We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Checking in to the hotel was traumatic. We arrived in a vehicle and the drive into the underground parking was scary to say the least. Don´t bother parking your there if you´re driving a large SUV because it would be practically impossible to get out. The personel at the front desk were anything but helpful no smiles, no freindliness, just very cold. They never asked for my credit card to go on record so I had to pay cash for all my in-room meals.
The rooms are large but have outdated furniture and decor. The beds are ok but there was a slight smell of mildew in the room. The bathroom fixtures, faucets and towels are really, really old and worn out.
The breakfast area looks like King Kong´s hide out at Skull Island and the food is really sub standard. I would never stay at this hotel again unless I really had to.
The only con I can think of is location.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank RodrigoQC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We send our appologies for all the inconveniences that you had during your stay in our hotel.

Let me inform you that we have another option to provide our guests when they comes with big vehicule, we provide access to the parking lots that we have next to our hotel. We will check this information with our personnel, as is important to give solution and avoid inconveniences.

We appreciate that you share your comments, as this helps us to take action where it corresponds. We will check our standars and service.

Thank you once again, and please give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Suites Guatemala
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Consistently good service. Towels could do with an upgrade. Morning (5am) front desk crew not well informed as to messages left for airport pickup. Breakfast buffet is expensive if you don't want to pig out. Cheaper to order a la carte. Relatively safe area.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter i.e. Not on street side due to disco and casino noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments about your experience in our hotel and also for your recommendation.

We send our appologies about the message not provided at our front desk.

We hope that you visit us again.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. It is close to all downtown business sites such as lawyers, banks, internet printer offices and restaurants for lunchtime meeting.

I had previously stayed at a Clarion somewhere else ( I cant remember where) and it was comparable and standard is high.

I was here for about 10 days and the owner even took us over to Antigua for dinner. Thats a very nice gesture. I believe the hotel has a presence in Antigua and I know for sure they have a very nice resort at or close to Puerto Barrios near Rio Dulce.

Room Tip: I cannot remember which are the best sides to have a room on but the ones facing the street are a l...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dynamitecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoy your stay and also that like to spend time in Antigua.

Our hotel located in Puerto Barrios is Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, hope you have some time at the future to visit us.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here one night before catching the bus the next day to Quetzaltenango. As other reviewers note, the Clarion is located in Zone 10 clustered with several high quality hotels. I was struck by the size of my suite, which included a large, well-furnished living area, an equally large bedroom and bathroom in immaculate condition. The floors in the living and sleeping areas had a nice hardwood veneer, and the bathroom area was tiled. The king size bed was comfortable with a good supply of big fluffy pillows. At the price, this hotel is a true bargain. The bar tucked to the side off the lobby floor has somewhat the ambience of an English pub. A pleasant place for a nightcap. Only a couple of negatives, neither of which would prevent me from staying here again. As another reviewer has indicated, the bathroom towels aren't quite up to the standard set by the suite itself. Also, though the hotel website claims to provide shuttle service from the airport, when I called the hotel on my arrival at the airport I was told ghat they do not provide shuttle service. This is a rather bigger issue than the towels since hotel shuttle service relieves one of the hassle of getting a taxi. That might be a game-stopper for someone who would prefer the higher level of security that a shuttle provides. In my case, it was just a minor irritation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Received cordial greetings from our behalf, we are glad that you enjoy your stay in Guatemala.

We appreciate your comments, we will check them specially with towel service provided at suites, and also to know what happened about your request for shuttle service on your arrival, as we confirm that this service is provide for our hotel.

We send our most sincere apologies and will be glad that you give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,


Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

this is not a 5 star hotel, I would rate it 3.5. But it is well located, next to a couple of 5 star hotels, price a lot better, very clean. The towels could use an upgrade, they are somewhat rough. The breakfast is very good. Yes, I would stay there again, and spend the extra $ on good restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicatraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Received cordial greetings from our behalf.

We are very concern about your comment, we would like to know more information about your rating, if there was any inconvenience that you had during your stay we will appreciate if you can contact us in at revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com

Thank you for sharing your opinion, we look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel in Zone 10 is convenient to the airport and principal businesses. The suite was very nice and they upgraded us to the VIP package which allowed us to access the top floor dining with a beautiful view overlooking the city. The hotel is situated near other top quality hotels in Zone 10. The staff was very nice and helpful at every turn. They were able to supply an interpreter on a moments notice when we had some contract issues. When we arrived, we were able to use the ATM in the lobby to get Q's for the cab driver. The attendant was helpful in telling the cab driver what we were doing to minimize any concerns.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomM_Milw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Reveue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Excellent food, beautiful restaurant area, strategic location, Comfortable rooms, amazing view of Guatemala City, Oustanding service, a detail to improve, the hotel must to install modern lcd or Led TV.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_Retana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Reveue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Mr. Retana, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel.

We also thank you for your suggestion, we will consider it.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,087 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 49 in Guatemala City
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Guatemala

Address: 14 Street 3-08, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Suites Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Suites Hotel is located at the heart of the "Zona Viva" the commercial district of Guatemala city, near from the most important Offices, International Banks, Embassies, Organisms, Restaurants, Entertainment Center and the most exclusive Malls. It is the only hotel in Guatemala that has the ALL SUITES concept, with 172 suites of 52 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Clarion Hotel Guatemala City
Clarion Guatemala City
Guatemala City Clarion
Clarion Suites Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing