We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for Guatemala City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good option for Guatemala City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We only spent one night at this hotel the night before our flight home. It is some distance from the main part of the city, which in my opinion, is a good thing. Be aware that you won’t be able to walk anywhere from the hotel.

The hotel is very nice and the room was comfortable. One weird thing is they didn’t take our credit card on check-in so we were unable to charge anything to our room. I told the waiter at lunch that we hadn’t registered our credit card with the front desk and he seemed to understand but had my husband sign the check anyway. Then when we started to leave, he ran after us and made us produce a credit card. That was a trifle embarrassing and shouldn’t have happened.

The hotel has a very nice gym which is great because there isn’t a lot else to do.

This hotel is probably one of the better options in Guatemala City.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistaRealGuatemala, E-marketing at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Good day to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, your opinion is important.
We appreciate your time we hope to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    112
    28
    26
    18
See reviews for
95
106
29
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here for a business trip in March 2013.

The hotel is very beautiful, boasting great architecture and decorating. There's only 1 restaurant on the property, but it's pretty good. The bar is adequate, but I was the only customer they had the nights I was in town. I had a ground level room near the waterfall, which was wonderful. There is absolutely ZERO street/city noise in that area. The room is well appointed (as nice as one of the Ritz Carleton's) and extremely clean. This was the best sleep of my trip.

The location is a little off because it's located between major highways with no sidewalk, but this is Guatemala City..... You shouldn't be walking anyway, unless you have a death wish.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at a room off the main hall. I was in the "pod", on the ground floor, near the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasonOrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistaRealGuatemala, E-marketing at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Good day to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, your opinion is important.
We appreciate your time we hope to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was my first time in Guatemala City. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was spacious and very tastefully decorated. We slept well in the comfortable bed with firm mattress, soft linens, and warm duvet. The service was excellent in the restaurant and front desk--everyone was friendly and accommodating. The hotel drivers were excellent and were able to get us to where we needed to be even though we did not speak the language. The breakfasts were wonderful with lots of options including an omelet station. I have never had refried black beans with breakfast, but they were very good! Very nice stay! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbstfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We visited Guatemala in December 2012, we could not find our resort because we don't speak Spanish and there wasn't any clear signs of roads or highways. After few hours of driving around, we decided to go to a hotel to spend the night in order to resume our search the following day. We found this hotel, it looks very nice and safe, the staff speak English, the rooms are very well decorated and very clean, the hallway is lit with candles they have a water fall with a nice little pond full of colored fish. Their breakfast was so nice and the dining room is very elegant, their was a live pianist and a clown to entertain the kids. we loved this hotel and wished to spend the whole vacation there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wahyabooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Our family stayed here for several days and loved it. The staff were beautiful and so kind to us. We were not sure what to expect coming from the USA with an average spanish vocabulary.

They provided a crib for our baby and such great service. The food was outstanding. We nearly ate every meal in the hotel so we basically tried the whole menu.

The hotel lacked amenities but made up for it with service and smiles.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holaratcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayton ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Certainly were not disappointed at this hotel! Very attentive staff and accommodated our shuttle to/from the airport without a hitch. We stayed here in a quiet room overlooking the lovely gardens. So romantic at night as they set out candles for the walkway in order to pass from the lobby to the tower hotel room area. Large room setting and a very large bathroom. And a note in each room posted that the tap water is actually treated, so it was safe to drink!
The bedding was so comfortable with one of the best ever pillow top surfaces and lovely soft linens. Colonial architecture and similar feeling as when staying in a Spanish Parador setting.
The restaurant was wonderful for breakfasts and lunch or dinner and the Sunday buffet was outstanding!
Certainly I will no longer arrive at the airport and think I must go immediately to Antigua! Come here and relax; everything you need is here! It is also an easy taxi ride to other areas of the city should you want to go to another zone event

Room Tip: Ask for a room 'away' from the restaurant area on the weekend as the receptions and parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

ups:
- quiet, lush, natural environment ideal for relaxing after a hectic day in this city
- old colonial charm and style, but with all the mod cons installed for business as well as pleasure
- very attentive service with a smile
- great breakfast

ok's
- the location is only slightly removed from the city centre, but this is actually a plus for your peace and quiet.
- price is right, not cheap but worth it.

conclusion: i will return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
2.7 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Property: Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Address: Km.9 Carretera a El Salvador, Guatemala City 01015, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vista Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala City
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing