We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best base-camp in Guatemala!”
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quetzalroo
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best base-camp in Guatemala!”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Morning rooftop Yoga was my favorite part. Bring your own travel-mat. There is a giant mirror on the roof, fresh air and plenty birds to share in your practice. (just ignore the MCDonalds sign. Owners and staff are friendly, helpful, concerned about your safety, and are well connected around the country and will help you to organize any adventure. They also can recommend a great dentist just a couple of blocks away. I got a root canal done while there... unbelievably cheap and REALLY well done. Since the hostel is in the medical zone of the city it is possible to stay there while pursuing medical treatment. One guy got laser eye surgery while there! Beer purchasing system needs improvement.

Room Tip: Private room is worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albahabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    55
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
66
148
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Quetzalroo is like the feeling when you find a $100 bill in a pocket of a jacket you haven't worn in years. The staff won't just help you out, they will inspire you. The free pick up and drop off and great coffee is just the tip of the iceberg. You can discover more about the country in a few nights here than any guide book could tell you. There new 'Chippie Bus' is sure to be the coolest wheels on the road to explore the city in too!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackwilliams12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Location is perfect, , friendly atmosphere, the service and the puntuality of the bus service is just wonderfull.
Beds are very confortable and the cleanliness is great.
The most important part of this place is the owner, a guy whith a child`s spirit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYBERCHECHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I met a few people in Central America who had thought about coming to Quetzalroo but thought it sounded too good to be true... They missed a fantastic treat. From the moment I was first contacted by Manuel upon booking the hostel to when I was dropped off for my ridiculously early flight (0545) I could tell that these guys totally understand how a hostel should be. The owner really wants travellers to get to know his country and city that he is so obviously proud of. He'll personally take you on a tour of Guatemala City (and even further afield now I gather) and when I stayed he even came out for dinner with us and recommended things for us! I can't rate this hostel highly enough, it was really a home from home although I only managed to stay a couple of nights. Almost tempted to fly from Scotland again to repeat the experience all over again!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I, along with a few other friends, were lucky enough to be Quetzalroo's first guests when he opened up last year. He made the experience so wonderful and memorable that we returned home to tell all our friends about the great time we had and how Manuel practically bent over backwards to make us feel comfortable and safe. We had a lot of fun too, so much fun that we decided to return a year later! We still can't say enough!

Room Tip: Just let Manuel know what your looking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic292026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Manuel is the best. He took wonderful care of us the first time we visited Guatemala City and this time he took even more care of us. He is a awesome hostel keeper. He will go above and beyond to help you in whatever way he can.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klynn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We where advised not to spent to much time in Guatemala City... QuetzalRoo made the hole difference! The hospitality was incredible and we can only advise others to spent some time in Guatemala City, as long as you visit QuetzalRoo!
We contacted the hostel before going to Guatemala, and they have been our "friends" during the hole trip.
Thanks for a great stay and all the best in the future!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
#18 of 49 in Guatemala City
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 53 in Guatemala City
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Property: Quetzalroo
Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing