We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special part of heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Gregorio Hotel and Spa
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A special part of heaven!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Visiting the Land of Eternal Springtime is special in and of itself but to stay at the San Gregorio just makes it that much better. The breakfast was to die for, the rooms spotless, the spa so relaxing, and the location a glimpse of paradise. Hilda, the owner, is a very gracious hostess overseeing every detail to ensure perfection. Moreover, she and Lily on the front desk speak flawless English and are responsive to the needs of each guest on an individual basis. The location is very tranquil and picturesque with tropical birds waking you in the morning as you breathe in the fresh and invigorating air. If every hotel was like the San Gregorio, I would travel constantly. As it is, I've traveled to over 50 countries and this hotel is at the top of the list as to the places I've stayed.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at the San Gregorio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sangregoriospa, General Manager at San Gregorio Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
It was a great privilege having you stay with us for several days and our staff as much as myself
are looking forward to your next visit.

We appreciate your comments; they motivate us to coninuously strive for excellence and to do our best to please our guests from abroad and from within Guatemala and to make them feel welcome in this most special place. Respectfully, Hildegard S. Valle, General Manager, San Gregorio Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    27
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
68
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Just returned from a visit to Guatemala where we booked the entire San Gregorio Hotel with a large group in December 2012. Sra. Hilda and all of her staff were so friendly, and accommodating to our group's needs, including personalizing our meal service. What a beautiful retreat just outside of the City, and the views are spectacular. The rooms are also gorgeous. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2luvbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is absolutely lovely! And I cant say enough about the spa!!! excellent, excellent massage, and i am a massage junkie! The rooms were beautiful, and the staff lovely! I So recommend this place! I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This wonderful spot provides a respite from the hustle of Guatemala City. Air is clean and crisp, view of the lake --- beautiful, Hilda and her staff could not have been more welcoming and accomodating with my travel delays. Transportation situation was made easy getting to and from the hotel. Even had a terrific massage to work out the travellers kinks. Architecturally fascinating property. Highly recommend the San Gregorio!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banditprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermagor, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2012

just excellent !! no more to say, honest !! perfect combi of relax, wellbeing, excellent food (international and lekker local) and city excitement. pefect advise on visiting the guatemala high lights.

Room Tip: any room, no matter which!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wf s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My hubby surprised me with a spectacular romantic escape!!
Great spa! Excellent climate! Amazing view! Exquisite food!
Had a lovely anniversary celebration!
Not far from the city and yet, we disconnect from everything.
Can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Without a doubt the place is beautiful. Very cozy rooms, amazinfg view of Amatitlan, clean facilities, relaxing spa area, overall its great.

I enjoyed breakfast and the staff in the restaurant was nice! However I thought dinner was expensive for what it represented, and the SPA was not what I expected. It was not a great massage, which is bad since that would have made my stay perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
10.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,468 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
610 reviews
9.2 mi away
Adriatika Hotel Boutique
Adriatika Hotel Boutique
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 49 in Guatemala City
591 reviews
10.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,057 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Gregorio Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gregorio Hotel and Spa

Property: San Gregorio Hotel and Spa
Address: Km. 29.5 en la Carretera a Santa Elena Barillas | Barillas Guatemala, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gregorio Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic first class Boutique style hotel offers modern luxurious accommodations in bungalows overlooking lake Amatitlan and the volcanos de Agua, Pacaya, Fuego and Acatenango, a gourmet restaurant, a wine bar and the unique spa that combines nature and modern facilities for your pleasure and comfort with spectacular views and landscape. A perfect choice to spend time before or after touring the country of Guatemala or Central America.RFA Certification process:We recently have been approved by the Rain Forest Alliance for adhering to principles of good practices in hotel management, starting with responsible waste treatment, ongoing recycle program, socially responsible human resource management, good neighbor policies, to mention a few. Events and Conference Center:At the end of 2011 a state of the art structure for corporate and social events with a capacity of up to 250 persons has been added. Our unique location provides a stunning setting for destination weddings and for special corporate meetings, combining nature and technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Gregorio Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gregorio Hotel Guatemala City
San Gregorio Hotel And Spa Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing