We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with some minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I've stayed two times there and the experience was always good.
Important tip: the breakfast area can left your clothes smelling, because they cook your eggs in front of you. Try to have your breakfast BEFORE taking the morning shower.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renderjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Excellent hotel, the service is friendly and helpfull in the front desk and they have a delicious breakfast, as a tip just ask the cook that is in the omelet station to cook whatever he wants, you will not regret it. Thanks Chef Juan.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Andres I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

On the positive side: incredibily helpful staff. Both at the Reception as in the Dining-Room. They tried to anticipate your needs and serve you accordingly. The room, a junior-suite, was enormous. It even had a kitchenette I could have used. The bed is extremely comfortable and the quality of the sheets is very good indeed.

On the negative side: the towels: terrible. Old, very old and so shabby you couldn't even tell if they had been previously used! Also on the negative side, the bath, very old. And that the toiletries were nothing of this world. Breakfast was good but I stayed twice for dinner, and it was nothing out of this world. Deserts were specially scarce and low-quality.

All in all, nevertheless, I would definetely stay here again. The quality in sleep, the spacious room and the kindness of the staff made up for the minors!

Tip: a good shuttle service to the airport for just 5 USD. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartaPalomares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 560danem
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel for buisness travelers is very good as it sits on a safe area for Guatemala. Rooms are big, beds and pillows fantastic,bathrooms very appropriate. I would recommend this hotel but seriously advise the staff to improve on some details. Breakast serving is a killer if you are time constraint, as the restaurante is a little small and the waiters struggle badly to serve you, it is obvious they are understaff for the rush hour. The omelette station has a very average cook rather clumsy. Some other small details, the towels need to improve vastly, they look and feel worn out. Finally no kleenex in the bathroom, such a small detail that becomes huge,specially if you have a cold.

Room Tip: high up ask upgrade to junior suite if possible, is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luigivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here for three nights this week, while attending a business event which also took place at the hotel. Prior to my arrival I had requested airport pickup, as I was arriving late at night, and had not been to Guatemala City before. When I exited customs, the hotel driver was waiting, holding a sign with my name. Well worth the US$5 charge in my opinion. I had booked a deluxe suite online, at a good rate, and was allocated a room on the 12th floor, with amazing views over the city. Large living room, kitchenette, and separate bedroom with two double beds, Very comfortable beds, excellent nights sleep. Bathroom was unspectacular, and I would prefer a walk in shower with glass doors rather than the high sides bathtub with shower curtain that exists. Good wireless internet and digital safe. Excellent buffet breakfast included, with friendly service from the staff. Ate lunch one day, found the service to be friendly but extremely slow.

Mini bar items are extremely expensive - US$2.20 for a small bottle of water really is a rip off.

Location is great, easy walk to plenty of bars, restaurants and nighlife if that is what you are looking for.

Overall excellent hotel in Guatemala City.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 15 nights in February / March. I can highly recommend it. The staff at the hotel were super-helpful and friendly. I felt very welcome and looked after. Taxis were easy to get from the hotel and I was given plenty of useful advice regarding my personal safety. I certainly felt comfortable and safe in the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and had a wonderful view over the city. The very pleasant person who cleaned my room was excellent and helpful (she managed to get hold of a vase for the flowers I had received from my husband). The breakfast was delicious - especially the fresh papaya and pineapple. I also enjoyed the freshly cooked omelette most mornings. The only problem was that it was possible to hear other guests in the adjacent rooms: this disrupted my sleep once or twice but generally, it was fine. The hotel location was good: close to the airport and in the main business area, close to bars, shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 49 in Guatemala City
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
202 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala

Address: 12 Calle 1 24 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: £65 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unmistakable style and Quality, we belong to ACCOR HOTELS world group, with more than 4,000 hotels around the world. We are in Guatemala City just 8 minutes from La Aurora International Airport, located in the heart of the Living and Financial Center City Area, near the best shopping centers. We have 99 suites with 1 or 2 rooms, with up to 4 connected rooms, all with air conditioning, fully equipped kitchenette, safety deposit box, internet, LCD TV, cable, DVD, work desk, mini bar, electronic locks, windows with noise lock. All our suites have balconies overlooking the city and the volcanoes, business center, restaurant and 4 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Guatemala City
Accor Guatemala City
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing