We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean & free shuttle transport to airport/bus”
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzalroo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hostel is a wonderful, safe way to spend the night in Guatemala city. Make sure to do the walking city tour & enjoy a beer on the roof top! Night tours to local dancing hot spots was also fun & safe!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizabethHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple nights during the last few months, in a private room and also in the 4-bed dorm. Nice, clean place in a good location with helpful staff. Highly recommend the private if you're hoping to get any sleep. The 4-bed dorm I stayed in is attached to other rooms who's occupants have to come through this room to access the bathroom/outside. So, it's as if you're sharing a room with a lot more than just 3 other people. Also, wi-fi is not available in some of the rooms, not a huge deal, but I ended up hanging out in the stairwell just to check email. Didn't make use of any of their other amenities so can't comment on those.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillWithWanderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Clean & well-organized hostel, friendly atmosphere... but mostly great staff! A big thanks to Maria who made us feel at home right from our arrival and helped us to find pharmacies, restaurants, book shuttles and anything else we needed. You will undoubtedly meet Marcos, who knows the city inside out and will be glad to share with you all the secrets of the city, as well as the rich history of this amazing country. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank HotelKatarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great stay at this nice hostel with its lovely staff!!! They allways gave us a hand with all concerns, a deeper understanding in Guatemala Ciudad an their people included ( excellent bike tour with Marcos and friends, plus his very interesting collection of documentories about Guatemalan history and society). Rooms and br are definitifly clean, water for free. We enjoyed the roof top terrace. This place is absolutely recommendable!!! Uta and Michael

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the place to be! All the facilities are great, but more important - the hosts are GREAT and will give you a safe, exiting, funny and homely experience of the City! Go go go! Love from Miriam and Toby Denmark.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have chosen this place based on the positive reviews, but it is not a place where we might come back.

Initially we had agreed upon a price, but when getting there they said that it was a mistake and the price was higher. We reiterated that this was our agreement, eventually they accepted, but when we asked to make a call and reserve a next day bus - although initially they had accepted, they tried to charge 1QTZ for this call! Anyway lately, the young girl (probably one of the owners) tried again to argue that the price was higher and that our agreement was a mistake.

We have stayed in a private room which is really small and you have to pass through another room to get there which may be embarrassing if people sleep there.

The wifi only works in the common room, the breakfast is really poor, the bathrooms are not clean at all and the local girls working there (except for the owners) seem to have lost their smile. Although they have said the area is safe and "much crime happens in Antigua or Panajachel" (sorry, but we don't think so), we haven't had this feeling as at 7pm when exiting the hotel we could hardly find people walking on the streets.

The only reason for not rating this place as "really poor" is the mother of the young owner(s) who communicates with the tourists and does not seem to patronise them as per the other staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joker t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was my first and last port of call on my trip to Guatemala. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in Guatemala city. The hostel is very clean, has decent showers and the rooms and dorms are nice.
The staff here are amazing. its run by a family who will go out of their way in every direction to make your stay here comfortable. I would recommend doing the bike tour of the city with Marcos. It will give you a great introduction to the city. I was planning to arrive and leave Guat city but am so happy i got to see the nice side of capital, thanks to this bike tour. its cheap and very informative. If you are staying in the city, make this your place.

Room Tip: do the bicycle tour of the city with Marcos. Very enjoyable. And eat the street food. its AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamgordonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#37 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#16 of 49 in Guatemala City
311 reviews
2 mi away
Hostal Los Volcanes
Hostal Los Volcanes
#9 of 60 in Guatemala City
75 reviews
2 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 60 in Guatemala City
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range: £13 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing