We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Las Canchitas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 53 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our stay at Casa Las Canchitas was a memorable one. With the price we paid the place was beyond our expectation. The hosts were geniunely friendly. They are expats from Ontario Canada with a very cute daughter. The room was big with big comfy bed. The breakfast was great with fresh fruits and juice, eggs, beans, bread and good coffee. The nicest thing was the rooftop terrace which overlooks the surrounding neighbourhood and the faraway mountains. With a slight breeze and warmth of the sun, I could stay there all day, read a book and just relax.

The climax of our trip was in the morning of Good Friday when we got woken up by distant sound and music. We found out that a procession was passing right by our street. We quickly dressed and stood by the front entrance. There we watched the procession for half an hour. Ladies dressed in black were carrying the alter of the crucifix slowly making their way down the street. They were followed by a band of musicians playing sombre music. The street was decorated by drawing apparently made out of sawdust dyed in different colors. Immediately after the procession, the city cleaning crew quickly swept away the sawdust with a plow and a big dumptruck!

All in all, it was a fantastic experience in Guatemala City. Until next time, we must go back soon!

Room Tip: Back rooms should be quieter but we stayed in a front room. There is a bit of street noise but it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLasCanchitas, Owner at Casa Las Canchitas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay during Holy Week. We look forward to your next visit. Guatemala City has a lot to offer. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
15
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for a week in April. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms well maintained and clean. The owners are native English speakers and are friendly and knowledgeable; they provided sound advice to ensure our safety in the city and made great recommendations for places to take our young kids. The casa itself feels safe and secure. It was nice being walking distance from the park, restaurants, grocery store and central market. We got delicious fresh pastries and bread from the bakery just around the block.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLasCanchitas, Owner at Casa Las Canchitas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having your cute kids and watching them play in the patio. Please visit again sometime. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this charming Bed & Breakfast right in the heart of downtown Guatemala City just before Christmas for 10 days. It had truly comfortable beds and awesome breakfasts! The rooftop terrace was so beautiful! The couple running this B & B arranged safe taxis for us and gave us sensible do's and don'ts for travelling around this beautiful city! We had such a great stay that we are returning in June with friends!! I would highly recommend Casa Las Canchitas.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLasCanchitas, Owner at Casa Las Canchitas Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi, thank you for your kind words. Glad to hear that you are coming again in June! Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#19 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
1.1 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#10 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Las Canchitas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Las Canchitas Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa Las Canchitas Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 7-46 4 | Zona 2, Guatemala City 01002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best B&B in Guatemala City! We're located in zone 2, a city center neighborhood known for its safety and easy access to the Historic Center. By taking a leisurely stroll on the nearby "Sexta", you'll be able to see all the action without ever taking a bus or taxi! We offer rooms with private bathrooms, full breakfast, pillow-top orthopedic beds, wifi, TV with cable, and an open rooftop terrace with a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Las Canchitas Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Las Canchitas Bed And Breakfast Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing