We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in the center of Guatemala City”
Review of Pan American Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pan American Hotel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rock Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great place in the center of Guatemala City”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

After arriving in the late afternoon on Christmas Eve in Guatemala City, our Taxi driver recommend the Pan American Hotel to us.
It's a lovely older hotel, less than 2 blocks from the main square in The old historical area of Guatemala City.
We stayed here 3 nights over Christmas.

Our room was a nice size with 3 twin beds. A lovely large balcony that overlooked a busy walking only street of shopping.
We so enjoyed the views. As it was Christmas Eve when we arrived, the streets were packed with people. The fireworks at midnight went on and on. A real treat.

The room did not have wi-Fi, but it was available just outside our room in the lovely seating area in the hall.

A great breakfast was included in the price. It was served in the lobby. This hotel has lots of old
charm.
The price was very reasonable - around $40US

We left our heavy luggage here for a few days and travelled to Copan, Honduras for the New Year.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We will defiantly use this hotel as our stop in Guatemala City. We use to always head strait to Antigua upon arrival in Guatemala, but now that we've found such a good spot in Guatemala City, we can now visit the Capital and experience some of the things a large city has to offer.

Room Tip: Even though there is street noise, the outside rooms with large balconies are the best. There are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    46
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
17
30
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A hotel with very nice exterior and interior. Love the old style furniture and the food is delicious. Just two issues: 1) the cleaning lady knocked on the door just a little after 8am and totally woke you up. 2) there was live performance of marimba almost all day in the hallway. It was really loud and wish the volume was lower.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ponderwondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

we live in Xela, but visit the capital frequently for shopping. we like to stay in the historic center, but so far other hotels had disappointed us. Not the Pan American however! The beautiful old building has undergone a renovation, leaving many antique elements in tact. you feel like going back to the beginning of the 19th century, but with the modern comforts of good beds and a nice hot shower. the restaurant serves good food. Large breakfast and many well prepared tipico dishes for lunch and dinner. we also love El Barcito where a charming female bartender serves you 2 drinks for the price of one during happy hour. We found all the staff veryn friendly and helpful. Parking your car is included in the price and that is a good deal being right on the nicest shopping street of the historical center. We will definitely come back often! enitinepnnnion

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kruytkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This last month I took a trip to Guatemala and stayed in the Hotel Pan American. The hotel is a very old and historical place with accommodating rooms for a traveler needing the basics. Rooms were clean and my bed was very comfortable. The food in the restaurant is delicious! Although I had difficulty with the front desk on my check out (language barrier), the staff was as helpful as they could be to this American traveler who knows little of their native language.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know visiting the heart of Guatemala City!

Room Tip: I didn't get rooms with views. My room overlooked roofs and very little else. Perhaps ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marsch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This hotel states airport transfer, be warned all they do is call a taxi for you and you dont even know the taxi is there. I looked and looked for the shuttle or something with my name on it , saw nothing...arrived at the hotel, and they tried to charge me 96 Q (around $13) I said no sorry I already paid the taxi to get me here, as there was no one at the airport, the front desk never has change for dollars so don't expect the exchange rate...dont expect double beds as they are all singles (twins)....overall, great for an economical trip but nothing if you are looking for a great memory of Guatemala.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guatemala City hotels

Essex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This place is wonderful, full of old charm (and I don't mean dated by that) a beautiful art-deco type place - if Miss Marple walked passed you, you wouldn't be surprised! The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the location is just the best for exploring Zona 1 of the City. Felt very safe and secure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hampcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a real find. Yes, it's in the rundown area around Centro Historicio, but we didn't have any problems. Security is good. The hotel is decorated in Maya designs, weavings, tiles etc. There are 4 balconies around the central area which is a restaurant serving good value Maya and international food. The rooms are large, comfortable and old world wooden panellings etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.5 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#12 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center
Conquistador Hotel & Conference ...
#37 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
#17 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Property: Pan American Hotel
Address: 9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pan American Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing