We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barcelo Guatemala City
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very good five star hotel: efficiant check-in and check-out, room is well equiped and in a very good condition, breakfast is very nice. There are also many restaurants within a five minutes walk if you prefer to go out.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bldavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and share your experience in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel, its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guests. This will help us to keep our high service standards.

We hope to see you really soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    522
    122
    45
    33
See reviews for
173
306
132
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I went in January thinking a long way south of the US meant warm (hot?) weather so I booked in January. The price was right, well below any Barcelo hotel I had ever heard of. The hotel is wonderful. However the weather was cool (65f) most days but the hotel pool was below street level and on the sunny side. Everyday I could get 2-3 hrs of sun in the warm air of the pool atea. The pool was heated and they have a large hot tub next to it. This is an old hotel in perfect condition and had more grandeur than any other I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Any room close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.

We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Guatemala City at the end of October as part of a Caravan tour. Because we arrived a day early, we had to arrange our own transportation to the hotel, but that was not a problem since Barcelo offers a free shuttle from the airport. I had emailed the hotel with my flight info, asking where to find the shuttle since we weren't arriving until 9:30 at night. It was easy. We came outside, looked to the left and saw the white vans, and realized someone was standing in front of one of the vans with a Barcelo sign.

The staff was great, very helpful, and very patient with us when we had trouble getting our key cards to allow us entry into the pool area. The pool is heated and we used it every day.

The room was an average size, clean, and the balcony overlooked the street with the volcano range in the distance. We were not disturbed by street noise but we were on the 9th floor. There were a lot of amenities, including robes and slippers. Security is tight with manned gates to the parking lot and a key card needed on the elevator before the floor number can be pressed. The breakfast and dinner buffets were great, lots of choices, but as some have said, the food in Strikers was not very good. We enjoyed eating our buffet meals in the covered area next to the pool. If you wanted fast food, a McDonald's was right next door, plus nearby were a KFC and Pizza Hut, and a Burger King.

We walked about two blocks to the supermarket to buy water before our tour started since it was cheaper than at the hotel. It was easy to find. We asked at the front desk, they gave us a map, and showed us how to get there. We were very pleased with the hotel and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations.

We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzaltenango
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Beyond any doubt an outstanding stay even without taking advantage of many of the services offered. Good location near to the airport, shopping center and many embassies. Highly recommended - I will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and share your experience in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel, its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guests. This will help us to keep our high service standards.

We hope to see you really soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Barceló Guatemala City holds the best hotel gym I have ever seen. It has a complete set of aerobics and weightlifting apparel. They are brand new and working in perfect condition. Also, the hotel is conveniently located in an accessible zone and next to restaurants, if you do not feel like eating inside. Great value on the cost/benefit side.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmami2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antlers, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Very convenient being close to the airport. In hotel restaurant serves up a great meal. Gave it a 4 instead of 5 due to the beds could have been more comfortable plus had an issue connecting to the wifi. I would definitely recommend and/or return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbattsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloManager, Channel Manager at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities. Your comments will help us to keep improving our service standards. In order to exceed all your expectations in future stays.

We hope to see you soon in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Maybe a bit dated and ugly from the outside but with a nice pool, well appointed rooms, parking and free airport shuttle + great breakfast within walking distance from all of Zone 9 and 10. Generic large hotel experience done well.

Room Tip: The West tower is older and rooms are smaller with less amenities (but still pretty good) but has su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloManager, Director Comercial at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and staff. Its always motivating receive such appreciations from our guest. This will helpfull to us to keep our high service standards. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.3 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Property: Barcelo Guatemala City
Address: 7 Avenida 15-45 | Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 397 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Guatemala City Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing