We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the price- extremely nice staff”
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2008

I chose this hotel for its low price and since they are close to the embassy they are accustomed to adoptive parents. The only slightly negative things I have to say is that there is not much of an area to walk with your child (if you are visiting you can not leave the hotel) and one of the woman at the front desk was not very fluent in English and not too nice.
I was there for a week and all of the other people at the front desk were extremely accomidating. The cleaning people and other help were very nice and will assist with anything needed. I plan on staying here again!

Stayed: January 2008
Thank mayamomNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2007

Upon driving up to the San Carlos your first impression is that you're visitiing a wealthy friend living in a grand home in Paris. The hotel is the perfect size--it's like a cross between a bed and breakfast and a hotel, it's quiet etc. but still big enough to have a small bar and restaurant and you can sit on the front porch. The place is 200 feet from the US Embassy on a wide boulevard with sidewalks and trees down the middle, so it is in a cosmopolitan area,
8-10 blocks from the nightlife, restauarant, big hotels area---which is a lot of fun to visit and it is also 8-10 blocks the other way to the downtown area---which offers a lot to see---like cathedrals, historic government buildings, parks etc. We were adopting our son and we also traveled around the country to see sites as well and loved Guatemala. the staff at the San Carlos are great---they provided us with a crib, a wash basin--whatever they could do to make your stay enjoyable---they were even nice about me discovering my room key was in my pocket at the airport--and i called them --they handled that too.--I'll be back

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank westernhemisphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

I have stayed in this hotel at three different times. Once in 2005 and 2006 with my mother, and the rooms we stayed in were fine, since they were on the first level by the courtyard. However, I stayed there with my family (husband and daughters 5 and 11) for the nights we arrived in Guatemala and when we departed and the rooms the hotel gave us were not kept up.

On our first night the room they gave us upstairs in the back with wooded floors had not been swept and the shower curtain rod needed repair. The room was a bit cramp. They also didn't give us the correct number of towel eventhough they knew it was for a family of four.

For the second night at this hotel before we flew out after our two week tour, I requested a room on the main floor, thinking it would be better. Again the room was not well kept. It was not crampped like the one upstairs, but the carpet was dirty with many stains.

My impression is that the best rooms are the most expensive ones, the suites, in the main part on the hotel. So just remember to request rooms that are by the courtyard or in the main building.

The hotel offers a free shuttle from and to the airport, which is very convenient. However, the driver was about 15 minutes late picking us up from the airport. Then, the next morning when we were flying out to Tikal, my husband forgot it was a free shuttle and ask for the fee. The driver then quoted Q50, so be aware of that. On our last stay, I requested the driver of the shuttle be there aat 10:00am to take us to the airport, but the dest either forgot to call dispite my 4 reminders, or the driver was just not efficient. The driver arrived 25 minutes late.

This hotel offeres a free breakfast. There are 5 options to choose from and they are all very good.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank emolina22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rafaa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas estan muy bien.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidlN5086WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,676 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
655 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#18 of 49 in Guatemala City
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#9 of 49 in Guatemala City
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos

Address: Av. La Reforma 7-89, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#14 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: £71 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Carlos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the small and luxurious hotel in Guatemala. Hotel San Carlos is an elegant hotel that offers a personalized service that will make you feel at home. Hotel San Carlos is located in "Avenida La Reforma", one of the main and most beautiful avenue of Guatemala City. About 200 meters from the commercial area, financial centers, embassies and tourist attractions. Ten minutes from "La Aurora" International Airport and five minutes from downtown Historical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel
Hotel San Carlos Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing