We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Well located and close to a variety of restaurants, free wifi everywhere, good breakfast spot, warm and nice pool, good gym and really good good beds, they were really comfortable. If you need to use computers you have to pay for them, that's the only thumb down, considering it is a business class hotel. The staff was kind and nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Mrs. Patricia M, thank you very much for your great comments about our location, our facilities, our confortable beds and our best, the attitud of our staff.

Thank you very much again for your great comments,

Best regards from Real Intercontinental Guatemala,

William Rodas
Quality Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    264
    67
    24
    23
See reviews for
133
108
53
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We moved from the poor Vista Real Hotel in Guatemala City to the Intercontinental, which for a start is in a good central location in Guatemala City. Prepare yourselves for gridlocked traffic at times in the centre of Guatemala City. The Intercontinental has good friendly and responsive staff, well equipped hotel with dozens of bars and restaurants nearby

The room service food was particularly good, quick and prompt. Hotel is secure and rooms comfortable and reasonably spacious. Not much of a view but it is not a scenic resort style place. Laundry delivered right on time, no nonsense.

Some negatives air conditioning did not work despite 3 engineer visits. I could live with this - an alternate room was offered. May be more problematic at certain times of year.

The hotel was undergoing renovations while we were there, not ideal but no early or late noise and this issue did not detract much

Intercontinental may lack "local boutique charm" but it is a good big brand hotel, well run and well situated. The usual suspects trying to sell flutes and trinkets right outside the door of the hotel (who wants to buy a flute in the street anyway?) but this was no issue and you can come and go and depart and arrive unhindered.

If you are staying in the city and want a decent hotel the Intercontinental is good. Prices are on the high side but not ridiculous


Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Mr. Stephen H. On behalf of the staff of Real InterContinental Guatemala, I thank you very much your time to feed us back. We appreciate your comments posted on TripAdvisor regarding about the good attitude and service of our staff, however we appologize for the inconveniences with the malfunctioning of air conditioning and the noises because of the construccion. The issue with the air conditioning is already solved. The noises of the contruction will finish in the firsts days of the next year when our New The Market Restaurant and tha Maya Loung are opened. They will give a world wide class service.
My apologize again Mr. Stephen H.

I am at your disposition,

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

For business purposes, this hotel is ready to cover all of your needs.
Well located, it has the standard commodities that business travelers come to expect.
My stay was pleasant and I will book again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Appreciated Mr. Christian R, on behalf of the staff of Real InterContinental Guatemala Hotel, you have posted invaluable comments of our prefered location in Guatemala City. Your comments are an excellent motivating words.
Mr. Christina R., I appreciate your comments and I am at your disposition,


Best Regards,
William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at Real Inter-Continental mid October 2013. Hotel is very nice, typical InterContinental; modern, clean, friendly. My room was upgraded since I am an IHG Ambassador which provided me with complimentary fruit and additional bottles of water in my room. View was of the pool which was not very exciting, but from what I was told all the views were mediocre.

Hotel staff were exceptional! Most staff were very informative, polite and friendly. Specifically Ruth at the concierge desk and Omar who is part of the Banquet services.

Breakfast at the Picasso was okay, typical hotel feast, but was good.

Tours - Martin Tours located in the hotel was great. I would HIGHLY recommend Wilmer for a tour to Antigua. His English is great and he is very knowledgeable. Made for an unforgettable trip.

Overall, Real InterContinental was a great hotel and I would stay here if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Request the hotel's taxi, rate is US$8.00 from airport to hotel but you need to reserve prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Mr. KMALS thank you very much for you great comments recently posted on TripAdvisor they encourage us to give always an even more and better service. Our friendly and well trained staff will feel motivated when they read your motivating words. It is nice to read that we did good in the way we treat you as an Ambassador Member.
Thank you again Mr. KMALS, all of our staff and their best attitude will be at your disposition if you honor us with your visit in a near future.

Best regards

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My first trip to Guatemala and I was both impressed and intrigued. The hotel is right in the zona 10 area which according to my business partners in the country is very very safe. We walked around at night and felt very secure and safe even after 10 PM.
There are plenty of very good restaurants that are walking distance, plenty of shops (a bit high priced but you can bargin for sure) and interesting sites.
Our room was nicely appointed, very clean and even had great American TV channels as we wanted to see baseball and football. The only thing that was sub standard was the whole shower deal. low water pressure and the drain was horrible.
Staff was very helpful and offered many suggestions on where to eat and great can't miss sights to see.
I was there for work but my friend who went with me was able to enjoy the pool which was very nice and the workout room while small was in good shape and had all the basics.
I did not get to try any of the restaurants in this location but they looked nice. So overall I would say it was a very good choice and super cheap for this level of hotel. We paid $170 per night for a beautiful King with free wifi (signal was a bit weak in some places but not bad).
At the end of the day I would chose this place again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as you can see the city and views of the mountains that are all around. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Mr. RFAD thank you very much for your motivating comments recently posted on TripdAdvisor, about our excellent location, surrounding areas and other excellent services and facilities. Your comments make us feel proud.
Regarding the water pressure in our room shower, I gladly inform you we are working very hard in the replacement of our plumbing system. We are also in a constant checking of our drainage system in order to guarantee you to have very relaxing shower moments.

We will feel very proud during your next visit to serve you with the highest level of service.

Best regards from Hotel Real Intercontinental Guatemala

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The service was good. Small issues with the room were dealt with efficiently and well. Spacious. We had a multi-day meeting there and the team did a fine job with set up and all of our requests. The food is good as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear kiwi400, It is a real pleasure for all the staff to receive your recent comments, they encourage us to serve even better, we are glad that we met your expectations during the days of your meetings. We also feel satisfied of your food experience, this will motivate our kitchen staff.

We will be honored if you visit us again in a near future, we will treat you with the highest quality of service.
Anything you need, I will be glad to assist you.

Best regards,


William Rodas
Quality Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very friendly staff, great location, with very good options to eat in house. Across the street you'll find a couple of clubs for a drink after work, with customers or leisure. The hotel also offers in room massages for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The 15th floor is where the executive lounge is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LATAM_TIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Mr. LATAM_TIPS , Thank you very much for your recent comments, they motivate us to work even harder to get a higher level of service. Our privileged location and excellent service of our staff will wait for you.

Will be an honor to receive you in your next visit to our hotel Guatemala City.

Best Regards,

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
717 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
424 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing