We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You simply CANNOT miss this spot when visiting Belize!”
Review of Belcampo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belcampo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I recently traveled in Belize and Guatemala for two weeks and had a wonderful time. We stayed in some very nice resorts all over the country, but the HIGHLIGHT was undoubtedly our three day stay at Machaca Hill. We felt welcomed and pampered from the moment we stepped onto the property. It is impossible not to relax at this place, and the staff make it so easy to do so...best service in Belize! The rooms are clean with gorgeous views, the food is remarkable, the facilities are pristine, and we felt like a member of the Machaca family. Oh, and you must book a massage with Bertha! I have recommended this place to friends every day since I've been back. It is the perfect stop if you want to combine adventure and nature activities with relaxation...although we spent most of our time at the pool! Please do not miss this piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bek08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

i would like to take this time to big up a most welcoming and friendly staff at the lodge. From the front desk to the guides Yogi and Wilfred to the chefs ( Ken ). we had such a great time. Thank you for making our stay as domestic tourists such a great one. Keep the smiles and most definaetly will recomend you all around this side of the counrty and to the world. Also a special thank you to the managers for their willingness to work with us and make us feel special. Thank you all on behalf of Fidelio, Eva and the rest of the gang.....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fidjr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I had never been to Belize and found a vacation package that included three nights at Machaca Hill. I had no idea what to expect of a jungle resort and had my doubts about the whole thing. Machaca Hill was without a doubt the right choice. The staff were wonderful to the extreme and the facilities perfect. The entire resort was immaculately maintained. The spa was great and there were many choices of activities arranged by the certified guides, Wilfred and Yogi, who were among the nicest two gentlemen we had ever met. Each morning we were awakened by the Black Howler Monkeys calling out through the tree tops just outside our tree house. One morning I was somewhat shocked to see a Toucan in full colour through the picture window in the shower. Having only seen these birds on cereal boxes, you can imagine my delight. We toured a Mayan chocolate factory in the nearby village of San Felipe and saw a large Iguana sunning itself on a river bank on a river cruise provided by the Machaca guides. The resident managers, Brian and Jane, were great people who seemed to go out of their way at every turn to make our stay a pleasant one, which would have required no effort on their part in any event. The dining room staff were fantastic. Tonesha, Ducky, Winsland, Tim and the rest were really at the top of their games the whole time. Ken, the executive chef, made the most wonderful jams and marmalade from the fruit grown right on the Machaca estate. We looked forward to them each morning for breakfast and are sorry that we not eligible for that pleasure now that we are back In Canada. Anyone considering a Carribean vacation would be foolish not to try a few days at Machaca. You can find those cookie-cutter beach resorts anywhere, but there is only one Machaca.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David562671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We just returned from Belize and spent 4 days at Machaca Hill. The staff was incredible, the setting, and aboslutely the food! Yogi was our guide for the ruins, the waterfalls and a river tour. He was so knowledgeable and easy to be with. Ducky made sure our wine glass was always full. I left my prescription sunglasses in Placencia and Elvinia picked up the phone and had them put on a plane and they arrived the same day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinwillberrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Machaca Hill Resort is truly an amazing place. Brian & Jane (our hosts) & their great staff do everything in their power to make your visit memorable. From the moment you arrive, the beautiful location in the trees, the staff, the food , the room, the activitites, the spa are AAAAA+. Oliver was our fishing guide & he did everything but get into the water & hook the fish. We fished 2 days & caught so many fish I lost count. Our guides were Yogi & Wilford but everyone is kind & helpful & are available to meet your every need during your visit. They have their own organic garden so everything is grown on the property & is super fresh & delicious. Chef Ken is from South Africa & is incredible in the kitchen & they serve high tea every afternoon with yummy pastries & teas, truly a great experience. We love this place & will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanne012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

First Class experience from a world class team. Thanks Brian, Jane, and the wonderful team that made our two nights, way too short, trip an unforgettable vacation. The service was outstanding, the food was delicious, thanks Chef Ken, and the location really cannot be beat. There are tons of things to do, or do what we did, which was a great hike in the rain forest and relaxing canoe ride on the river. We will definitely be back! Get our room ready same time next year :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belizeansScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Machaca hill is heaven on earth. While traveling in Belize over spring break, we wanted to visit a more remote area that had not been touched by tourism, but still have access to accomodations that provided creature comforts as a pool, delicious local food and water activities such as flyfishing, kayaking, snorkling. As we approached the lodge driving by the organic orange grove and machaca hill owned farm (which provides most of the produce for the hotel) and up the hill to the lush jungle forest (the owner has purchased 11,000 acres to protect), i knew we had found paradise. Jane, the manager, and staff greeted us in the beautifully appointed open air lobby with fresh squeezed lemondade and hot towels. Recently renovated, the spacious rooms are built into the hill over the jungle and have a screened porch which makes upifeel as if you are literally seated in the jungle canopy. The room was exquisite with beautiful tile floors and a bathroom suite with a double shower with a full window view of the jungle. The gourmet, delicious meals are prepared with organic produce produced on the farm and our children were offered upscale, healthful versions of their favorites. Their guide staff are knowledgeable naturalists and create personalized activities to fit your families itinerary : viist to a cocoa farm, hiking in the blue creek cave, guided night hikes, saltwater flyfishing and kayaking on their riverfront access. The highlight for my kids was watching (and hearing) the howler monkey family and tocans in the trees each morning while having breakfast on the open veranda.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairfieldcountyfamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
24.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
275 reviews
24.2 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
98 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
92 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belcampo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcampo Lodge

Address: Wilson Road, Punta Gorda, Belize (Formerly Machaca Hill Rainforest Canopy Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £243 - £562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belcampo Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agritourism-chic in Punta Gorda: a Jungle Lodge, organic farm and a 12,000-acre nature reserve. Set in the verdant hills above the Caribbean coast of southern Belize in the town of Punta Gorda. From our dock you can embark on our tranquil cruises on the jungle reaches of the Rio Grande, or our guided snorkeling and fishing adventures on the Caribbean Sea. Nim Li Punit and many other attractions are located nearby. At the heart of Belcampo Belize is the Main Lodge with our Jungle Farm Restaurant, the Rum Bar, the Jungle Spa, lounge areas, a swimming pool, and observation decks that open to stunning vistas of the coast, the Maya Mountains and a seemingly endless pristine rainforest. Our 16 individual, spacious suites are well appointed with plush beds, screened fresh-air verandas, and spa-style bathrooms with floor to ceiling tropical rainforest views. Belcampo Belize has 16 private suites offering the best in luxury and comfort. A testament to Belize's natural beauty and craftsmanship, nearly every detail, from the woodwork to the tiles to the artwork, is sourced from local artisans. If you're relaxing on one of the canopy beds or lounging on your own private veranda, you will experience the magic of the jungle within the comfort of your room. Enjoy a drink in our Rum Room with ingredients sourced from our own Cocktail Garden. Meals (including complimentary breakfast daily) are served in our Jungle Farm restaurant. We produce on-site more than 70% of the food we serve to Lodge guests. With extensive gardens, tropical fruit trees, and livestock, our day-to-day food production is a hive of activity year round. Optional tours available are: •Snorkeling •Scuba diving •Fly fishing •Birding •Cultural tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belcampo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcampo Hotel Punta Gorda
Belcampo Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing