We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Intercontinental March 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real Intercontinental March 2014”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very nice accommodations. Staff very attentive to helping in any way possible. Excellent work out room on 5th floor with nice view. Included pool and hot tube, towels and energy drink. Safe area with several restaurants in hotel and nearby. Breakfast in the hotel if included in your rate was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JOE1949B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest:

We are very grateful for your valuable comments especially about the service of our staff and facilities. We are happy you were able to appreciate our recently renovated gym that perfectly matches with our outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi located in the 5th floor, hopefully in your future visit you will be able to enjoy our new SPA.

Once again thank you very much for your review, it will be my pleasure to help and assist you personally in your next visit to our hotel.

We look forward to receive you soon,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Hotel Real InterContinental Guatemala
Nelson.dlima@R-HR.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    272
    70
    26
    23
See reviews for
139
111
55
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel over 15 times but I think the service at the local prison is better than what is in the Japanese Resteraunt. We waited 25 minutes to order and another 35 for cold entrees and food that taste like it came from the local lake. We waited for our main dishes but then we were told by the manager that we didn't order any We walked out. Ohhhh and they didn't even notice. Perhaps an IQ check of the staff might be in order. The saviors of the night were the helpful waitresses at the bar in the lobby who were able to get food for us at the other Resteraunt in the hotel. My tip go to the new renovated great bar enjoy the atmosphere and great service and order your food there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience in our Tanoshi restaurant, this will definitely help us to improve our logistic and service quality in our restaurants and bar.

We extended our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you encountered due to delay service, I can assure you this is not our service philosophy or standard, I also guarantee that we will take immediate actions in order to improve and provide the quality of service our customers deserve. On the other hand it’s good to read that our recently and renovated bar and its staff satisfied your expectations.

We look forward for your next visit so we can make up for this situation and hopefully I will have the pleasure to meet and assist you in person.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Hotel Real InterContinental Guatemala
Nelson.dlima@R-HR.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Awesome staff service, got way more than what I paid for. I celebrated my one year anniversary with my husband. The hotel granted us an unforgettable weekend. Both my husband and I were exceptionally pampered. The suite was crisp clean. The food was very good, we enjoyed the sushi restaurant, The Market restaurant where everything was so fresh and the Saint-Honoré café was very romantic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameg707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your fine review, it is was our pleasure to serve you and make you feel pampered. It is also good to know that your one year anniversary was extraordinary.

We are also happy to hear about the quality of our suites, the food in the Tanoshii, Saint Honore and The Market Restaurants. We will enjoy to serve you gain during your next visit to our hotel and let us pamper you again and your love ones.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Hotel Real InterContinental Guatemala
Nelson.dlima@R-HR.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Been at this hotel many times and is always top of the line, great personalized service, very reasonable price, 100% recommended., they just updated the lobby bar, and Market restaurant, with a nice elegant touch..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luisperez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mr. Perez:

Thank you so much for choosing us as your first option during your business travels to Guatemala, it is good to know that the personalized service of our staff and prices of our products have exceeded your expectations. It is also nice to read that you liked our new Maya Lounge Bar and The Market Restaurant, being so, our effort to give more and better options has been worthy.

Mr. LuisPerez, we look forward to another visit from you to our hotel in a near future so you can enjoy our freshly remodeled Gym and Spa.

I remain at your service for whatever you might need in your future stays.

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Hotel Real InterContinental Guatemala
Nelson.dlima@R-HR.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel is very nice, well located, staff is very friendly (this is really a differentiator!). I always use them when going to Guatemala. Shuttle available from/to airport. The only point I see could be improved is related to the restaurants: food is very good but there should be more options in the menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CK-Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your great comments and valuable feedback recently posted, our privileged location and friendly staff makes us the Place to Be. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding more options in the menu which we have taken into deep consideration and have implemented the most varied menu you might find in our Build your own concept restaurant The Market were you can create your own menu or choose from the wide variety from our Chef´s recommendation, we also have available our Japanese restaurant Tanoshi, Mediterranean cuisine Picasso and our Saint Honoré Restaurant

We look forward to receive you soon,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Hotel Real InterContinental Guatemala
Nelson.dlima@R-HR.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenonah, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed at the Real Intercontinental before and this was my third stay with them. The location is great with many dining and shopping options within a short walk. The hotel is clean, though mid-renovations. The front desk staff is exceedingly friendly, very willing to assist with anything from dinner suggestions to the normal currency exchange etc. My 5th floor room had a somewhat awkward view of the side of the gym but given the little time I spent in it, that was not an issue. My housekeeper was fantastic in tidying up, especially given that I left a trail of clutter on most surfaces through the week. I had lunch in the sushi restaurant - spicy tuna rolls - and it was very good and very fresh. One night I ate alone in Picasso's - goat cheese salad, a margherita pizza, and a couple of Gallo. The food here was also very good. Given my non-existent Spanish, I really appreciated the patience of Oscar my waiter and his attentiveness was great which is always appreciated when dining alone. I was really impressed that Oscar offered to grate fresh parmesan cheese over my pizza, as that is my preference but I would not have requested it to avoid some awkward communication. Finally, the new gym facility was really nice and one of the best equipped I have experienced in a while.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mr. Todd, thank you so much for your great review, we really appreciate it, it´s good to know that all your expectations were exceeded even during our renovation process.

We are glad you were able to enjoy our privileged location. One of the main reasons why your experience was great is that we love our job, we work in team as a family and with passion, therefor this is reflected as you well mention in friendly front desk staff, attentive waiters, passionate chefs and careful housekeepers.

Thank you so much for staying with us and hopefully during your next visit can exercise again in our renovated gym and enjoy our new SPA.

I will feel privileged to serve and assist you personally,

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Hotel Real InterContinental Guatemala
Nelson.dlima@R-HR.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

i found this hotel very clean with comfortable beds & pillows. (there's even a pillow menu!) excellent service. good food for breakfast (not so much at the sushi restaurant). free shuttle to the airport is nice. very safe as you need to use your room key to use the elevator.

tip for guatemala city: it is true that you should not take out your cell phone on the street or even when riding in a vehicle. wait until you get to your destination. better to be safe than sorry.

also, every place delivers food - even mcdonald's!

Room Tip: i was on 7th floor with 2 queen beds. my room had separate shower from the tub. other people were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your valuable feedback, we value that you made us part of your business and that you enjoy our staff, services, food and stay. Even though as you well mention our country can have some security issues we have taken special attention to provide a safe ambiance in our premises and the appropriate environment that characterizes us as The Place to Be!

We look forward to receive you again,
Have a wonderful week!!
Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Hotel Real InterContinental Guatemala
Nelson.dlima@R-HR.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing