We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas
Ranked #4 of 53 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The personal service is great but the hotel is very old and the room carpet smells as wet. I request a room change and they gave me a room with out a desk were I could work, even though it wa in the Club floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavierLC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala. I am pleased you did like the service staff. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thanks for your feedback about your last experience at our hotel, it's so important for our team receive your comments. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.

Please, don't hesitate to contact me if you need something else. I'Welcome to your home, we hope see you here again!


Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manger/
Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    151
    80
    42
    31
See reviews for
63
63
38
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala Department, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have 3 years going to this hotel and it's really comfortable, clean and secure. All the employes are friendly, the breakfast buffet is amazing, have all kind of food. Good location nearest of mall and the "zonal viva" where you find bars and many restaurants. Very recommended. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evega82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala. I am pleased you did like the service staff and our food. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thanks for your feedback about your last experience at our hotel, it's so important for our team receive your comments.. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.

Please, don't hesitate to contact me if you need something else. I'Welcome to your home, we hope see you here again!


Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manger/
Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed in here 4 days, and one more night when I am back from Antigua.

It is in zona 13: good location, there are restaurants around the hotel, and It is close to the airport...

The stuff was friendly and helpful. The buffet was not bad at all.The glass elevator is interesting with city view. There is a nice gym at the top with view of airport and volcano view. The pool isn't much, the rooms are fine, but the view is great.

The hotel needs a facelift for sure, but over all, I was comfortable to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level rooms with Volcano view....I stayed room # 511.I had outstanding view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala. I am pleased you did like the service staff and our food. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope you come back at your home!


Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/
Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The good: Cool glass elevator with city view, gym at the top with view of airport, reasonable price.

The bad: average location, pool isnt much, the rooms are just OK, and the place needs a facelift.

The Barcelo is about the same price and condition, but with better location and an excellent pool and hot tub. If im on a budget, the Barcelo is better value for the $80/night-ish hotels in Guatemala City.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear that you liked our glass elevator and fitness facility. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments will help us improve our service and offer a great experience for our guest

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The building the facilities are getting old. In my opinion is the worst hotel in the group of the up class hotels in the Guatemala City. The price is too high for the current quality of the hotel. I would repeat only if I had any other option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manquehue_1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,

Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I think we were ripped off here. After being lost in the mountains for hours and abandoning our booked hotel plans at midnight, our family of 4 was happy to see a large American chain hotel. HOWEVER, we were told they only allow three people to a room and had to pay for two rooms. Suspiciously each room had two queen beds. Hmm. We were too exhausted to question it. Ugly hotel without even a shred of Latin American flavor. Nice 1pm checkout, and close to the airport, anyway.

Room Tip: Old box TV's. Ask for one with a flat screen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puff-thaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,

Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel we were received with full attention, registration was ready and were informed that I would be receiving a sack breakfast as I needed to depart earlier than the restaurant kitchen would be open. Sure enough, I received my 4 am wake-up call, picked up my breakfast and off to the airport. Room was exquisite, clean and the view was great.

Room Tip: a room with a view to the main street, there is a park in front, good for a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Hotel Las Americas, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly.


Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.9 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas

Property: Hotel Las Americas
Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 3 kms. From La Aurora International Airport and very close to the main commercial and financial area of ​​the country. It offers 183 comfortable rooms, Gym, Heated swimming pool, Spa, Restaurant of Local and International food, Bar, Internet without cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Hotel Las Americas Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing