We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy and lousy food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Each time, I was unable to get a good night's sleep because of the noise from the busy street next to the hotel. The windows are poorly insulated, and you would expect more from a Westin. Yes, the decor is quite beautiful and the rooms are nice, but a hotel fails on the most basic level if it doesn't allow its guests to get a good night's sleep. Additionally, I had two meals at the cafeteria and they were both absolutely awful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inbavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2010

Exquisite attention to detail, confortable, smart, best hotel staff ever!!!!

Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
Thank IciarL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

After spending a week in Puerto Barrios and been biten by a million bugs in what was supposed to be a nice hotel - we checked in the Westin. The bed truely is a heavenly bed. Nice linens and clean rooms made my two night stay wonderul.
The breakfast buffet is to die for. The best I have had as a standard buffet.
Great fitness center and had one of the best massages ever.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Smelled bad, looks dirty... Very Noisy room... Next time for sure we'll stay at the Intercontinental. Even though we were Satrwood Member they put us on the most horrible room they had at the 4th Floor!!! We complaint, but they did NOTHING! Don't let them book you at room 440!! IT'S HORRIBLE!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViajerosFYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

The hotel is located near other big hotels and a big shopping mall. During the day the neighbourhood seems safe.
The interieur of the hotel is very luxurious. The rooms are fully equipped and the beds are extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss74_ZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

After a long journey through Belize & Guatemala, it felt so great to crash at the Camino Real for a few days before heading home. The area is very safe, at all times of the day and night. The pool & hot tub are incredible, and the rooms were perfectly clean and cozy. The front desk also helped me arrange a trip to Pacaya even though they don't offer a tour directly through the hotel. I loved everything about the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flakaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed at the Westin Camino Real in Guatemala City the night before flying out of the airport. It was very convenient, as they have a free shuttle leaving on the hour, and the airport is very nearby.

The room was typical of the Westin, with the heavenly bed and other amenities. The forest green decor was a little dated for my tastes, or not contemporary in style, but not in a worn way. The lobby was grand and polished.

I found the service received at this location to be uniformly excellent. From the minute we walked in, we were greeted enthusiastically, and they were also helpful when we called the Service Express desk with a question and in taking bags up to our room. All of the employees we encountered spoke very good English. It also seemed like they genuinely cared whether we were enjoying our stay.

The hotel includes a surprisingly reasonably priced Italian restaurant, where we also received excellent, attentive service.

I am surprised by the comments about the area of the hotel. We decided that Guatemala City is simply not a very pedestrian-friendly city, but the hotel was in what appeared to be a safe area. We were accosted by one person trying to sell things in front of the hotel, but there were certainly no noticeable prostitutes, as one of the reviewers mentioned. The hotel is within easy walking distance of a mall, where we had a snack and went to a movie, and it would also be within walking distance of some museums and a zoo. These were not open on Mondays, however.

In line with an unfortunate trend at a lot of nice hotels, this one had a huge basket of overpriced "minibar" items, including an ethernet cable, which one would think to be available for borrowing.

The hotel had good satellite cable with many channels available.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClevelandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
602 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Camino Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Camino Real Guatemala

Address: Calle Camino Real 0-20, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#11 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: £106 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Camino Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Camino Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Camino Real Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Guatemala City
Guatemala City Westin
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing