We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of quiet rest and peaceful gardens”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Americus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Americus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
2 reviews
“A place of quiet rest and peaceful gardens”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent three days/two nights at this B&B to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. We live just north of Atlanta where life is loud, full, and busy. What a joy it was to steal away to the little town of Americus and stay at the Americus Garden Inn. Kim and Susan were excellent hosts! That was evident before we even arrived. Susan called to confirm our reservations and to thoroughly inquire about any particular needs we might have, what kinds of food we liked, if we had any food allergies, etc. As we approached the door to our room there was a "congratulations" banner posted above the door. Upon entering our gaze was immediately directed toward the bed which had 29 rose petals on it with heart shaped chocolates in the center. If we wanted coffee in the middle of the afternoon our hosts brewed it. If we needed wine chilled for the evening it was there in the room waiting for us, when we returned from dinner. We really did feel like we were personal guests in their home.

The gardens were beautifully manicured and the fragrance of Jasmine and white magnolias filled the air. My wife and I had the simple pleasure of sitting amidst all of this and appreciating the beauty of what God had created. Kim and Susan possessed a wealth of interesting and helpful knowledge, whether it was about the history of the inn or where to enjoy a nice dinner out. The inn was clean, well maintained and in a nice area of historic houses. It seemed like our hosts went out of their way to make our visit a special one as evidenced by their eagerness to serve us. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with them. It was both the house and the hosts which made our 29th wedding anniversary a most memorable occasion! The Americus B&B is a great place for a get away and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1811Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear 1811 Campbell:
Congratulations, once again, on your 29th Anniversary. We were delighted to share our home with you for your celebratory getaway. May you enjoy another 29 happy and healthy years together.
We believe that our guests are very special people who deserve very special treatment. It is our intention to provide all of our guests with the experience they are hoping for. By getting acquainted with our guests prior to their visit, we can truly prepare for and cater to any special needs or requests.
Americus is a place where time seems to feel slower and most of our guests find themselves stopping to smell the jasmine, the magnolias, the roses. Thank you for allowing yourselves the time to simply relax and rejuvenate by enjoying our home and garden.
We appreciate your very kind and thoughtful review and hope to see you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Innkeepers/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
405
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Kim and Susan are wonderful people and excellent hosts. Americus is an interesting town, near Andersonville which is a must see for anyone interested in the Civil War. The national park also has a POW museum exhibit which is worth a visit. Excellent two days all around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Irwin S:
Thank you so much for staying with us while exploring the Andersonville National Historic Site. We totally agree with you that Andersonville is a "must see". It is the original site of Camp Sumter, the most infamous Civil War Prison, where 13, 000 Americans died. The National Park Service offers an audio tour that you can use in your car to take you around the grounds of the prison and the cemetery. In the Welcome Center, the theater presents 2 movies: one on Andersonville and one on all POWs. And, the National POW Museum is located at Andersonville National Historic Site. For those interested, this venue usually takes at least 4 hours to full explore all the offerings. And, we strongly suggest visiting the Drummer Boy Museum in the Andersonville Civil War Village where you can view an incredible collection from both sides of the Civil War.
Thank you again. We hope future travel brings you back our way.
Warm regards,
Kim and Susan Egelseer
Innkeepers/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Md
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful three-day stay in this magnificent antebellum mansion with all the conveniences of home. We enjoyed the large back garden with its sweet jasmine, magnolias and red roses. Our hosts, Kim and Susan took the time to make sure we enjoyed our stay. And our breakfasts were delicious and perfectly presented! Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Jack A:
Thank you so much for staying with us. This area has so much to offer and we are so glad that you allowed yourself the time to truly enjoy being here. With 2 National Historic Sites within a 15 minute drive, those 2 venues alone can take a couple of days to fully explore. Then, you have Providence Canyon and Westville, the Global Village and Discovery Center, Koinonia and the Georgia Rural Telephone Museum. But, the beauty of staying in our beautiful home is that you don't have to go anywhere to just relax and enjoy special moments with a special person. This can be a great escape from the noise and commotion of the "real" world.
It was our pleasure hosting your visit.
Warm regards,
Kim and Susan Egelseer
Innkeepers/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Beautiful property, spectacular room, yummy breakfast and wonderful innkeepers. Truly worth finding your way there. Garden and porch are inviting, and the inn is stocked with videos and games. Snacks are always available in the dining room.

Room Tip: We loved the Scarlett Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Nina G:
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in the Scarlett Suite. As one of the original bedrooms of this 1847 house, it is the largest and most dramatic.
Some people really enjoy watching an old movie, some enjoy playing board games, some like to sit in the parlor and read, while others like to sit on the porch and listen to the waterfall. And, of course, with wifi throughout the house, some folks just like to be connected. We try to provide for a variety of activities that our guests might enjoy.
We truly hope future travel brings you back our way.
Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena, Illinois, USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The house is amazing. The host is friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the house and town. It's like going back in time yet still have the modern amenities, even WiFi!

We stay at bed and breakfasts all the time. And this place just made the top of all of them. Clean spacious and historic!

Check out their website for more details.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianrenken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear BrianRenken:
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We enjoyed sharing our home with you.
As a seasoned B&B traveler, you know that each B&B is unique. We truly try to provide each of our guests with the experience they desire and we are so glad that your experience here was enjoyable.
Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I now have to find another reason to come back to Americus to stay with Kim and Susan. From the cordial welcome to the gracious send off, everything was just wonderful. We were three generations traveling to near by Andersonville so my father ( a civil war buff) could visit the civil war museum and historic cemetery. Kim and Susan were so helpful with how to see this historic area. But most of all in just a short time we felt like we were staying with family. We stayed in the Magnolia suite and it was very comfortable and impeccably clean. (This is very important to me). The gourmet breakfast served was nothing shy of 5 star! My daugher can't wait to fix "shirred eggs" for her children. Don't pass up an opportunity to stay at Americus Garden Inn B&B.

Room Tip: Did not see the other rooms but the Magnolia suite would work very well for up to 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Cheri:
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Americus Garden Inn. We know how important special family time is and are so glad that we could provide the perfect accommodations for your visit.
The Magnolia Suite, with a queen and a double bed, is perfect for those who need a room with 2 beds and with the large bathroom, it offers a nice amount of privacy, too.
We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast we prepared for you. Shirred eggs are one of our own personal favorites.
We hope to see you again if future travel brings you our way.
Warm regards,
Kim and Susan Egelseer
Innkeepers/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Kim and Susan while visiting our son who studies at Georgia Southwestern State University. The beautiful house is just around the corner and was therefore the perfect location.
We enjoyed immensely the three nights that we stayed and found the hosts very welcoming and helpful with suggestions on how to get the best from the area. A special thanks to Susan for the fantastic breakfasts which set us up for the day.
Yes the bed sheets are also worth a special mention and the peaceful location of the house together with the beautiful garden.
We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B Inn to anyone visiting Americus.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Stuart:
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while visiting your son at Georgia Southwestern State University, which is just 1/2 mile from our home. We take B&B very seriously and believe that the bed should be very comfortable - which is why we have Comphy brand sheets on all our beds, and breakfast should be delicious and satisfying. We are so glad that we provided you with more that expected and hope to host your future visits to our area.
Warm regards,
Kim and Susan Egelseer
Innkeepers/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Americus
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#3 of 6 in Americus
132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Americus
Hampton Inn Americus
#2 of 6 in Americus
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 6 in Americus
76 reviews
19.7 mi away
Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709-4078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast, we strive to provide a unique lodging experience in Americus, Georgia that delights and impresses our guests with gracious hospitality, impeccable cleanliness, creative, nutritious and delicious breakfast foods in comfortably elegant surroundings. Our beautiful 1847 antebellum pre-Civil war mansion is located in the residential historic district of Americus, featuring 7 spacious suites furnished with King/Queen beds, private in room bath, free parking, free WiFi, complimentary breakfast and complimentary refreshments available 24/7. Over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens with walking trail, gazebo and koi pond. Perfect for business or pleasure. Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast is an escape from the ordinary, "where history meets romance..." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing