We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chill and SAFE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Theatre International Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Campbellton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chill and SAFE”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and the other 7 girls who were traveling with me, slept there the first night in the country of Guatemala. It's very close to the airport, maybe 15 mins depending on the trafic. When you get Inside you forget that you are in Guatemala city because everything is so cozy, there are hamacs, puffs to sit on, a fruit tree, ... They put music on to play all day which is really nice. We actually plugged in my friend's iPod for a while. I felt very safe, they lock up the place very good. When we went, there was a guy from Québec city working, it was only his third week in Guate, he took us out to eat, to the market and to walk around the city. They have lockers to put your stuff in, which I was happy about. I really liked this place, it was also VERY clean, bathrooms included. I really enjoyed my stay there, if I go back to Guatemala city, I will sleep there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    27
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
4
21
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

All was good,the hostel is clean, is safe,the breakfast is free,hot watter,and very easy to pay,the people is kind, i can find persons of all world ,and i can make good friends.Very good place.I love it.Was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theloveisthereason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed there the last night of my trip through guatemala. the whole crew is very friendly and helpful. they even try to show you an authentic guatamela by visiting a concert together (crew and hostelvisitors) of a local band. Thank you for a special last night!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heyyydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A new hotel and I can see that they are putting effort into making it great. Are very helpful. We made a reservation for a dorm because that is all they had and when we got their my gf and I asked for a private. One of the workers gave up his room and moved in two beds for us. We only paid 93 or 95q each. This is probably one of the cheapest hostels that I found in Guatemala City. The only draw back was that there is only one bathroom for men and one bathroom for women for all to share. However, they said they would be doing renovations to make more bathrooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naved A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I was supposed to stay 3 nights in this hostel and I finally ended up staying one week. The location is great, near by shops, cheap restaurants.. The staff is lovely and helpful and the hostel facilities are good. I had a really nice stay there and I definitely recommend it if you want to meet young backpackers. Would stay there again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eugénie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My friend and I needed a place to stay for one night, since we were catching an early flight to Nicaragua the next day. We found this place on hostelworld.com and it had decent reviews. First off, the airport pick-up and drop-off was an additional $6 each way, I wouldn't have been bothered by it had the price per person / per night had been more reasonable. For 1 person / per night in the dorm room, it came out to be $20. Very overpriced, especially for what we got. My bed had ants crawling on the bed sheets, there was no hot water in the shower, and the Wifi was down. This was problematic since we needed Wifi to do research on our trip and do online check-in for our flight. It is also located in Zona 1 which is considered the more dangerous area of Guatemala City. Will not be staying here again, unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Pablo F, Gerente at Theatre International Hostel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Frances,

we really appreciate your comments and we would like to deeply apologize for all the inconvenients that we had made to you.
This is a bussines that we just have started and that´s why we are very thankful about your comments because thats how we are going to improve in the future.

Regards,

Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hostel is hard to find in terms of an A4 printed sign on the door, you really need to be walking past it, looking hard. It backs onto a theatre, though you wouldn't know it from being inside. The hostel felt secure in an area we didn't realise is quite dangerous (Zona 1). If you stay on a Friday night, look forward to a wonderful surprise - a cross between Narnia and night life! I would choose this hostel even just for that reason. Breakfast is basic - toast with jam, orange juice and cornflakes. Bring your own bed sheet if possible, or ask for a blanket. The kitchen is well-equipped, and there is 1 bathroom with hot shower for girls, and 1 for guys too. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and will do whatever they can to help you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#34 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#11 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#20 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quetzalroo
Quetzalroo
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#3 of 49 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theatre International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theatre International Hostel

Property: Theatre International Hostel
Address: 8th. Avenue 14-17 Zone, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Theatre International Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theatre International Hostel is the only backpacker hostel (with full equipped kitchen and breakfast included) located in the heart of the Historic Center of the City and only 10 minutes from the airport. Our mission is that you have nice time traveling. We are at the side of Teatro Abril, the most beautiful theatre in the City. 38 bed hostel - With two patios with hammocks, a deck, full equiped kitchen, laundry and free wifi. 8th avenue 14-17 zone 1. We have security 24/7. We include breakfast all you can eat from 8 to 10 AM: our famous banana pancakes. Include coffee, tea, pancakes and season fruits. We have the most competitive price in the market so the hostel remains full of young travelers. We have deals for long term stays or groups larger than eight people. We also have a common computer, security camera circuit, refrigerator full of beers, city maps and chill atmosphere. Laundry machines, hot water, green patio, deck for taking sun and common hall so you make new friends. The kitchen is open so you can cook and share meals with friends and save money. The grocery store is right at the corner. We sell ice cold beers but you can buy outside your favorite spirit and drink it at our deck area. Fridays and Saturdays are perfect to go party few blocks from hostel. This Hostel is run by a young local family that loves to travel and know very well Guatemala City and the whole country. We can help you organize your whole trip around Guatemala. Any taxi driver should know the direction and should charge no more than US$10.00 if coming from airport. It is pretty easy to locate the property in zone 1. We recommend to see the picture we have of our front view to identify easily the hostel. The door is black and has a small paper with the name. No big signs outside. We have the Transmetro bus station called "Estacion Belen" 10 meters from the entrance to the hostel. Credit cards accepted (MasterCard and Visa). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Theatre International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theatre International Hostel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing