We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, big rooms”
Review of Coperacha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coperacha
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely place, big rooms”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked my boyfriend and I a room here, as the prices were great and the pictures look lovely. Coperacha lives up to it- the rooms are spacious and well priced, though a bit dark as most hostels are. The gardens and lounging areas are colorful and comfortable, well decorated and cute. The breakfast was delicious as well!
I felt bad that we left a day earlier than planned, and here's why: Coperacha is in Zona 2, which is the totally opposite side of town as the airport, malls, modern day stuff in GC. While we did enjoy walking to the Presidential Square and seeing the local mercados close to Coperacha, we were really in the city because we needed to buy me a new keyboard for my iPad, fix some cell phone stuff, and visit a doctor...ALL of those things are on the other side of town, and it was not logical for us to stay so far away, so we left for Quetzalroo (please see my review of them- crazy expensive for what you get, and Coperacha is a much better value if you can handle the location).

Recommended if you are in GC to do some touring and/or are bussing in and out through a company that has its hub/office in Zona 1. Do some research ahead of time on those logistics, and if it makes sense for you, stay here! Great value and lovely, clean place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street are bigger, but may have morning noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namastekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
10
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Guatemala City is a place that has always made me nervous, so when I had to stay for two weeks to do research, I was apprehensive to say the least. Staying at La Coperacha and in zone 2 made my time in Guate far more comfortable than I ever expected. Not only is the place clean and comfortable, but the staff and the other guests were amazingly helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are good, the coffee flows freely, and it was quiet enough that I was able to sleep at a reasonable hour every night. The location is hard to beat: a 10 minute walk from the Plaza Mayor in a nice, surprisingly quiet part of the city center, with everything you need a couple blocks away. To those reviewers who complain about the safety of the neighborhood, this is as good as it's going to get in the middle of Guatemala City. Stay off the streets at night and use common sense.

The best part of La Coperacha are the people who work and reside there. Lucien, the manager, was quick to respond to e-mails, arranged airport pick-up, and was always willing to help his guests with travel advice and arrangements. Maria and Ofelia make a good Guatemalan breakfast and keep the place clean. Special thanks to Luis, La Coperacha's taxista of choice, who ferried me all over the city for two weeks, came on short notice, and always provided good company along the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Very cheap private double ($10) and the nicest people. Arranged a ride for me from the airport, shared drinks with us, made delicious homemade breakfast in the morning, and even walked me to the phone shop and helped me set up a phone plan.

Its a quirky and funky spot, but they really care about their guests and I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mrmld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The owner is quirky but awesome. Our bus arrived early into Guatemala city and he let us in at 5:30 in the morning. We were served breakfast with the best eggs we’ve ever eaten and we were in our room by 7 am. Our room was spacious, quiet, and clean with a much needed mosquito net. The bathrooms were clean and had hot water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brent_hall11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Good hostel. Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff! Lucien, the manager makes you feel very welcome. Good breakfast! Patio to stay relaxed on the hammacks. Location near the historic center and the local market. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra_Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The good - Very charming interior. Very good sized rooms. Clean. Decent showers although the toilets need to be refurbished - particularly the seats.
The bad - Difficult to find due to the way Guate does it's addresses and the fact that there is no sign on he building. Location is not great in the north of the city with little (safe) public transport around. Also, a guest told me he was mugged the previous day in the nearby plaza. No en suite bathrooms. The middle-aged manager woke me up in the morning to say that my room was reserved for that day even though I'd said to someone else the previous day that I would be staying for 2 nights. (The manager of Quetzalroo told me this guy has a drink problem and there are often complaints about the way he runs things - I didn't get the chance to experience any other problems as I checked out straight away)
The privates are 10 US dollars a night which is good for the city but I guess is reflected in the location - and service from the manager

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProdigitalSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Good and safe place in the middle of Guate City. Big rooms, showers, toilets, good breakfast. Relax and chill possibilities. Right now i'm hanging around in the hammock and writing this rating full relaxed. :) once i will be back here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.6 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#20 of 49 in Guatemala City
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 53 in Guatemala City
132 reviews
2.5 mi away
El Poeta Bed & Breakfast
El Poeta Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 53 in Guatemala City
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quetzalroo
Quetzalroo
#1 of 53 in Guatemala City
380 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostal Estacion Gerona
Hostal Estacion Gerona
#14 of 53 in Guatemala City
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coperacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coperacha

Property: Coperacha
Address: 4 Av 2-03, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coperacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coperacha Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing