruins, national park, chocolate making) and were escorted by lodge staff. The trips were a lot of fun.

Change is afoot, however, and travelers should pay attention to more recent reviews. We had the privilege of staying there during the departure of the outgoing managers, Brian and Jane. Brian and Jane are responsible for many of the positive changes that occurred over the past 3 years. They've returned to South Africa before joining a new venture in the Maldives. It is clear that the staff revered Brian and Jane and that the new management team will have big shoes to fill. Since we were there for the transition, reviews after this one should reflect the impact of the new management team.

Finally, be advised that expenses for your stay can mount quickly. While all of the activities on the lodge grounds are included in your room rate, anything off grounds generally includes (excellent, excellent) guide services from lodge staff. Don't be afraid to ask what these services will cost you if price is a factor.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The staff are remarkable: the people of Belize are truly wonderful. Having previously lived in the Caribbean, we have NEVER encountered such consistently, untainted, un-pretentious, genuinely nice service staff. Nothing is too much trouble! The atmosphere, the environment and surroundings are gorgeous, but only exceeded by the employees. The food and accommodations are good, but we would return for the staff and the outings! ( and the massage in the spa!). Thank you to Wilfred, Vince and George in particular.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Just go!
We were welcomed into the hearts of Ms.Jane and her family with an outstanding staff! Our personal guide, Vincent became our dear friend, amongst others at the Lodge. From bird watching, chocolate making, canoeing, cave exploring, jungle biking .....meals.....first class service in every way imaginable. What a special place this is. Words can't describe. Simply, a piece of heaven!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed two nights at Machaca, finishing out 2010 and ringing in the new year in the rainforest. The lodge is spectacular. The two floor main lodge features wrap around open decks with views of the jungle. At breakfast it was not unusual to spot colorful tucans in the treetops. Lovely swings were built into the deck along with cozy banquettes covered with comfy pillows.

The large "cabins" are beautifully designed to create the impression that you are actually sleeping in the treetops. The stone shower and the screened in porch actually jut into the jungle. The rooms provide a unique opportunity to actually listen to the various layers of wild life chirping and calling during the night. Insects, howler monkeys and a huge variety of birds serenade at different times of the night. Truly amazing!

Jane and Brian are wonderful hosts who take the time to get to know each guest by name and make every effort to make everyone feel included. Each group of guests is assigned a private guide. We were assigned to Yogi -- he met with us the evening before to discuss how we would like to spend the next day. Yogi knew everything there is to know about the area. He answered our questions and patiently waited as we stopped to take dozens of pictures. After spending the day with him, it is clear that he loves what he does and that he takes every care to provide each guest with a customized experience.

There were so many great surprises during our brief stay. For example, each evening, we would meet the other guests at a different spot on Machaca's 12,000 acres for predinner drinks. One night featured a nocturnal boat cruise. On the next night we were treated to a troop of local drummers around a fire pit. The attention to detail is second to none. In addition to breakfast, lunch and dinner, guests also get to enjoy high tea daily -- a very nice treat.

The spa at Machaca is absolutely stunning. Built into the jungle, you are treated to a fantastic massage high above the trees. Just breath taking.

This place was the highlight of our trip to Belize. It is a forward thinking oasis that leaves you yearning to return. We watched the last sun set in 2010 at Machaca -- it couldn't have been a more perfect way to end one year and begin a new one!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I spent a week at Machaca Hill with my 2 , 12 year olds . We were in heaven .The service is topnotch ,the food is delicious ,organically grown on site ,the tours & guides were terrific ( especially Yogi ),The treehouse accomodation feels as though you are living in the trees ,with stunning oversized showers.
An incredible abundance of beautiful birds. Howler monkeys right out your door !
The massage is fabulous too !
Make sure you go on the full day tours & enjoy the " picnic lunch !!
Absolute Bliss !!!!! This lodge has it all
Brian & Jane are wonderful hosts
All I can say is GO !!!! ENJOY !!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinsplusonetoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I cannot say enough about the staff, service, location and tours. I went all-inclusive so it was only one bill. The best way to see the place. Your only decisions are "what am I going to do today?" and "what do I want to eat or drink?"

On arrival you are greeted with an amazing refreshing ginger drink!! The staff immediately make you feel like family. Everyone goes above and beyond to make you comfortable, wanted and happy!

I went for the nature, culture and history. The guides have amazing knowledge! I loved the Blue Water Cave, the lunch I had with a family in a Mayan village (Thanks Vincent for letting me meeting and enjoy your family!). The Mayan sites are amazing!!

As a solo traveler, they had a guide assigned to me and their company at dinner, was a lot of laughs and fun!

You will truly never experience something like this in your life!! Unless you go back. I know I am going back again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
24.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
271 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#10 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcampo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcampo Lodge

Property: Belcampo Lodge
Address: Wilson Road, Punta Gorda, Belize (Formerly Machaca Hill Rainforest Canopy Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belcampo Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agritourism-chic in Punta Gorda: a Jungle Lodge, organic farm and a 12,000-acre nature reserve. Set in the verdant hills above the Caribbean coast of southern Belize in the town of Punta Gorda. From our dock you can embark on our tranquil cruises on the jungle reaches of the Rio Grande, or our guided snorkeling and fishing adventures on the Caribbean Sea. Nim Li Punit and many other attractions are located nearby. At the heart of Belcampo Belize is the Main Lodge with our Jungle Farm Restaurant, the Rum Bar, the Jungle Spa, lounge areas, a swimming pool, and observation decks that open to stunning vistas of the coast, the Maya Mountains and a seemingly endless pristine rainforest. Our 16 individual, spacious suites are well appointed with plush beds, screened fresh-air verandas, and spa-style bathrooms with floor to ceiling tropical rainforest views. Belcampo Belize has 16 private suites offering the best in luxury and comfort. A testament to Belize's natural beauty and craftsmanship, nearly every detail, from the woodwork to the tiles to the artwork, is sourced from local artisans. If you're relaxing on one of the canopy beds or lounging on your own private veranda, you will experience the magic of the jungle within the comfort of your room. Enjoy a drink in our Rum Room with ingredients sourced from our own Cocktail Garden. Meals (including complimentary breakfast daily) are served in our Jungle Farm restaurant. We produce on-site more than 70% of the food we serve to Lodge guests. With extensive gardens, tropical fruit trees, and livestock, our day-to-day food production is a hive of activity year round. Optional tours available are: •Snorkeling •Scuba diving •Fly fishing •Birding •Cultural tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belcampo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcampo Hotel Punta Gorda
Belcampo Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing