We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

From the moment I arrived, until the moment I departed . . . all was fabulous. The service from the front desk was extraordinary. The front desk supervisor was simply the best. My only negative comment: for some reason I had a difficult time connecting to the Internet (of course the tech person was happy to help resolve the problem), once connected . . . the speed was nearly the same as home. Helpful for work. I'll be back . . .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Customer:

We are very grateful for your comment about your recent visit to our hotel. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed your entire experience specially form our front desk and supervisor. I assure you they will receive that appropriate recognition for their effort. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered due to difficulty with connection to Internet, I´m glad to inform you that we are currently in the process of improvement of Internet quality and speed which we hope you can enjoy in your future visits.

We look forward to receive you very soon.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    258
    61
    23
    22
See reviews for
125
102
52
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Marvellous service received from hotel personnel! Very nice rooms! Great restaurants with a number of dining choices! Thos hotel is a must if visiting Guatemala for pleasure or business. The hotel is located within a safe zone.

Room Tip: Very good location, great service and restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaimeFA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind review about your recent stay in your home away from home. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your Best Rest. As you well mention we have taken special care to make sure to provide a wide variety of dining choices to choose from in the safest environment.

We hope to have the pleasure to serve you very soon.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is very good; but Service is out of this World; they are always willing to help. I forgot some clothes in my room and they were very efficient handling the return and making sure to keep me informed at all times. The Concierge of this Hotel is something else. I've been a member of this network for over 20 years and have stayed in different parts of the world; however never being more comfortable; they are doing something good in Guate!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiguelAbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Customer:

Thank you so much for your recent stay and for taking the time to write such a nice review about your experience. We are very happy about your appreciation of our services especially from our Concierge, I will make sure they receive the appropriate recognition for their job.

We look forward to receive you very soon.

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The service was fantastic, the lobby is beautiful! I was upgraded to the ambassador floor and loved the big room with the separate shower. My only comment is the food and service at the Market and Picasso. The service at the market is mediocre at best. This may be because the restaurant is new, but either way, we waited very long every time for coffee refills and our check. Picasso, the service was a little better, but the food not so good. The salad was drowning in dressing and the desert drowning in syrup. There are fantastic restaurants right across the street in 2 directions, i would recommend staying at the Intercontinental and eating out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jildac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Customer:

We are very grateful for your review about your recent stay in your home away from home. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our services, recently renovated Lobby and The Market restaurant. We extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences we might have caused regarding the service in The Market and food quality in Picasso I assure you we will take immediate actions to correct this.

We hope that despite this issues we will have once again the honor to serve you in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel, possibly the finest in Guatemala city. It has beautiful art, attentive staff, and one of the best hotel breakfast buffets I've ever had, The views from the upper floors can be spectacular if you can get a room on the correct side (I did not).

Unfortunately I had problems with my room that keep this from being a five-star review. The first night my television was not hooked up properly. It was plugged into a non-functional UPS and the coax was not screwed in all the way. I reported this and the next night it was hooked up but the picture was fuzzy and I could not change channels with the remote. My fellow travelers reported no issues and plenty of english channels so it seems like I just had a bad or improperly hooked up TV, even after reporting it.

The other issue I had was with the A/C. Guatemala City is almost a mile high and gets chilly, even in April. My A/C just kept cooling the room no matter the temperature I set it to or whether it was on heat or cool. I had to turn it off to keep the room from being too cold.

Overall it was a fine hotel, I would stay there again. But if I was there more than two nights I would have asked for another room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank plain_zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in your home away from home. We are happy that despite the mentioned details you enjoy your Best Rest. I assure you we will take your comments very seriously and have already taken the corresponding actions to correct these issues. We have recently upgraded our TV Cable system to add much more HD Channels and these mentioned issues have been verified and corrected. Regarding the A/C in your room we are currently in the process of a complete maintenance of all our A/C system in order to provide the best comfort.

We truly apologize for any inconveniences these issues might have causes and look forward to receive you again so we can compensate these situations.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

During my stay in Guatemala City, my time spent at the Real InterContinental was excellent. The on site dining choices were great and very reasonably priced. All the staff throughout my stay were very professional and friendly. They were happy to answer any questions I had and were extremely knowledgeable about things to see or do in the city. I will definitely be staying with them again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babalootwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Customer:

Thank your very much for your review about your recent experience, here in your home away from home. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and our services. As you well mention all of our staff is always eager to answer any question regarding our beautiful City of Guatemala or our hotel services and facilities.

We look forward to receive your very soon.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

An upbeat hotel with full amenities in the heart of Guatemala City. A definite place to meet business and executive counterparts, go for a swim in the great pool or get a massage. The staff is courteous and professional and the food is just right.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your preference and review about your recent stay. As you well mention our recently renovated areas make the perfect combination between business and pleasure. We are happy you were able to relax in our pool and enjoy a massage at our InterContinental SPA. All of these elements plus our staff services and cuisine makes us The Place to Be!

We look forward to receive you soon, here in your home away from home.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing