We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Visit in a Great Park”

Cocktail Tours Guatemala
Ranked #2 of 32 Tours in Guatemala City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit in a Great Park”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had an amazing time at Tikal. This was one of our favorite experiences on our honeymoon. The Mayan Ruins here are among the best. This place was huge. You could spend at least a full day here and not see all there is to see. Our guide, Louis, was the best. The animals in the park are also abundant. We saw so many species of animals in addition to the ruins. This is a must see if you are in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    26
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

There are a few places in the world that are magical and this is one of them! In the midst of the jungle there are these amazing temples, homes and other structures built by the Mayans each very interesting. There is one of the highest temples in Central America that at the top you can see for miles and is amazing. Some of the structures you can climb the steep stone steps like the Mayans, others they have wood staircases that are easier to climb. We saw a variety of monkeys, toucan, deer, fox, cotamundi. We were staying in Belize and went with Belize Nature Travel for the day. They had a great guide and would recommend them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravellerruth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Truly one of the wonders of the World”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We recently visited and the views were breathtaking. Walking through the park you can easily see why the Mayans were one of the most advance civilizations of their time. You will be amazed at the size and detail of the buildings. If you use your imagination you will be able to see the Metropolis that once Tikal was. I was in Machu Picchu last year, but Tikal has absolutely nothing to envy. If you like archaeological sites you need to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AlCifuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
665 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful and huge Mayan city”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The city of Tikal is beautiful. The buildings are high and wonderful. The area is eco reserved, you can find diferent animals. Tikal was a religion center. Try to be there for sunset, over temple V. Do not miss it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EMILE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spring
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Route of the Mayas: Tikal by Air in Depth”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My hubby and I took a 10 day "Mayan Mystique" cruise on Oceana, Riviera ship 18 - 28 March 2014.. and one of the exurcursions took us to Tikal National Park. We had to fly there, but it was a nice flight and when we got there it was very large area to cover.. and alot of walking, but even us being "seniors" we did it and we climbed a couple of temples. The one large temple had wooden steps and I wondered if i could do it.. but I did! The scenery was beautiful! And the exurcusion was super! If you get a change to see it.. dont miss it!!! We were actually gone aprox 9 hrs.. but it was so worth it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocktail Tours Guatemala also viewed

Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 

Been to Cocktail Tours Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing