We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spooky but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santo Tomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santo Tomas Hotel
Bicheno, Tas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spooky but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I had mixed feelings for this hotel. The reception was always really dark and the religious artefacts spooked me somewhat. At night the staff watched from below and turned the lights on as you walked along the corridor. The courtyard is fabulous with parrots and lush plantings. The property is centrally located and rooms are clean and comfy. We had 2 nights when the markets weren't on. It was an experience and I survived. The birds really make this place, they're fantastic.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KylewithaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    75
    36
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
55
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The setting is beautiful, as you enter through a courtyard with colorful tethered birds calling and a marimba quartet playing in the balcony as the fountain splashes. It is a tablecloth-style place with multiple servers, a buffet if you choose, and a diverse menu of local and other dishes. After walking around for 4 hours we welcomed the cool tranquility, clean & classy restrooms, and the overall experience. Although this is a hotel, the dining area is open to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmas_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We did not stay here, but we used their services. We booked transport to Antigua with the concierge, who was extremely helpful. Also, we had a couple of delicious breakfasts here, the first on a Wednesday when the market visitors were not yet in town and the second on a Thursday morning. For the latter we were early enough to beat the mob of tourist groups at the hotel. We were served in the bar and had plenty of time and space to enjoy a light, leisurely breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

You must have to pass here, for lunch and take pictures of the nice macaws, parrots, a nice colonial place, or just to use the W.C. for Q5.p.p. a meeting point to for shuttle bus to pana , antigua, xela, if you mist out your bus call us we can send you a car of find you the driver! at 49561649

Room Tip: The rooms in the north side are quiete
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaLandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hennessey, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A lovely hotel in the center of the busy city market. It is very clean and comfortable. The staff is helpful and most speak English. The food is very good and safely prepared. It looks exactly like the pictures. They provide a laundry service that while basic got our very muddy clothes spotlessly clean and returned folded to our room same day. The hotel felt very safe and had numerous safety measures in place. Prices vary depending on how and with whom you book your room I found it to be very inexpensive. Remember it is a fairly remote mountain town in a Central American country,you have hot water, flushing toliets, bathtubs, and a fireplace thats above average for the area.

Room Tip: Avoid street side if possible traffic is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a group of 10 and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The hotel grants easy access to the market and a nice place to duck into when you need a break. The was very good and the lunch buffet was great we counted over 40 items to choose from for lunch. The rooms were comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. The decor was very unique which added to the ambiance and the pool was lovely. We kept one of our rooms for a late check out and stayed by the pool for a few hours after shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Beautiful hotel for Guatemala, bathroom was on the basic side but the shower worked & there was constant hot water.
The town is a no frills sort of place with a great market, little more. The hotel was crammed full of religious artefacts & masks. A man came & lit the fire in the room at night which was a nice touch - I think most rooms have fireplaces, not sure about that though.
Worth a visit but on the expensive side, approx US$110 for our room.There's poor choice if you don't take this, the cheaper hotels are very basic then jumps to this (which was no Hyatt Grand!).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gleniano54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichicastenango
0.2 mi away
Mayan Inn
Mayan Inn
#1 of 6 in Chichicastenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
14.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo Tomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Tomas Hotel

Property: Santo Tomas Hotel
Address: Av 5 - 32 Zona unica 7, Chichicastenango 14006, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chichicastenan...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Tomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Santo Tomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Tomas Chichicastenango
Hotel Santo Tomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing