We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good business hotel, centrally located”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

It was my first visit to Guatemala, so we didn't know what quite to expect. Intercon turned out to be a good choice, with an attractive rate that includes a varied spread at buffet breakfast. Some parts of the hotel could have been a bit more updated (e.g. musty carpet), but all in all, it is a good service hotel. Hotel taxis were reasonable too, and safe. The hotel itself has several restaurants: we tried "Cafe de la Paix", which had decent international food (they call it French, but it's really more international feel). It is walking distance to many good restaurants, including Fontabella which has a cluster of restaurants/ cafes. Staff were very friendly and gave us a very good USD/Guatemala Quetzal rate. Which brings me to the point: DO NOT CHANGE YOUR USD AT THE GUATEMALA AIRPORT EXCHANGE/ CAMBIO. I'm not sure if I was allowed to change because I was a guest at the Intercon, but the airport exchange rate was a rip off.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear "Travel-bitten-shark"
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel.
It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard,
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.
For the Cafe de la Paix you are right. This restaurant is living his last days as we are going in 2 months to renovate it and change completly the concept. But it is a surprise! I cannot tell you yet!
Regarding the changing rate in the airport, we know about it and did inform the Tourist Office of Guatemala. We are waiting for their answer or action...
Looking forward to welcome you again for your next trip to Guatemala city.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    261
    63
    24
    22
See reviews for
127
104
52
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here for a business trip. The hotel was very close to the airport and had a regular shuttle. There were some very good restaurants within walking distance and the restaurants in the hotel were also very good. The breakfast was outstanding with an amazing selection of fresh fruit and pastries.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airforcefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel and sorry for answering you a bit late!

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will put your review on our staff board information as it is really a strong motivation for all of us to keep our efford giving to our guest an great experience during their stay with us

Looking forward to welcome you again in Guatemala

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was my first time in Guatemala and traveling for business. My customers are located on the Aurora airport so I wanted a hotel near the airport so they recommended the Intercontinental. This hotel is very close to the airport and they have a shuttle that is available every hour. They also coordinated a personal taxi that charged by the hour and it was very convinient and the drive was very pleasant. We had a 4 hour break between some scheduled training sessions and the driver took us to the outdoor market and we did some great shopping! Loved it! The rooms are clean and the price is very reasonable. They also offered us the "upsell" for $20.00 and included wi-fi and the breakfast buffet, which was fantastic and a huge selection. Yummy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Mr Stadler
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard,
Even if the outside taxis do not belong to the hotel, we are always training them in order for them to give a good service to our guests.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City Kind regards
Pierre Berthier General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you want to have a nice stay in Guatemala you should stay in this hotel, its really nice, clean, all the staff is nice, they are always smiling, they make you feel like home. Thanks to all the people who work in this hotel, it make me feel like home.

Room Tip: Choose the 9 floor with City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmartinez777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Mr. Martinez
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel.
It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard,
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I spent more then 1 month here on business and can highly recommend the Intercontinental. Overall, the hotel is what you would come to expect from an InterContinental property. The room was comfortably decorated, creating a very relaxing atmosphere. All the staff we encountered were attentive and always cheerful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and frequently updated with fresh supplies. Helpful staff, always greet and ask how was my day! Breakfast is excellent - much choice!

There was only one little complain, the swimming pool probably a bit small.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klein_carmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear "Dehetoxic"
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard,
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City Kind regards
Pierre Berthier General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I went to Guatemala City for a work trip and the client put me in this hotel. The lobby is very open and pleasant and the front desk spoke very good English to me when I needed anything.

The room was a large and open with a nice bathroom as well. The in house Internet was fast with a daily option or a weekly option for purchase.

One warning... there is no complimetary water offered to guests. With the clean water issue, I had to make sure I bought water out and then brought it back to the room.

I will stay at this hotel if I am asked to return to Guatemala.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear "Texasscout"
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard.
Your comments regarding our front office staff is very pleasant and I am happy to notice that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass over your comment to the Front Office Supervisor.
I understant your point of vue for the free bottle of water, We do have this service gratis for the guests who possess the "Ambassador" card which can be baught in any Intercontinental Hotel.
Looking forward of perhaps welcoming you again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Although I do not usually stay at 5 star hotels, due to the cost, I am here with a group so I get to experience it. This hotel staff can not do enough for you. Very professional and extremely friendly. Most speak English, however they allow me to try out my basic Spanish skills with much helpfulness on their part.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Marylou
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard.
Your comments regarding our staff is very pleasant and I am happy to notice that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We know that we are a bit more expensive than some other hotels from the city, that's why we are giving what we call in Intercontinental Hotels this "extra mile" for our guests and want them to have a great experience with us.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing