We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth visiting!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenorio National Park

Tenorio National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.00*
and up
Blue River and Tenorio Volcano National Park Hike
Ranked #218 of 630 things to do in Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crown jewel of Northern Costa Rica
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
407 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth visiting!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Spent one day here, slept in bijagua (see other reviews)

Rough, long (1 hour) unpaved road to get up to the park. Nice trail, did a round trip including all (short) side trails.

Didn't see much wildlife. The biggest sightseeing is the forest and off course the mineral blue water, which looks on your photo as if it is photoshopped, but it is really that blue!

Don't forget the bring a poncho to be sure, even in dry season (jan/febr). Trail can be quite muddy because of quite some rain! You can clean your shoes at the ranger station. There are also toilets.

Definitely worth the visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelinevdhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

beautiful park! the fun begins when you take the dirt road to get to the park (you really need a 4WD), the surroundings are gorgeous and you drive right through the rainforest. The park is awsome, cause it's pretty wild, with dirt tracks and some cool wild animals around. It's a tough hike, but truly worth it. The Lago Azul is one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mmmtrippingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

My husband and I had a rental car and decided to take this trip- we stayed at the Riu in Guanacaste. On maps, you would think this ride would be about 1.5 hours. It was easy to find however the last 6 miles of this trip is up a extremely rough dirt/rock/boulder road. This one part of the ride alone took us over an hour to get through. We had a 2-wheel drive rental and we did make it, but would not try this again unless you are in an SUV. I stress that. Once you arrive, all employees/rangers did not speak much English at all. The hike and attractions were beautiful and made the ride worth it. There are not herds of tourists at this park- it made it feel more remote and really felt like a true rainforest. It was very nice to get into the natural hot springs! Rio Celeste was beautiful, and the waterfall was breath-taking! Our rental car will never be the same again after this ride, but thankfully the rental agency didn't notice anything wrong so not extra charges were inflicted :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVaZocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Thrilling rapids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

White water river rafting down Rio Tenorio was thrilling and fun for our whole family! We booked our trip through Anywhere Costa Rica -- an excellent excursions firm. Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3dogsinthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

It was a very good hiking, it was bit harder than usually as in low season they are doing some maintenance in the stairs that go to the waterfalls. They built an alternative route, harder but funny, almost no one around and it was greatrelaxing for a while next to the great cascade. The "Rio Celeste" hike was easier and very nice too, the water wasn't so blue as in most of the picture (I hate photoshop, sure they use it), but it was still very interesting to see.
3 or 4 hours are enough for this trail, absolutely worth
David

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkoutecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tenorio National Park also viewed

Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
 
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Bagaces, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tenorio National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing