We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip count-down is on!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Americus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Americus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We are so looking forward to returning to the Americus Garden Inn B&B. :) Our anniversary is in October, but with having school-age children who play sports & both of us working for the school system, going away during the fall is just not a possibility with our super busy schedules at that time. We are very much looking forward to our long weekend in February. Susan has been in touch to make sure that our visit is absolutely perfect. We can't wait!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in Scarlett before. My husband has a bit of an issue with steps with his knees &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liztwinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Liztwinz:
It sounds like every day is very busy at your house. What a special treat for you and your husband to allow yourselves some special romantic couple time to relax and reconnect. Thank you for choosing the Americus Garden Inn to celebrate your belated anniversary and Valentines' Day.
Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was my first experience at a bed and breakfast and I must say it was wonderful! Susan and Kim are excellent hosts and the house was beautiful! A must stay and see if you want the best bed and breakfast experience, from the bed linens to the delicious breakfast everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blutalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Blutalon:
We are so happy to know that your first bed and breakfast experience was enjoyable. It was a very special occasion for you and your family, celebrating your Mother's and your brother's birthdays. Since you all live in 3 different states (NC, GA, FL), we understood how important your time together was. We are so glad that our home was comfortable and inviting. It is our hope that we will see all of you again, in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Innkeepers/Owners
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at this beautiful inn. I second all the other guests' excellent reviews. Kim and Susan are excellent hosts who were interested in us and were very helpful with suggestions for dinner. Our rooms were very pretty. The beds are very comfortable with excellent linens. The breakfast was delicious and creative- individual frittas and orange pecan pancakes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPC4102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear PPC4102'

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Americus Garden Inn. We really enjoy the opportunity to share not only our home, but, all of the amazing things there are to see and do in this area (SW Georgia).

We believe that the 2 most important things at a B&B are the bed and the breakfast. The incredibly comfortable linens are Comphy brand sheets, which we absolutely love. And, we are so glad you enjoyed what I prepared for breakfast. It is pecan season and we love to highlight the local bounty, so, the pecan pancakes were the perfect choice. If you are interested in the recipe for the orange pecan pancakes, we have shared it on our facebook page.

Thank you, again. We look forward to future visits.

Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

As you approach the house coming up the hill, you know this is going to be an awesome place to stay. From the moment we got there Susan and Kim made us feel like we were at home. Richard and I felt so relaxed in the home. The home was beautiful. Each room is themed and has a private bath. The rooms were very tastefully decorated. Susan provides breakfast each morning and what a breakfast it was. There are plenty of snacks and drinks available for the rest of the day. Susan and Kim were both very knowledgeable on the local area about where to go, and places to eat. I hope we are able to go back one day!

Room Tip: Most romantic room is Scarlett Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraRichard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Barbara and Richard,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. It was truly a pleasure sharing our beautiful home with you. We are hopeful that we might have the pleasure of your company again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Kim and Susan Egelseer
Innkeepers/Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Sometimes you can just tell you've picked a good place when the owner answers the phone and that was the feeling I got when first talking to Kim about my husband and two daughters(25 and 15) visiting the Plains/Americus area. Attending Sunday School at Maranatha Baptist Church taught by former President Jimmy Carter has long been on my bucket list. The website for the Americus Garden Inn is very detailed and Kim was so helpful on the phone that I wasn't worried about any unfortunate suprises as can often happen with B & B's. We were getting close to the end of the check-in time when we contacted them for help with directions and they guided us to the lovely property. Do listen to them when they say follow their directions and not the GPS...they know what they're talking about! We had two separate bedrooms with bathrooms which were very spacious and comfortable. Can't think of any amenity that was missing. They have gone above and beyond in providing refreshments for the guests at any time. Check-in was easy with restaurant suggestions, directions to Plains, and information on important places in the area,i.e. Andersonville. Breakfast was AMAZING! Any special dietary needs, ages of family members, and particular likes or dislikes are discussed in advance and Susan serves some unique and local dishes. Kim has become very knowledgable about the history of the Americus Inn and it's original owner and shares this along with interesting facts and information about the area. This was an important factor in realizing that we need to return for a 2-3 day stay. Our family voted a thumbs up on my selection of accomodations and we are pretty hard to please!! Only regret is we had not planned to stay long enough to relax and enjoy the porperty. Of course, hearing President Carter speak was a blessing and quite memorable! P.S. Loved the mattress warmer in Veranda Suite. Very cozy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Debra:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and inclusive review. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience at the Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast.
We believe that all of our guests are special and treat everyone with respect, courtesy and love. By getting to know a little about our guests before arrival allows us the opportunity to share special knowledge about the area and to prepare for any special needs/requests. We strive to provide a warm and comfortable environment that makes you feel like you are staying with friends or family.
As for the area attractions, there are many historical venues within a short drive of Americus, enough to keep you busy for several days, including the 2 National Historic Sites within a 15 minute drive. We are glad you had the opportunity to hear Jimmy Carter teach his adult Sunday School class at Maranatha Baptist Church. It is a very special experience to hear a former U.S. President share his beliefs.
We look forward to seeing you and your family again for a longer visit.
Warmest regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Kim came out to meet us as we drove into the parking area and immediately started making us feel like we had just arrived at our home away from home as he instructed us on how to enter and leave as if it were our home! Susan and Kim demonstrated a genuine interest in what we were seeking from our visit and offered many suggestions. Actually, they had suggested before we arrived where we could find Thanksgiving dinner and it was excellent! In my pre-visit conversation with Susan I had not idea how much I had shared with her that she used to add to the comfort and care . . . what attention to detail in serving their visitors both in amenities and thoughtful details like warm coffee mugs! I hesitate to tell how healthly the meals are because one might think they were delicious for "healthy" meals. No! They are delicious for no holds barred gormet food! Clearly, meals are an art form for Susan. Each meal special and unique. By all means listen to the site visiting suggesons Kim offers. He has an excellent sense of how to get the most out of your visit to places of interest. Warning you'll not only view the site, you will EXPERIENCE it! It was hard to leave and we talked all the way out to our car. Make no mistake your visit will be as quiet, restful and private as you like, as well as an opportunity to meet other guests and visit with the hosts of Americus Garden Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Dottie:

Thank you so much for your incredibly thoughtful review. From our first phone conversation, I felt like you and I had known each other for years. That is the beauty of bed and breakfast, in my opinion. We have the wonderful opportunity to share our home with incredible people from all over the world AND make friends, too!

As a bed and breakfast, we feel that there are 2 things we should get right - the bed and the breakfast. Our beds are very comfortable, especially our Comphy brand sheets. And, we try to prepare a breakfast that will delight the palates of our guests. That is why we insist on contacting all of our guests prior to their visit. As every great host tries to do, we cater to the special needs of our guests.

We believe that everyone is special and try our best to create the experience our guests are hoping for. Thank you for letting us know that we succeeded in making your time in Americus enjoyable.

We hope we will have future opportunities to enjoy the pleasure of your company.

Warmest regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My boyfriend Joe and I came to Americus to look for an apartment for him, as he was beginning a new job as an accounting professor at Georgia Southwestern University. We decided to try the bed and breakfast experience for the first time.

Kim and Susan were wonderful hosts. The food was delicious and the rooms comfortable and inviting. We especially liked the cats...felt like being at home.

Kim has a wealth of knowledge concerning local history, etc. and enjoys sharing information.

Would not mind repeating this experience...Absolutely delightful!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Pam:

Thank you so much for allowing us to provide you and Joe with your first Bed and Breakfast experience. Since every B&B is unique, we are so glad that our "brand" of hospitality was to your liking.

We hope you will find reasons to return to our B&B. Birthdays, anniversaries and Valentine's Day are the times for a romantic getaway.

Warmest regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Americus
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#3 of 7 in Americus
140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 7 in Americus
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Americus
Hampton Inn Americus
#2 of 7 in Americus
319 reviews
19.7 mi away
Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709-4078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Americus
Price Range: £97 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast, we strive to provide a unique lodging experience in Americus, Georgia that delights and impresses our guests with gracious hospitality, impeccable cleanliness, creative, nutritious and delicious breakfast foods in comfortably elegant surroundings. Our beautiful 1847 antebellum pre-Civil war mansion is located in the residential historic district of Americus, featuring 7 spacious suites furnished with King/Queen beds, private in room bath, free parking, free WiFi, complimentary breakfast and complimentary refreshments available 24/7. Over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens with walking trail, gazebo and koi pond. Perfect for business or pleasure. Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast is an escape from the ordinary, "where history meets romance..." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing