We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of A Piece of Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Piece of Ground
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A group of us stayed here for a week and had a great experience. The rooms were clean and each had a private bathroom. Each room has a ceiling fan, air conditioner, tv, and hot water. There is a restaurant on the top floor that sells the best fried chicken and chicken sandwiches. The owners were great and the hotel manager catered to our every need. It is a little of the beaten path, but that is what I liked about it. It sits next to the jungle and we saw monkeys and various birds during our stay. There are hammocks on the 3rd floor that made for a wonderful spot to relax. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at A Piece of Ground. Great accommodations, great views, extremely pleasant and welcoming hosts. The amenities were a great plus for our family because we were able to prepare our own meals which was a great cost savings for my family, which allowed us to treat ourselves to a great meal at Gomeier's Restaurant during our stay. An added plus was having use of their FREE laundry facilities. My family and I will always stay here whenever we visit Belize.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rashadsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Just finishing a 6 night stay in Punta Gorda, Belize.

We stayed at the hotel (guesthouse) called a Piece of Ground. We enjoyed our stay here so much. Highly recommend this place.

Firstly, the owners, Jamma and Germaine and their two little kids, went out of their way to help us. Drove us to the local stores so we could stock up on groceries and Beliken, offered to pick us up at the bus station (but it was only a 2 block walk), drove us to the ferry when leaving to Honduras, gave us all the info we needed to explore the area.

Secondly, the guesthouse. It consists of 4 rooms each with 1 double bed, air conditioning, TV with all channels, private bath, fully tiled, very clean, wardrobe for your bags and clothes. Everything you need in a room. But what makes A Piece of Ground very special are the 2 communal floors above the rooms. One floor has a big, well equipped kitchen with full size fridge and stove, eating bar,washer and dryer (wow, unheard of), and a pool table (the best pool table of any guesthouse in Belize)! We hung here alot to recoup after a hectic month in Belize.

The top floor is a rooftop sun deck with hammocks, great for those looking for a tan. The views from both common floors are fabulous - mountains and ocean.

The price is very fair for everything that a Piece of Ground offers.

We`ve travelled much of the world for the last 10 years, and this is one of our top accommodations ever.

Kelley and Peter

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peter19Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Great place to stay outside the busier city center. The hosts were extremely helpful, welcoming and accommodating. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Kitchen, lounge area and sun deck are great for socializing, relaxing and enjoying the views. Rooms and baths are all modern and convenient. Good safe location. Love the country, love the place. If you're visiting I highly recommend A Piece of Ground. We'll visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adamv309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A place to get away from the hustle and bustle of City life--even the hustle and bustle of a small town. Rooms are hidden away in the tree tops with an outdoor kitchen overlooking the idyllic scenery below. An even higher roof/sun deck, where you can relax away from it all yet stay connected with wireless service. Working on a laptop from a hammock while sipping freshly blended fruits from the local market. Ice in the freezer and a convenient washing machine. It's like home in the tropics, but better!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amikole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I absolutely fell in love with the place. It was peaceful clean and beautiful overall. The rooms were spacious and equipped with air conditioning,ceiling fans,and cable television. The bathrooms were nice and clean with stand up shower.I loved the kitchen and lounge area most because the view of the hills and trees were breathtaking. I enjoyed several mornings journaling,reading and lazing in the hammocks. It was beautiful! The host was amazing and taught us a lot about the foods,land,culture and sites. I fell in love with the place and intend to return sooner than later. I would love to bring my children next time :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Akilah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hospitality was amazing and the space was fantastic. It was exactly what we were looking for because we felt at home in the lounge area and could cook for ourselves in the beautiful kitchen area. The pool table is a major plus! The rooms were clean and well maintained. We were out so much visiting Mayan ruins, gorgeous waterfalls and going fishing on a speedboat that we didn't watch much tv, but it was available in our rooms. The AC worked well, but some nights I just slept with the shutters slightly open to get the natural air. It rained while we were there, but only during the night and was always sunny and warm by morning. We were connected to a guide who knew the people and the area well. My friend and I are have special dietary needs (I'm vegan and she eats fish) so we worried about how well we would eat there, but with the help of our host who knew of good restaurants and stores where we could purchase groceries, we ate like queens! The rates were affordable and well worth the experience. I will definitely be returning with my family. Not only was A Piece of Ground a beautiful bed and breakfast, but Punta Gorda was a beautiful town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Gorda hotels
5.2 mi away
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort
0.8 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#6 of 18 in Punta Gorda
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
281 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
97 reviews
0 mi away
Beya Suites
Beya Suites
#7 of 18 in Punta Gorda
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Piece of Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Piece of Ground

Address: 1050 Pelican Street, Punta Gorda, Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £14 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Piece of Ground is a hostel, restaurant, and bar located in the back of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Piece of Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Piece Of Ground Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing