We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Rainforest Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at Machaca Hill with my wife and my 5 year old daughter. The setting is spectacular with open (but screened) cabins built right into the rainforest canopy. There is a wide range of activities, something different every day. We visited Maya ruins and villages, went snorkelling in the Bay of Honduras and learnt how to make chocoltae, all with Yogi our excellent guide. There is a lot more on offer: fishing and spotting manatees and crocodiles.

The rooms are spacious enough for 3, with beautiful bathrooms with the same big views as the bedrooms. Food is taken very seriously, with Ken the chef discussing options every night with guests. There is a preference for fresh local produce.

For us the truly remarkable aspect of this resort was service. Nothing was too much trouble. All the staff from guides to waiters to chef had an attention to detail and worked overtime to get things right in what was an isolated rural environment. Leading all this activity, were hosts Jane and Brian from South Africa. Their devotion to the project is reflected in the quality of their staff.

If there is one thing to get straight is that this is a resort for nature lovers. You are right in the rainforest. In the wet season this means mosquitoes by the pool. It also means the odd bug and being woken at 5.00 am by Howler Monkeys. It is hard to believe the noise that comes out of such a small animal. These are not rare sightings, they are your neighbours! If you are not into nature and being part of it, this may not be for you. If you are, it is an ideal choice

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrismcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

I recently traveled in Belize and Guatemala for two weeks and had a wonderful time. We stayed in some very nice resorts all over the country, but the HIGHLIGHT was undoubtedly our three day stay at Machaca Hill. We felt welcomed and pampered from the moment we stepped onto the property. It is impossible not to relax at this place, and the staff make it so easy to do so...best service in Belize! The rooms are clean with gorgeous views, the food is remarkable, the facilities are pristine, and we felt like a member of the Machaca family. Oh, and you must book a massage with Bertha! I have recommended this place to friends every day since I've been back. It is the perfect stop if you want to combine adventure and nature activities with relaxation...although we spent most of our time at the pool! Please do not miss this piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bek08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

i would like to take this time to big up a most welcoming and friendly staff at the lodge. From the front desk to the guides Yogi and Wilfred to the chefs ( Ken ). we had such a great time. Thank you for making our stay as domestic tourists such a great one. Keep the smiles and most definaetly will recomend you all around this side of the counrty and to the world. Also a special thank you to the managers for their willingness to work with us and make us feel special. Thank you all on behalf of Fidelio, Eva and the rest of the gang.....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fidjr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

My wife and I had never been to Belize and found a vacation package that included three nights at Machaca Hill. I had no idea what to expect of a jungle resort and had my doubts about the whole thing. Machaca Hill was without a doubt the right choice. The staff were wonderful to the extreme and the facilities perfect. The entire resort was immaculately maintained. The spa was great and there were many choices of activities arranged by the certified guides, Wilfred and Yogi, who were among the nicest two gentlemen we had ever met. Each morning we were awakened by the Black Howler Monkeys calling out through the tree tops just outside our tree house. One morning I was somewhat shocked to see a Toucan in full colour through the picture window in the shower. Having only seen these birds on cereal boxes, you can imagine my delight. We toured a Mayan chocolate factory in the nearby village of San Felipe and saw a large Iguana sunning itself on a river bank on a river cruise provided by the Machaca guides. The resident managers, Brian and Jane, were great people who seemed to go out of their way at every turn to make our stay a pleasant one, which would have required no effort on their part in any event. The dining room staff were fantastic. Tonesha, Ducky, Winsland, Tim and the rest were really at the top of their games the whole time. Ken, the executive chef, made the most wonderful jams and marmalade from the fruit grown right on the Machaca estate. We looked forward to them each morning for breakfast and are sorry that we not eligible for that pleasure now that we are back In Canada. Anyone considering a Carribean vacation would be foolish not to try a few days at Machaca. You can find those cookie-cutter beach resorts anywhere, but there is only one Machaca.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David562671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We just returned from Belize and spent 4 days at Machaca Hill. The staff was incredible, the setting, and aboslutely the food! Yogi was our guide for the ruins, the waterfalls and a river tour. He was so knowledgeable and easy to be with. Ducky made sure our wine glass was always full. I left my prescription sunglasses in Placencia and Elvinia picked up the phone and had them put on a plane and they arrived the same day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinwillberrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Machaca Hill Resort is truly an amazing place. Brian & Jane (our hosts) & their great staff do everything in their power to make your visit memorable. From the moment you arrive, the beautiful location in the trees, the staff, the food , the room, the activitites, the spa are AAAAA+. Oliver was our fishing guide & he did everything but get into the water & hook the fish. We fished 2 days & caught so many fish I lost count. Our guides were Yogi & Wilford but everyone is kind & helpful & are available to meet your every need during your visit. They have their own organic garden so everything is grown on the property & is super fresh & delicious. Chef Ken is from South Africa & is incredible in the kitchen & they serve high tea every afternoon with yummy pastries & teas, truly a great experience. We love this place & will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanne012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

First Class experience from a world class team. Thanks Brian, Jane, and the wonderful team that made our two nights, way too short, trip an unforgettable vacation. The service was outstanding, the food was delicious, thanks Chef Ken, and the location really cannot be beat. There are tons of things to do, or do what we did, which was a great hike in the rain forest and relaxing canoe ride on the river. We will definitely be back! Get our room ready same time next year :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belizeansScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
23.4 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#7 of 8 in Livingston
134 reviews
24.2 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
101 reviews
24 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 8 in Livingston
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#8 of 8 in Livingston
44 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort

Address: Wilson Road, Punta Gorda, Belize (Formerly Belcampo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £155 - £569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agritourism-chic in Punta Gorda: a Jungle Lodge, organic farm and a 12,000-acre nature reserve. Set in the verdant hills above the Caribbean coast of southern Belize in the town of Punta Gorda. From our dock you can embark on our tranquil cruises on the jungle reaches of the Rio Grande, or our guided snorkeling and fishing adventures on the Caribbean Sea. Nim Li Punit and many other attractions are located nearby. At the heart of Belcampo Belize is the Main Lodge with our Jungle Farm Restaurant, the Rum Bar, the Jungle Spa, lounge areas, a swimming pool, and observation decks that open to stunning vistas of the coast, the Maya Mountains and a seemingly endless pristine rainforest. Our 16 individual, spacious suites are well appointed with plush beds, screened fresh-air verandas, and spa-style bathrooms with floor to ceiling tropical rainforest views. Belcampo Belize has 16 private suites offering the best in luxury and comfort. A testament to Belize's natural beauty and craftsmanship, nearly every detail, from the woodwork to the tiles to the artwork, is sourced from local artisans. If you're relaxing on one of the canopy beds or lounging on your own private veranda, you will experience the magic of the jungle within the comfort of your room. Enjoy a drink in our Rum Room with ingredients sourced from our own Cocktail Garden. Meals (including complimentary breakfast daily) are served in our Jungle Farm restaurant. We produce on-site more than 70% of the food we serve to Lodge guests. With extensive gardens, tropical fruit trees, and livestock, our day-to-day food production is a hive of activity year round. Optional tours available are: •Snorkeling •Scuba diving •Fly fishing •Birding •Cultural tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcampo Hotel Punta Gorda
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing