We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I´ve Ever Stayed At!”
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quetzalroo
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
“Best Hostel I´ve Ever Stayed At!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have stayed in many hostels around the world and this hands down as been the best place I´ve ever stayed. The hosts are so genuine and kind. Not the kind of party atmosphere but very engaging people who really want to show you the real Guatemala. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirl030488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    55
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
66
148
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The people who work there are very friendly and helpful when it comes to find activities in the city or some place else outside the city. Clean place near a mall and a lot of restaurants and bars. Price I'd great too!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

This was my second destination at my Central America trip. I felt pretty alone and therefore it was extremely freeing to meet some young people at this hostel. The atmosphere was really nice and calm, and the area was one of the most safest in town.
I've been there for half an hour before I met William - a fantastic dude who took so good care of me, and helped me to meet new people and not at least got my journey through Guatemala and Mexico started for real. Thanks a lot to William - if you don't know where to stay in Guatemala, stay here!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank christianwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Most travelers write off Guatemala City as a "dangerous city" and only pass through it as they make their way to Antigua. I shared that sentiment until I met the staff at Quetzalroo. I only planned on staying one night, but the owner, Marco, and his family and staff were so helpful and enthusiastic about assisting their guests that I ended up staying at Queztalroo for five nights. I have never stayed at a hostel where the owner and staff took an active interest in their guests stay. They cooked us meals, showed us around the city, assisted us with our travel plans, and most importantly, helped us to understand the history and culture of Guatemala. I really appreciate everything they did for me, and I strongly encourage other travelers to stay at Quezalroo. It's a great place start -- or finish -- your trip in Guatemala.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Clean, quiet, safe hotel in Guatemala City. We needed to stay the night to catch an early flight and were very happy with out choice. We reserved a private room with shared bath early that morning and they made sure to have one available for us. When we arrived, there was a delicious home cooked meal for a decent price. Pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and quietness. There were a bunch of people staying there but the way the hostel is set up lends to a fun environment in one area and a quiet sleeping area in another. It seemed to attract a good group of travelers (compared to other bad hostel experiences we had earlier in the trip). They even have complimentary shuttle pick up and drop off from bus stations or airports. 10 minutes for airport. Highly recommended. Wish we had started there so they could have helped us navigate our trip better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

When you arrive in the city you are picked up by the Quetzalroo personal driver and taken to the safe and clean family run hostel. Your greeted with a smile and made felt welcome straight away. They have a common area that feels like your living room and always have an interesting documentary or a movie playing. There are often big dinners cooked and eaten together as a family. It's the perfect place to create a home away from home. Marcos, one of the owners runs a great walking tour daily and his passion and love for his city and country is obvious which makes the tour all the more enjoyable. Will defiantly return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropical_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Im sooo glad I didn't stay here.
I arrived this weekend from Honduras and was looking for a place to stay . Found this hostel online.
After taking a cab the first thing: this place is hard to find, secondly was "welcomed by a women who said right away" hurry up i'm busy" after asking a few questions she told me: "you could have seeing that online" then I just left politely, she tried to win me back saying there are not many options in town! Just a tip for you then: i searched on the yellow pages and got a room only for me paying almost 8 dollars left.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Giovanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
425 reviews
2.0 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 53 in Guatemala City
132 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#3 of 53 in Guatemala City
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Property: Quetzalroo
Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing