We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unattentive and rude front desk.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unattentive and rude front desk.”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I arrived at this hotel two hours before their posted check-in ( 3:00 pm ) and was told that my room will be ready in 40 minutes, when I returned they told me 10 more minutes. I decided to sit down at the lobby to wait and half and hour passed being ignored by the front desk.
I asked the girl to tell me the truth and not keep me waiting longer and she just shrugged and didn`t give me a straight answer.
I asked for a city map and they didn`t have one.
I decided to leave and came back 3 hours later. When they took me to my room it was a double bed and not the junior suite I had booked.
One morning "somebody" called my room twice waking me up. When I complained they told me that they wouldn`t know who did even though all calls incoming and outgoing from the rooms are recorded.
Management should have a talk with the two girls working that day ( 11/02/12 ).
Some people don`t like certain people and shouldn`t be working in the service industry.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    120
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
31
33
39
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel is still a very good bargain for location and size of rooms. The rooms are huge, well kept and comfortable. I had a couple of glitches i service this time. The check in is at 3pm and even thouugh you know they have rooms available they won;t check you in before then which seems a bit annoying. Also, the computers in the business center had issues and my room service was one hour late once. Despite these minor incidents I still recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: If you plan on an early check in. CAll and make sure you get whatever is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I've stayed two times there and the experience was always good.
Important tip: the breakfast area can left your clothes smelling, because they cook your eggs in front of you. Try to have your breakfast BEFORE taking the morning shower.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renderjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, the service is friendly and helpfull in the front desk and they have a delicious breakfast, as a tip just ask the cook that is in the omelet station to cook whatever he wants, you will not regret it. Thanks Chef Juan.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andres I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

On the positive side: incredibily helpful staff. Both at the Reception as in the Dining-Room. They tried to anticipate your needs and serve you accordingly. The room, a junior-suite, was enormous. It even had a kitchenette I could have used. The bed is extremely comfortable and the quality of the sheets is very good indeed.

On the negative side: the towels: terrible. Old, very old and so shabby you couldn't even tell if they had been previously used! Also on the negative side, the bath, very old. And that the toiletries were nothing of this world. Breakfast was good but I stayed twice for dinner, and it was nothing out of this world. Deserts were specially scarce and low-quality.

All in all, nevertheless, I would definetely stay here again. The quality in sleep, the spacious room and the kindness of the staff made up for the minors!

Tip: a good shuttle service to the airport for just 5 USD. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaPalomares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel for buisness travelers is very good as it sits on a safe area for Guatemala. Rooms are big, beds and pillows fantastic,bathrooms very appropriate. I would recommend this hotel but seriously advise the staff to improve on some details. Breakast serving is a killer if you are time constraint, as the restaurante is a little small and the waiters struggle badly to serve you, it is obvious they are understaff for the rush hour. The omelette station has a very average cook rather clumsy. Some other small details, the towels need to improve vastly, they look and feel worn out. Finally no kleenex in the bathroom, such a small detail that becomes huge,specially if you have a cold.

Room Tip: high up ask upgrade to junior suite if possible, is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luigivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 49 in Guatemala City
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#7 of 49 in Guatemala City
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biltmore Guatemala
Hotel Biltmore Guatemala
#9 of 49 in Guatemala City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala

Property: Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Address: 12 Calle 1 24 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unmistakable style and Quality, we belong to ACCOR HOTELS world group, with more than 4,000 hotels around the world. We are in Guatemala City just 8 minutes from La Aurora International Airport, located in the heart of the Living and Financial Center City Area, near the best shopping centers. We have 99 suites with 1 or 2 rooms, with up to 4 connected rooms, all with air conditioning, fully equipped kitchenette, safety deposit box, internet, LCD TV, cable, DVD, work desk, mini bar, electronic locks, windows with noise lock. All our suites have balconies overlooking the city and the volcanoes, business center, restaurant and 4 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Guatemala City
Accor Guatemala City
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing