We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 months at the Casa Grande”
Review of La Casa Grande

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guatemala City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa Grande
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Words can not describe the emotions I have for this hotel . It is like arriving home. The staff bend over backwards to help out the adoptive families. While my family and i were there the hotel installed a microwave , changed all of the matresses and painted the place,. Future plans include a business centre and AC in some rooms. I became friends with the owners son who decided to upgrade the hotel. For anyone who wants a true Guatemalan experience ,this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank kjlinisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for La Casa Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2006

We stayed at La Casa Grande for 4 days while we were visiting our daughter, whom we are in the process of adopting from Guatemala. They arranged a cab to pick us up at the airport and take us to the hotel. They took us to the room, which had 2 double beds (one for abuelita and one for us..) They provided us with a baby bath tub and crib. The crib was a bit less sturdy than our little girl liked. Fortunately, we had take our pac n play with us and she loved that, plus it had a changing table on it! They sterilized the bottles and made what was already an exciting trip even better. Though not air conditioned, the weather was perfect. There are plenty of sitting areas, terraces and gardens to enjoy while there. The dining room was great, the food was tasty and the staff was loving and caring. The experience of meeting our little girl for the first time was perfect and much of that is due to La Casa Grande and their staff...
There were many other adopting families there as well so we were able to visit with them and Mikayla played with their children. They had 2 high chairs in the dining room and a walker for the babies to use. The provided linens and housekeeping. We, however, did not utilize the daily room cleaning, but they still gave us clean towels, extra toilet paper and soaps etc... It was quite clean and comfortable. We will DEFINATELY stay there again when we return to bring our baby home and for subsequent adoptions. Also, they have a very nice lady who comes in the afternoons most days with handmade Guatemalan goods. They are BEAUTIFUL... she takes American $ or Guatemalan $. She is quite nice and it is nice to be able to buy some cultural things on your trip but not have to leave the hotel, when you are visiting your little ones.
The room had a TV and it did get Spanish and English channels, BUT I must say we didn't watch much TV as we were with Mikayla and visiting with other families.
THANKS LA CASA GRANDE!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank eubanksfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

My wife (a native of Guatemala) and I stayed at the Hotel Casa Grande over Memorial Day weekend 2006 while visiting the baby we are in the process of adopting. We rented two rooms, so that “Abuelita and Tía” (Grandma and Auntie) could visit as well. Although the hotel could use some new paint and a bit of maintenance work, we are delighted with the experience. The hotel, right next door to the American Embassy, clearly caters to adoptive families, and the staff was very friendly and very helpful. On Sunday morning, one of the staff heated some water to mix our baby formula, and quickly delivered it to our room. On the day we checked out, the desk clerk exchanged some American dollars for Quetzales for me; while not at the rate a bank would give, still at a pretty decent rate. Although a bit noisy in the daytime from the noise of the very busy Avenida Reforma, the view of the garden from the balcony is lovely. The food in the dining room, while admittedly on a somewhat limited menu, was very good. You can order the local (and very tasty) Gallo Beer, a glass of wine, or a cocktail with your dinner. Although we didn't use it, the hotel also has a small, well-stocked bar. We will definitely use this hotel again when we bring our baby home in the next few months.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank goyitomke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2006

This hotel has a very "SPECIAL" place in my heart...it is where we first met our adopted daughter! We stayed in the "suite" which is quite large. This place is like going back in time, like living in some mansion from way back when. We wanted a true Guatemalan experience and we got it! The staff is superb, they can not do more for you. It made a very special time in our lives even more memorable! I highly recommend it if you don't mind being around children and if you want to feel like you are in Guatemala, not another U.S. hotel chain. The food is excellent too. We will go back someday to bring our daughter to visit her birth country and we will be staying there!!

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank eveybri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2005

We made four trips to Guatemala in 2001 & 2002, and we stayed at the Casa Grande every time because we fell in love with it on our first visit. In some ways it felt like stepping back in time 75 years to stay in a fancy little hotel with ornate decor and personal service. Plus, the last thing we wanted was to travel to another country only to stay in some Americanized chain hotel, whereas the Casa Grande seemed authentically Guatemalan -- in a good way, a classy way. We appreciated being able to order a light meal in the hotel's atrium restaurant, and we occasionally sampled a drink from the bar while playing cards or Scrabble in one of the parlors off the main lobby. Everything seemed so relaxed, and the price was much more reasonable than the big chain hotels. I also agree 100% with what the reviewer from Greeley, CO wrote.

  • Stayed: November 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank mduruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lorena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mariela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
#20 of 49 in Guatemala City
60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
2.0 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#15 of 49 in Guatemala City
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#16 of 49 in Guatemala City
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Espanola
Hotel Villa Espanola
#38 of 49 in Guatemala City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Address: Avenida La Reforma 7-67 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Guatemala City
La Casa Grande Hotel
La Casa Grande Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing