We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adorable hotel, great location!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place was great. The hotel was adorable, hot showers, friendly staff. Good location if you want to walk around Zona 1. Just a heads up, when I was there breakfast was a bit pricey (almost twice the price elsewhere) so we just wandered around town instead, but overall, very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    74
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
44
73
79
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan, Honduras
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

As the name of the hotel says, the hotel itself is like a museum. Colonial-style building and nicely decorated rooms.. And there are many materials from archeological sites maybe of Mayan ruins. Staff are also very friendly with warm hospitality. I strongly recommend this hotel especially when you visit Guatemala for the first time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VioletaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at the Posada Belen for a few weeks in the Spring of 2013 for work. Because I used to live in Guatemala City (just a few blocks from the Posada Belen!), I rarely had a reason to stay at any hotel. However, this time I really fell in love with this cozy and hospitable inn. It is a far cry from the ultra-modern hotels you will find in Zone 9 or 10 of the city, however. This is a lower-key, bed and breakfast style, colonial Guatemalan home. Much better, in my opinion.

Francesca and the rest of the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make me (and the rest of the guests) feel at home. The food was also heads above the food I have had in other hotels in Guatemala--a bit pricey, true, but worth it from time to time.

There is a dining room as well as several other tables surrounding the flower-filled patio where meetings can be organized too, if necessary. Again, the staff was very helpful and flexible with our needs.

I would absolutely recommend this as a home base in Guatemala City. The other travelers I met there had returned time and time again. They also host small university or NGO groups who come back year after year to the Posada Belen, which leads me to believe that the level of service is consistently good! I will definitely be coming back, even if it is just to say hello to the great staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

They sent a trusted taxi for us, the style is homey situated right in Zona 1, close to everything, it is a good place to stay. The staff is helpful and the interior of the hotel feels more like a home than a hotel

Room Tip: use internet to book, they actually have a very good web site for travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
550 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked through booking.com a few days before arriving to Guatemala, and paid in advance by paypal. When arriving to Posada Belén, it´s quite a contrast : the only nicely painted façade in a quite run down street/area. Inside, it was quite another thing, with spaceous rooms around a lovely patio with loads of plants, and a dining room between museum artefacts. Great to discover safely Ciudad de Guatemala on foot, although at night, there´s nowhere near to dine, so we booked the in-house dinner (13$/pers). Food very decent, but we felt that this, as all the prices are given in US$, is another example of dedicating the place to US tourists; as European tourists, we lose twice - in exchange rates - when paying in quetzal. The breakfast here costs 7.5$, which we considered way too expensive : in nearby coffee rooms, you can have a wonderful breakfast for less than half of this price.

Room Tip: I guess it mainly comes down to chosing the type of bed you want. We wanted a double bed (cama de m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

If you are taking a trip to Guatemala I highly recommend making your "home base" this charming hotel. But more than having warm, welcoming employees at Hotel Posada Belen Museo Inn; their owner Francesca is a wonder!!!!
She helped plan our 10 day stay in Guatemala and made it a fantastic success. She arranged very prompt transportation to and from our different hotels and to and from both airports. (no glitches with taxis and great hotels all around!) You can reach her by email it at: mail@guatemalaweb.com OR phone # 22534530

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is my first review ever! We found this hotel by its recommendations on multiple sites and ended up with the best travel arrangements possible for our entire 10 days in Guatemala! You can trust Francesca to make all of your travel arrangements for safe, reliable, prompt connections to and from all of the "must see" experiences in Guatemala. Her hotel is located in the historic zone, a short walk to the Central market. It was safe and felt like home to us. The staff, Nilo, Juan, Luis, in particular, treat you like family. Francesca thought of absolutely everything, including a fabulous farewell dinner, of our choice, at her hotel. I strongly recommend Franchesca. You can reach her by email at: mail@guatemalaweb.com
Carol O. (MrsOgaard@yahoo.com)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#34 of 48 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#20 of 48 in Guatemala City
119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 48 in Guatemala City
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajau Colonial
Hotel Ajau Colonial
#43 of 48 in Guatemala City
29 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#13 of 48 in Guatemala City
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Property: Posada Belen Museo Inn
Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Belen Museo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing