We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to airport, convenient”
Review of Hotel Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas
Ranked #4 of 52 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Frisco, texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, close to airport, convenient”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Nice hotel, got no upgrade but got access to the Club lounge for continental breakfast and happy hour drinks and snacks (being Platinum member). Hotel and staff are great; shuttle service to the airport. Only problem is that I did not find any restaurants close by except fast food (Pollo Campero, Mc Donalds, taco bell etc). Parking was free underground if you are staying there (make sure you get he pass from the front desk). Conveniently close tot eh airport; in fact you can see the runway from the room (see pic)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    155
    82
    42
    31
See reviews for
66
65
39
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is my second time staying at this property. (My first time, about a year ago, I booked a basic room). This time, I spent the extra money for the top-tier "Executive Suite" on the 9th floor. I actually paid for this, rather than anticipate an upgrade based on Platinum Priority Club status.

Big mistake.

The Executive King simply a basic room on a higher floor, at 25% higher price. Upon arrival, I found the room to consist of a bed, a TV, and two nightstands. No desk. No chair. No minibar. No sofabed. No seperate living room....all of which are promised on the hotel's own website when booking the room.

"Wait a minute...did he say no desk or CHAIR?!"
Why yes....yes he did.

Now I spend quite a bit of time (read: money) in IHG hotels. I generally get upgraded to the nicest room available. Not being a snob; it's just a loyalty thing. So I was a little surprised when I found myself paying for the nicest room in the hotel and not even having a place to sit and work. So I walked back down to the front counter and suggested a change of rooms.
"Nope. All rooms are the same and we are fully booked." Later, it was quite obvious they were far from fully booked...as I was one of only 7 guests on the 9th floor...and all rooms are certainly not the same. (I did some snooping.).
I eventually manage to talk them into bringing a desk and chair to my room (910).
Hooray...a chair. My executive suite was beginning to approach the standard of a $39/night Motel 6 room.

The bed was comfortable, though the linens were very low quality and quite scratchy. Lots of pillows, which is always nice. The semi-functional air conditioning unit was very loud and left the floor in front of the window soaked with water...so I just left it off and opened the tiny windows after the first night. I enjoy the sound of airplanes and the weather was cool, so it wasn't an issue for me. Others might find that unbearable.

The maid was great and kept the room spotless. She even noticed a collection of dirty laundry I had accumulated and left a bag and laundry order form on my bed. Although I didn't use it, it was clear she paid attention to her work. Tip your maids, people.

The room aside, the rest of the hotel is quite nice. Lovely pool. Breakfast was good, albeit expensive ($20, or $18 if paid in advance). The 'executive lounge' was inviting although completely bare 90% of the time. The host was very friendly and helpful when present. It will not be staffed or stocked on Sundays or holidays. So don't count on it for breakfast.

Most of the customer-facing personnel spoke English, and the hotel services directory and room service menu was also Spanish and English. The airport shuttle to and from the airport was on time every time, and begins running at 4AM and every 30 minutes.

Lots to eat within easy walking distance, from fast food to high-end fine dining. Always be careful when walking alone...but as far as major Central/South American cities go, the Crowne is in one of the safer neighborhoods. Much better than Caracas or Mexico City. There's a pharmacy, liquor store, bakery and several cafes within two minute's walk, as well as Taco Bell, Burger King and Pollo Campero.

That said, my next trip to GUA will probably be at the InterContinental or a Marriott property. I wouldn't have a gripe if I had booked a basic room at a discounted price. But don't book anything above the cheapest rate; anything above basic simply isn't good value here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airmotive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time and was very impressed. We used our points and they recognized that it was platinum and moved us to the executive suite. Compared to hotels in the US it could use a little updating on a few things, but overall it was great. The Internet service was a bit slow but compared to every other connection around it was very good. The breakfast buffet was AMAZING! Greatly incorporated to suit a diverse cultures while still providing the typical Guatemalan cuisine. The juices (celery, orange, mango, guava, etc.) were all natural and appeared freshly squeezed. The buffet breakfast was a little pricy at a whopping $19 per person, unless you got a special which we did. They were very willing to work with us. The customer service was great! Caleb Flores from Guest Services helped us several times. He always had a smile and was very patient, as were 99% of the other employees we encountered. The hotel always appeared very clean and our room was nicely cleaned every time. We stayed about 12 nights or so. It was a little noisy on Friday night since the music was playing down at the bar but otherwise every other time we had no problem with the noise even when there was a full house. We travel often and most of the time we stay at Holiday Inn Suites since we use our points and I must say that Crowne Plaza of Guatemala is by far much better on almost every level (even to the toiletries that are provided). They are on the same chain, but definitely not on the same level. Muchas Gracias Crowne Plaza for making my stay a memorable one!:)

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view of the city. If staying on a Friday night ask for a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
368 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel before, good location. The noise from the airport is mimimal to my opinion. Breafast is good, especially the egg station. One down side: the bathroom is really small (stayed at the 8th level). Also, the shower head was leaking and detailing is in need of an update. The beds are good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteruga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here at the beginning and end of our Guatemala trip. Had paid for a "quiet" room and had to do battle to actually get one. Ended up on the executive floor the first night and on a completely unoccupied floor the last night! Buffet breakfast was excellent. Location good, near airport, can walk to supermarket. Rooms had good water pressure and air conditioning. Ask for the airport side for excellent sunset views.

Room Tip: Ask for the airport side for excellent sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Nice hotel, old-style decoration. A Casino, a bar and excellent food might turn the staying very pleasant. The gym is great and even thogh I haven't tried, the spa seemed Nice. There's not much option aroud, just fast foods. However the hotel food, especially pasta, is great! Internet on the room was not very good as wifi signal wasn't very high.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSC-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I spent two nights here last month on free Pointbreaks. I enjoyed the hotel. They had a great complimentary breakfast for members. There was a pool, but I didn't see anyone in it. Free business center with four computers. Staff was very helpful overall, and rooms were great. We walked to Zona 10, which wasn't a bad walk and felt safe overall during the day. I did have a hard time getting in contact with the hotel via email, and I did need to ask at the airport about where to find the shuttle. Besides those two points, I was happy.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank boddicker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
1,387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 48 in Guatemala City
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 48 in Guatemala City
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas

Property: Hotel Las Americas
Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 kms. From La Aurora International Airport and very close to the main commercial and financial area of ​​the country. It offers 183 comfortable rooms, Gym, Heated swimming pool, Spa, Restaurant of Local and International food, Bar, Internet without cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Hotel Las Americas Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing