We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in the world - no exaggeration!”
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzalroo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I met a few people in Central America who had thought about coming to Quetzalroo but thought it sounded too good to be true... They missed a fantastic treat. From the moment I was first contacted by Manuel upon booking the hostel to when I was dropped off for my ridiculously early flight (0545) I could tell that these guys totally understand how a hostel should be. The owner really wants travellers to get to know his country and city that he is so obviously proud of. He'll personally take you on a tour of Guatemala City (and even further afield now I gather) and when I stayed he even came out for dinner with us and recommended things for us! I can't rate this hostel highly enough, it was really a home from home although I only managed to stay a couple of nights. Almost tempted to fly from Scotland again to repeat the experience all over again!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

I, along with a few other friends, were lucky enough to be Quetzalroo's first guests when he opened up last year. He made the experience so wonderful and memorable that we returned home to tell all our friends about the great time we had and how Manuel practically bent over backwards to make us feel comfortable and safe. We had a lot of fun too, so much fun that we decided to return a year later! We still can't say enough!

Room Tip: Just let Manuel know what your looking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic292026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Manuel is the best. He took wonderful care of us the first time we visited Guatemala City and this time he took even more care of us. He is a awesome hostel keeper. He will go above and beyond to help you in whatever way he can.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klynn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We where advised not to spent to much time in Guatemala City... QuetzalRoo made the hole difference! The hospitality was incredible and we can only advise others to spent some time in Guatemala City, as long as you visit QuetzalRoo!
We contacted the hostel before going to Guatemala, and they have been our "friends" during the hole trip.
Thanks for a great stay and all the best in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We booked a private room with a shared bathroom on the reccomendation of a friend, and to be honest I didn't believe the reviews on here!
We were picked up from the airport by the owner's brother for free and taken to the hostel (he was an amazingly friendly guy) and checked in (they take dollars or Q depending on what you have). They will also pick you up from the bus station, and on our way back they dropped us at the airport at 4.30 in the morning and they were still happy and talkative.
The room was clean and comfortable and nicely airy without getting too hot or cold.
You have access to the roof if you want to relax outside too.
The guys that run the place will try their best to sort out anything you might want to buy/eat, or organise for you to go places/find things/souvenirs/equipment, even down to knowing taxis that you can hire for Q50-60 for the hour that will wait for you and take you to safe places.
The hostel is in the business/hospital area of Guat city which is one of the safer areas of the city

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy201071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Upon a friend's recommendation, my girlfriend and I chose to stay at the hostel Quetzalroo in Guatemala City. We were promptly met at the airport (transportation to/from the airport is complimentary) by the hostel's owner, Manuel. I immediately felt welcome by Manuel's honesty and generosity. The hostel is situated in zone 10, inside an apartment complex. Not only is Zone 10 probably the safest in the city, but the complex is also fairly secure.

Quetzalroo prides itself on providing quality guest service, and we definitely experienced it. We had little time to prepare any arrangements for our stay, but the hostel fully accommodated us by providing personal tours of the city (for a small price) - what better way to see the city than through the expertise of a local! We did not even have to hail a taxi since there was a contracted taxi driver on site (he can take you were you want to go when the staff is unavailable). Staff members are happy to provide you with directions and recommendations as well. Without the staffs' assistance I can absolutely say that we would not have been able to see the sights of the city (and nearby Antigua) nor experience Guatemalan culture as we did. They were a trip-maker and a testament in how to treat a guest!!

We slept quite peacefully in a very clean and tidy private room. The only minor complaint was that the mattress cover tended to slip off each night, making it uncomfortable for my significant other. The bed was firm yet very comfortable. We slept well each night during our three-day stay.

We left the hostel feeling as though we visited a family member's house in a foreign city, and there can be no better hotel experience than that!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LatinEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The hosts went above and beyond the call of duty to invest time in us as guests and make sure we made the most of our time in Guatemala City.

We were blown away with the generosity of Manuel and his staff. They shuttled us to the airport, brought us to their favorite spots to eat, tour around, and they shared their knowledge and love of their city and country. We felt very safe with their care and enjoyed our time there. Make this hostel your choice when you fly into Guatemala City.

Guatemala is fortunate to have such great ambassadors in their tourism industry.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskanronsse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#16 of 49 in Guatemala City
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Veranda Guatemala
Casa Veranda Guatemala
#14 of 49 in Guatemala City
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Reforma La Casa Grande
Residencial Reforma La Casa Gran...
#30 of 49 in Guatemala City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#3 of 63 in Guatemala City
144 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Poeta Bed & Breakfast
El Poeta Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 63 in Guatemala City
35 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#4 of 63 in Guatemala City
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range: £13 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing