We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Los Volcanes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

I had a great stay at Los Volcanes, the staff was so nice. This was my first time in Guatemala, if I Ever go back def I'll stay at Los Volcanes. They have complimentary breakfast, shuttle to the airport at a reasonable price.
Yader, byron, marisol, melanie, Thanks for everything! :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    10
    7
    3
    11
See reviews for
6
17
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

When I went to my spartan room, there was literally still crap floating in the toilet. There was no shampoo, no soap and I had to ask for a towel. We let our in-country host arrange this for us as our flight was leaving early. I don't think most Guatemalans would want to stay here. It is isolated and just plain crappy. Make another choice for your stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalLosVolcanes, Manager at Hostal Los Volcanes, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
We are very sorry about this situation because we manage high cleaning standards.

We would have liked if you had said something at the time it happened, we could have solved this situation.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had in your stay. The hostel recently changed administration; we are doing our best to never let this problem happen again, so our guests can have a great stay with no inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papeete
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Recently stayed here a night as my flight was at 6am the next day. It was recommended by someone who had stayed there before. I paid an exoribtant $30 for a private room wth bath and tv. I asked whether I could get a few $ off as I was not going to be there for breakfast. The very brief answer was "no". I was also told they could organise a taxi for me to town for $10 when I know the standard fare is half that price. I got a dirty look when I left on my own to get one out the front. The free shuttle the next morning was good and it looked like $20 had been written in the log rather than the $30 I had paid. I don't like getting ripped off and these people will take advantage of you as they are only a few minutes from the airport

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonoFelizPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Good:
- Really close to the airport
- Free shuttles to the airport
- Computer and internet access (even though they say that your first 20min is free)
- Free Breakfast (which I didn't actually have because I left at 4am for my flight)
- Cable TV with lots of channels

BAD:
- Stoner receptionist
- 22% tax (10% hospitality and 12% something else)
- Bathrooms only superficially look clean (there were empty shampoo packages, dust, and random debris here and there)
- BED BUGS! I am positive that they don't wash their sheets or clean the place that often. My boyfriend and I both got bites and I developed a rash on my legs and arms around these bites.

This place could be a great hostel. Its such a shame that it was so terrible. I really don't recommend you stay here. I travel a lot and always stay at hostels but this is the worst experience I've had at one. Even if I didn't get bug bites I would still say that this is one of the worst hostels I have been at.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

I stayed in Dec 08 for a week. Had a room with private bathroom. Room was clean, had daily maid service, breakfast was included, and had cable TV. Shower had luke warm water at best, but it was tolerable especially with the cool weather in Dec. Limited parking inside the property. Must supply own shampoo and soap bars.

Staff was extremely courteous, attentive, and helpful. Hotel is literally a minute by car to the airport. Free shuttle service to and from the hotel. Amazingly, jet plane noise was not that bad. There is a small mini market and restaurant within 200 feet of the hotel. Very security-oriented establishment-must be buzzed in from the street side.

I would definitely return here without hesitation. It is very cost-effective, excellent staff, extremely convenient to the airport, and is only 10 minutes away by car to the main area called Zona Viva. Definitely need a car or taxi to get around from the hotel to downtown Guatemala or to a supermarket, etc.

  • Liked — Its value, proximity to airport, and courteous staff
  • Disliked — Not too many eateries or other establishments within walking distance
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nessim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2005

I booked their "deluxe" single in late April, 2005. I was met at the airport as promised but when I looked around the room after check in found several huge "water bugs" in my room and even more in the shower. I called the only person I could find who was able to kill most of them. Needless to say I did not sleep well. It was too late at night to try to leave and find a taxi, especially since I was in a quiet neighborhood and didn't know where the main roads were located. Instead of the supposed to be included breakfast I was whisked off to the bus station. I will obviously not stay there again.

Helpful?
4 Thank pkibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
#17 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santander Plaza Hotel
Santander Plaza Hotel
#26 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#10 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#2 of 45 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.7 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#3 of 45 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Los Volcanes

Property: Hostal Los Volcanes
Address: 16 Calle 8-00, Zona 13 Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Los Volcanes 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Los Volcanes is located just 600 meters from International Airport La Aurora (walking distance), with more than 7 years welcoming travelers from all over the world we offer you a great spot for a value price. Free shuttle airport pick up / drop off and breakfast always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Los Volcanes Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing