We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Colonial Hotel and downtown Guatemala City!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ajau Colonial
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Guatemala City downtown has many interesting places but if you read most travel guides you might become afraid and think there is nothing here. I am not discounting the crime problems and if you decide to stay here, I do suggest that you don't walk around after dark. The front desk will call a taxi driver they know. The hotel is secure and it is beautiful. The price is right. The staff is nice. I had a large, old fashioned room facing a quiet hallway. My only disappointment concerned the bathroom, which had a bug problem. Contrary to what you might have heard, the central zone of Guatemala has beautiful churches, a lovely arch over a street by the post office and interesting restaurants. I certainly prefer it to the Zona Viva, where I could be sitting in a shopping in Miami.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZarahL_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ajau Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2007

My father and I stayed at the Hotel Colonial for 5 nights back in July of 2006. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff is friendly. The location is very central, right in the heart of Zona 1, close to restaurants and the Mercado Central. The hotel also has parking.
My only complaint would be that for breakfast, the kitchen would run out of fried plantains or cheese. The very nice lady that served breakfast explained that they only make a limited amount of food to prevent waste.
My father is in the process of moving to Guatemala. He's was in Guatemala in October 2006 and again last week. He has stayed at Hotel Colonial both times.
The hotel is housed in a very interesting building, very typical for 1930's Guatemala City style architecture with 2 stories and beautiful central courtyard/patio with seating. The front desk clerk told me that the building was originally an orphanage.
The shops shut down early (7PM), and there's hardly no one on the streets (7a Avenida) after 9PM in fear of the thieves in the area. Dominos Pizza and Pollo Campero does not deliver past 9PM. Take a taxi and go to Zona 4 to Cuatro Grados Norte for late night fun!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LATriton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Carlos Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Arturo R, Gerente at Hotel Ajau Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nahuelito2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas estan super comodas!!
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyanthone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ange R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Arturo R, Director General at Hotel Ajau Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Violeta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#15 of 49 in Guatemala City
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#31 of 49 in Guatemala City
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#44 of 49 in Guatemala City
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Capri
#40 of 49 in Guatemala City
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 49 in Guatemala City
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajau Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajau Colonial

Address: 7 Avenida 14-19 | Zona 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala (Formerly Hotel Colonial)
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range: £25 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ajau Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the pulsating Historic Center of Guatemala City, 20 minutes from La Aurora International Airport and bus terminals with domestic destinations (Antigua, Tikal, Semuc Champey, Livingston, Quetzaltenango, IRTRA Reu and Atitlán) and international destinations , El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica). Located in a house of "Seville" style of the early twentieth century, you will have the ease of walking around buildings and colonial squares, churches, convents, handicraft markets, palaces, museums and architectural constructions of incalculable cultural and historical value. Within walking distance to a variety of Guatemalan and international restaurants, traditional and modern. We have spacious rooms from 1 to 8 people, pleasant and unique environments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ajau Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Guatemala City
Hotel Ajau Colonial Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing