We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Business travel is never fun or easy, especially when its an extended (2 week stay); however my trip to GT was probably my most memorable ever. The staff consistently greeted me by name recognition; attended to my every need. I felt at home with the exceptional service.

I did have an incident in my room (freak accident), but the staff promptly addressed the situation and moved in to another room with no effort on my part.

With more GT visits on the horizon, it is assured Real InterContinental Guatemala is my #1 hotel of choice!

Room Tip: Request volcano views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Ali F:

Thank you very much for your recent stat and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We once again apologize for the incident in your room and appreciate your comprehension and cooperation. We are very grateful that despite this situation we are still you # 1 choice and guarantee that we will keep doing our best effort to provide your Best Rest.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    258
    61
    23
    22
See reviews for
125
102
52
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I had a good stay here for a business trip. The hotel staff were very helpful and professional. There are great restaurants at the hotel and the gym/pool is good as well. The internet was good. The beds and pilows were very comfortable. Overall a nice-problem free stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CharlesVFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr. Charles Fletcher:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here in your home away from home. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our staff, recently renovated areas, comfortable beds and Internet Service.

We look forward to receive you very soon.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I travel to Guatemala regularly and I always stay at this hotel. The service is excellent and they have recently remodeled the main restaurant and lobby area. Both are excellent changes. One of the safest and cleanest hotels that I have ever experienced and I travel frequently throughout Latin American. Very good restaurants within the hotel's vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay in your home away from home. We are overwhelmed about your appreciation of our services and recent renovations and feel very happy to have accomplished our goal to provide our guests their Best Rest and Experience.

We look forward to receive you very soon,

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I was here on a business trip. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The staff were gracious but overall speak limited English. The rooms had somewhat run down furniture and the rugs seemed a little stained. I also don't think the A/C worked as well as I would have liked. Overall, it was a comfortable stay in what seems to be a somewhat safer area of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAR1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay in our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and staff services in our recently renovated The Market Restaurant. I am glad to inform you that we will be starting a complete room renovation at the end of this year to keep providing our guest their Best Rest and Experience.

We look forward for your next visit and remain with our arms open.

Kind Regard,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here back in February and it was very comfortable, breakfast included was well worth every penny. Service was the best!! Most places in Central America lack in this area... But not the Inter... In Nicaragua the service is exceptional at this hotel as well... It's as if you are not in Central America... Almost everyone speaks at least two languages... Highly recommend this hotel as well as the one in Nicaragua.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elmary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Customer:

We are very grateful for your fine review about your recent stay in our hotel as well in our brother hotel en Nicaragua. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our complete breakfast at The Market restaurant and our staff services.

We remain at your services and hope to have the pleasure to serve you very soon.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The service is good, it has good restaurants but, I'm a regular visitor due business travels. This is my third bad experience at the hotel. The first one, I was placed near to the elevators, it is pretty noisy, they were kind and offer me a better room. Second time I was place on a handicap room, it was dirty, and there were some blood stains in the bathroom furniture. This third time, the beds are old and very unconfortable. They really need to change old mattresses

I would recommend when checking in to look for a room away from elevators, check that the room is clean and check for the beds in good conditions.

Room Tip: ask rooms away from elevators. check that the room is clean check for the beds in good conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Customer:

We are very grateful for your recent stay and review about your experience. We extend our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you have encountered during your past 3 stays regarding room conditions. I assure you we have already updated your profile to make sure you will always be assigned to the correct room regarding your requirements. I´m also glad to inform you that we will soon be stating our complete Room and Corridor´s renovation, hopefully you will enjoy this in your future stays.

We hope that despite these situation we can have the opportunity to serve you in your future stays.

Kid Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is great, rooms, service, hotels etc. But the must important thing, there was no hot water!! I shaved and almost tore my face. I then took a shower and only towards the end when I was turning off the water, I started to feel lukewarm water. I mentioned this at the front desk, and it seems they know about itand just told me that I had to let the water run. I know now for next time, turn the water on 15 minutes prior to shaving and showering.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nicatraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson D, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review about your experience. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience of the water temperature in your room. We have reviewed this case with our maintenance and housekeeping departments and will conduct a thorough analysis of our water system to make the corresponding changes to improve this.

We appreciate your comprehension and beg for a second opportunity to serve you. Please let me know about your future visits so I can personally make sure you enjoy your Best Rest and Experience.

Kind Regards,

Nelson D´Lima
General Manager
nelson.dlima@r-hr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Camino Real
The Westin Camino Real
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Property: Real InterContinental Guatemala
Address: Calle 2-51 14 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options, a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailormade cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our fitness center open 24 hours in its new location overlooking the heated pool and a view of the city. Our recently renovated 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock, mobile docking station, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 4 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing