We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Santorini
Ranked #23 of 62 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From the moment we walked through the doors there were issues. Make sure you arrive with local currence and the exact amount. We booked online and paid part of the fee ahead of time and they claimed that we didn't book and didn't pay anything. Even after showing them an electronic recipt - the next day we still didn't get the money back we paid for a deposit. The guy who works there was very nice and helpful but the ladies who run the place are a disaster. They didn't keep their word about the free taxi from the airport and when we asked them to pay the driver they refused (even though they are supposed to give you a free ride from the airport.) The breakfast the next day (which was like eating liquid salt) didn't even make up for the fact that we got in late and they didn't have any food available there and didn't know any numbers to anywhere close that could still be open for us to eat. There were no places to put your stuff and you couldn't lock the dorm and there where three men who were constantly trying to go in our room who already had a room. Just a ton of trouble that wasn't worth any of it. Skip this one on your trip to Guatemala- you will save yourself the hassel.

Room Tip: It is walking distance from the airport- that is the only good thing about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel is nice for the price, the beds are good, nice soft pillows. The shower didn`t have hot water, but that is something that can be easily fixed for sure. I would have given this hostel a great review, if it wasn`t for the owner who came home drunk at 4 am when I was waiting for a taxi and so were two other travelers, to another destination. When I went to speak to him to find out if he was the taxi I realized he was drunk and I closed the door, and left him outside for safety reasons, and called the receptionist, who is lovely. She let him in and didn`t say a word, while when he came in he yelled at me swearing that I had to leave the hotel. He was obviously upset for me not letting him in, but I didn`t know he owned the place until the receptionist let him in and told me. He insisted I leave the hotel, while yelling at me, but I didn`t because it may not be safe at 4 am to be outside with all my luggage. He started a big discussion and the other two travelers left in their taxi, and he wanted me out. What a bad experience, I will never stay here again, even though the place is a lovely hostel. Also am not impressed with his drunk driving, he arrived by car...His staff is obviously scared of him and did nothing to help me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yazzieyazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantorini, Owner at Hotel Casa Santorini, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014
Google Translation

lamentamos lo sucedido en su visita, deseamos indicarle que nuestro empleado que cometio este error con su persona,ya no trabaja en nuestro hotel.
esperamos poder tenerle nuevamente como nuestro huesped y brindarle la atencion que usted se merece.
si usted visita guatemala, por favor no dude en comunicarse con nosotros estaremos gustosos de recibirlo y acomodar su precio con cortecias adicionales.
att.
Gerencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

One of the most pleasant stays I had in Guatemala was here in Casa Santorini right on arrival. As soon as you book your stay the owner of the hotel Jorge emails you directions on how to contact him so he can arrange your personal pickup to the hotel. He was very welcoming, kind, and extremely helpful with absolutely anything I had a question about. The hotel is literally a 5 minute drive from the airport and he ushered me into my room with great attention. This hotel is not the most convenient if you intend on exploring the center of the city but it’s still not a bad bus ride away. The hotel itself is nicely decorated and clean. Front reception area has a tv and chairs for hanging out and relaxing. On my second day Jorge was kind enough to invite me to join him for some light food and cocktails he was having with some locals. He is helping them with their English so they can better work in the tourism industry there in Guatemala. We had a very enjoyable time learning about each other and making new friends. This was in a 3rd floor outdoor patio that’s in addition to a rooftop patio the hotel also has with great views of the surrounding mountains. I would recommend any stopping in the capital a day or two to stay here and enjoy the superb hospitality offered by Casa Santorini. Enjoy the pictures.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoriconwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hostel is not only close to the airport and in one of the safest neighborhoods in Guatemala City, but it's very clean and hospitable. The biggest draw though, is Jorge. He owns the hotel, and will come to wherever you are to pick you up and bring you to the hotel.

When my friend and I arrived, he gave us a tour of the immediate area (his english is very good as well), and then set us up in our room. Later, he took us out for drinks and shared his story with us. When we left, he gave us his number and told us to call him if we ever needed help.

Lo and behold, no matter where we were in Guatemala, if we had a question, he had a great answer for us. If we were lost, he'd even look up where we needed to go and who we needed to talk to.

We returned a little later as a stop between Monterrico and Xela. The Linea Dorada (bus line) website said they had an afternoon trip scheduled, so we decided to go in the afternoon. Jorge drove us to the station, and when it turned out they didn't have a bus leaving that day, he let us stay another night FOR FREE.

The hostel, everyone in it, and everything about it is marvelous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

After a miserable flight to guatemala I found this really near the airport hotel. Jeorge is the owner and really took care of me!

I got a amazing home cooked meal
Nice cold beers
Historical and geographical information of Guatemala City
and a nice and clean bed to sleep in

and hey made sure my lost back was delivered to the hotel. Also Jeroge speaks fluent English for all you non spanish speakers out there.

Room Tip: Ask for the home cooked meals from the neighbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snapte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hostel is super close to the airport. This is a great spot to come for the first day if you are going to other places, or the one place you can spend the night at before you fly out. The owner, Jorge is sooooo nice. He drove us late at night to the mall so we can grab something to eat. He didnt mind at all. He serves breakfast at a certain hour but our flight was leaving early and he arranged our breakfast to fall into schedule. He also arranged our taxi to the airport. He is very genuine in helping his guests. Thanks Jorge! It is definitely a great option!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goingtoplaces88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a great place to live and very close to the airport. It only took us 5 minutes to walk from the hotel to the airport in the morning. It locates in a safe area in Guatemala City. The owner of the hotel is a very kind and considerate person who granted us great help.

It was our last night in Guatemala and we will take a flight back home next morning. When we arrived in the airport that night, we called the owner of the hotel and he came to the airport very soon as they offered free transportation service to their clients although the distance was very short. But at that time, we found that we do not have enough cash to pay the rent. So the owner drove us to the hotel to check in first and then drove me to a faraway place where ATM was available. Unfortunately, neither of my credit and debit cards worked and I cannot draw cash to pay the rent. My friend and I were extremely exhausted and desperate and didn’t know what to do. The owner was our angel and gave us great help. We booked a double room private with shared bathroom and the owner gave us a room with ensuite bathroom. We could only pay the rent for a dorm but the owner still gave us that double room private with ensuite bathroom. We had a comfortable last night during our stay in Guatemala. The landscape in Guatemala is amazing and the people there are friendly. This hotel is a great place for stay in Guatemala City, and the owner and staff there are great people. Thanks Hotel Casa Santorini, thanks the owner of the hotel for your great help.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RicoBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0 mi away
No photo provided
Reforma Hotel y Cafeteria
#30 of 62 in Guatemala City
1 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,730 reviews
4.7 mi away
Huellas Hostal
Huellas Hostal
#23 of 63 in Guatemala City
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 49 in Guatemala City
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#3 of 63 in Guatemala City
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#16 of 49 in Guatemala City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Santorini

Address: Av A 7 | 17-17 Zona 13 Colonia Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range: £25 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Santorini is conveniently located 1 minute from the International Airport, and belongs to the concept of B&B´s in town. We accommodate travellers who are searching for a restful sleep on a convenient budget, highly recommended for travellers visiting Guatemala city, Relax and enjoy in one of our private rooms for 1,2 or 3 persons. Total capacity15 people, Staying in Hotel Casa Santorini you can expect hot water, WiFi, a common resting area, cable TV, videos, internet, fax¬-copy services, an open roof terrace with hammocks and great views, a restaurant area serving ¨mom’s¨cuisine. This is a familiar place with a real cozy atmosphere in safe area. We are happy to help you with any travel needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Santorini Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing