We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a *****.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at the Clarion when Westin Camino Real was booked weekend of March 28-30.
Overall, this place is a way better deal then the Camino, and with a few tweaks, it would be a five star.

Upside:

a.Clarion is in the zona viva, where you can walk during the daytime. Note: Don't carry beyond the hotel your Ipad, iPhone, or anything else you wouldn't want to surrender; Guatemala is rated one of the 20 most dangerous cities in the world. Clarion is also surrounded by 24 hour shops and restaurants. Although the Camino Real is just two blocks away, if you are dead tired at the end of the day, walking less than half a block to a restaurant or a 24 hour store, versus the two blocks from the Camino, oddly makes a difference.
b. very helpful and friendly reception and staff (I sent them email with boarding passes, by the time I made it downstairs, they were already printed out).
c. big rooms, many with views. small but serviceable flat screens. unstocked mini fridge that fits big water bottles; good beds.
d. reasonable room service. A+ service; B food, with one qualifier: The $10 breakfast is huge and worth every penny. It will keep you tanked until mid-afternoon. (fresh juice; plate of fresh fruit; scrambled eggs with bacon; toast; pot of coffee). Camino charges twice as much.
e. gym is actually decent sized (three treadmills, separate weight room; located on 17th floor, view of city while you're sweating it out). Camino Real gym is more upscale, but it's in basement and local use it for $10, which is not great when crowded.
f. ATM machine in well guarded lobby.
g. bar and restaurant are reasonable.
h. small store (water, wine, Hershey chocolates, tchotchkes) with funky hours (9-10pm week days, sometimes open weekends).
i. hotel cabs always at the ready outside, and they are spotless and reliable.
j. last but not least: It's $50 a night cheaper than the Camino Real, when you factor in the free Internet ($15 a day at Camino). My room, with taxes and internet (and free welcome drink: beer or vodka, go figure...), was $86 a night. The internet is fantastic and fast; even better, and unlike the Camino, which gouges travelers for everything they touch, the Clarion gives you a one-time password which you do not have to re-set every time you open your Mac or PC.

What would push Clarion up to *****:
a. better a/c: because the Clarion's walls, all 17 floors of them, are mostly windows, it's hot, and a/c is barely functional. Instruct cleaning staff not to turn off a/c during the day when you are out.
b. hardwood floors, while spotless, are hard, and a throwaway pair of slippers would be nice.
c. biz center is not a biz center, it's in a corner of the hotel mini-mart. Hotel needs a dedicated room for biz travelers.
d. room service is inconsistent: waiters who deliver it are wonderful, but ordering is funky: I ordered a chef salad and the guy on the phone told me it did not come with dressing. I asked if they had dressing. He told me they had oil and vinegar. I said fine. When food arrived, there was a soup cup filled with Thousand Island dressing, one part mayo to 100 parts water.
e. restaurant could use a serious facelift. It has this huge waterfall in the back that, somewhat incongruously is set in a gloomy, dark room.
f. no pool, but who has time to use it.
g. keep the store open on weekends and get a dedicated credit card machine so the cashier doesn't have to run your charge over to the front lobby.

Bottom line:

If you are looking to relax or you have kids who will live in the pool, go to the Camino or the Barceló Although, with the latter, ask yourself if you want to be in zone nine; it's dicey.The Reforma Avenue, which divides zone ten (Camino Real and Clarion) from zone nine (Barceló) is a bigger deal than it looks on Googlemaps: there is nowhere to walk in zone nine, even in the daytime, while zone ten offers options, and zone nine is dangerous. I witnessed an armed hold-up at the drive through window of the McDonald's down the street from the Barceló when I was coming in from the airport one night.

If you are looking to do business but you don't want to get gouged: Clarion.

If price is no object: The Camino, I guess, but insist on a decent room (tell them you want a pool view) or you will get one with no windows, or one directly above the disco, or one facing the a/c compressors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoy your visit in Guatemala, and also in our hotel. We would like to thank you for all the details that you have share to the tripadvisor readers.

As well as we will take your suggestions.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at the Clarion Suites, Guatemala City before our flight home from a wonderful stay in Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Guatemala. As it was a 3 hour trip from Pana to Guatemala City, we wanted the security of being near the airport the night before our trip. What a great choice the Clarion Suites was! First class all the way, from reception to the room to the restaurant, to the shuttle service to the airport! The staff were very helpful. Everything in the suite was super-clean and well-appointed. I cannot comment on the internet service as we did not carry our computer with us, but there was a computer available in the Business Centre. Kudos also to Expedia - not a glitch in the check-in or check-out. Highly recommend as your pre-flight accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keltic_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoy your visit in our country and also in our hotel. We hope to see you soon and of course that you experience to stay again with us.

It will be a pleasure to see you again.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I booked this hotel with my credit card and they paid it with another one. The hotel's staff did not tell me that the amount of the room was going to stay pending in the credit card that I used to book the room for 30 days! It doesn't matter for them if I already paid the hotel with the second credit card and that everything is perfectly fine but they don't release the credit after a month "in case something happen". Of course they don't mention this when you book your room or help you to solve this. I can't use my credit card for another month. The hotel overall is O.K, but I won't stay here again or recommend it. Just be careful when you book and pay with your credit card.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We send our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experience at our hotel.

It is very important that you contact us in order to find your case and understand what happened, in order to avoid any inconvenience in the future.

At the time we cannot solve this situation, as we don´t have more information as your nick name.

We send you an inbox directly with my phone and email.

Thank you,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the hotel during an annual visit to Guatemala City for business. The perfect business hotel in the city - excellent service, spacious/comfortable rooms, very good communications, An excellent breakfast buffet served in an airy enclosed terrace area. Rooms on their upper executive floors include use of meeting rooms/gratis coffee/tea/soft drinks through the day, Very good value for your $$$ compared to alternatives located in the immediate area. Many excellent restaurants located very nearby. Having been staying at the Clarion for 20+ years - never disappointed. Airport shuttle included.

Room Tip: A room facing the volcanoes in he distance is quite dramatic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are glad that you enjoy staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,


Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Other reviewers note large rooms and fair rates. I've spent about 20 nights here but as a business traveler I can no longer accept the poor internet service (slow, erratic). The entire staff is very good but check in/out can be slow, rooms clean but many need updates (esp. old TV's). Restaurant is only so -o. Location good but weekend nights it's a very busy, noisy, sometimes rowdy neighborhood.

Room Tip: Avoid noisy rooms facing 14th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theeggman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments and recommendations.

We will check the items that you indicates in order to improve our service.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra SAmayoa
REvenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Clarion Suites for a week in December. The rooms are very large, about twice the size of a standard hotel room. The room featured laminated floors that resembled wood and they were extremely clean. Most employees spoke English and those who didn't got us someone that could. Everyone that worked there were very pleasant from the front desk to the maids. We took day trip to Antigua and the front desk suggested hiring a taxi for the day, this was a great idea, he showed us places we would never find on our own. We did get free Wifi but it didn't work, thats OK since I wanted to get away from work for a week. We ate in the restautrant one night and the meal was very good. The breakfast buffet is a little overpriced, so we ordered room service for breakfast which worked out to be cheaper. They did arrange for a complimentary shuttle from and back to the airport, just phone them with your arrival time.
The hotel is located in a very safe area and we felt comfortable walking within about a 6-7 blocks from it. We were surprised to find a Fridays, Chili's and ever a Hard Rock within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are glad that you like our hotel and also our country.

We will share your comments to our personnel and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This Clarion Suites is in a great location and very clean. There are many places to visit that are within walking distance. The shuttle service to airport is hourly and is very convenient. This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel and will probably stay here again. The choice of breakfast foods is very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that overlook the casino as they can be VERY loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZ85603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoy staying with us.

Your comments are very important for us. Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
627 reviews
0 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,173 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Guatemala

Address: 14 Street 3-08, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: £62 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Suites Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Suites Hotel is located at the heart of the "Zona Viva" the commercial district of Guatemala city, near from the most important Offices, International Banks, Embassies, Organisms, Restaurants, Entertainment Center and the most exclusive Malls. It is the only hotel in Guatemala that has the ALL SUITES concept, with 172 suites of 52 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Suites Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Clarion Hotel Guatemala City
Clarion Guatemala City
Guatemala City Clarion
Clarion Suites Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing