We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, safe hotel very close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Villa Toscana
Ranked #2 of 53 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great, safe hotel very close to airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our Chemainus BC Rotary team stayed here before returning to Canada after a work project at Lake Atitlan. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and our hosts even got up before 4 a.m. To give us coffee and a light breakfast before our early morning flight. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    86
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
83
55
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our usual experience of hotels by the airport are expensive and mediocre. However, it was a pleasant surprise to find Hostal Villa Toscana. As we booked a little late, only the suite was available, but that was only at $68 per night (March 2014). We thought, oh why not?

The hotel staff was exceedingly helpful. He thought of what we needed before we did. Since it was almost 9pm when we arrived, he made sure we ordered some food before the restaurant closed otherwise we would have dilly-dallied and then realized it was too late (there is no restaurant at the hotel so we had to rely on delivery).

Our suite was beautiful with a side window and also private porch that was rather large. We loved having a porch that looked down to the garden. It also had a view of the volcano. Since the walls were a little high, we had some privacy which was nice. Bathroom was clean and simple.

The room came with a free breakfast that you can select from a menu. Options included the desayuno tipico, pancakes, oatmeal etc. We had the tipico and it came with eggs, bread, cookies, plaintains and coffee/tea. It was rather tasty as I've always preferred hot breakfasts. It was nice to sit and eat breakfast at the outdoor area while enjoying the garden.

The only minor complaint is that the free taxi they sent was late to pick us up. Perhaps they can make sure this doesn't happen as it can be a little inconvenient for foreign travelers who spoke little Spanish and could not find a public phone where we were.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the suite as it's on the top floor so it's more quiet and it has a huge por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeps28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Lovely room, clean, comfortable, great bed, quality linens, quiet, amazing hosts who went out of their way for us. If you need to stay near the airport, this is the place to be! Walking distance to the airport, the museum, artesans.

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad room in this place. We were upstairs at the back and had a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zihuatanejo mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

After a fabulous 2 weeks in Guatemala: I didn't expect much from a place that would cater to the overnite airport traveler. What a gem! Great room, great staff and the touch of European taste that the owner brings. Unfortunately, our very early a.m. flight didn't allow us to try breakfast. But at these prices, I am going to recommend this to anyone traveling out of Aurora airport!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zihuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITISH COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you are using Guatemala City as a hub for visiting Guatemala then the Hostal Villa Toscana is worth considering. In a secure compound only minutes from the airport the hotel is small, very clean and comfortable. At the reasonable price of about $50 US double, you have a nice room and a morning breakfast to start your day. Lots of places to order takeout food from and the Hostal will serve that for you on proper plates, glasses, etc. in their breakfast area or out in the garden area at no extra charge.

The only down side would be for those who are very sensitive to sound. You are close to the airport and a military base will give you lessons in drumming and mass singing very early in the morning. Local dogs barking, any time of the day or night.

Room Tip: Desk staff are fluent in English and Spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIVERSTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This place was recommended by a traveler on Lonely Planet as being a reasonably priced ($45 USD for single), safe "hotel" near the airport in Guatemala City. It was in compound, surrounding by wire fencing and with a security guard. So close to the airport that you heard the planes reeving up to take off ... probably under 6 blocks away. The free transportation to the airport was in a FILTHY cab that was on its last leg (ie. seat didnt even have springs left in it) and there was no doubt the driver was looking for a tip for this 5min ride. Barely slept as the walls are paper thin... I could hear every sound down too a person coughing or flushing a toilet (by staff or in other rooms). The room had mosquitoes zipping around which is not a good feeling in a country with issues like malaria. By morning I had 6 bites/welts on my face and not sure it it was from them or something else. The bedspread and floor mat were old and dirty! Once in you really cant leave unless you want to cab it out of the compound and the only access to food is if the staff goes to get you sometime... they will.. but you pay... $8 USD for a McDonalds hamburger !

IF you are asking yourself if there was anything good... yes there is wifi, a pretty little courtyard & the staff were nice / pleasant. Oh and there's breakfast in the morning but I cant comment on that as I couldnt even get a coffee because I had to leave at 7am and the "breakfast" started at 7 .. I did ask the night before if it would be possible to get a coffee to go and they advised "no but we will offer you an orange juice and granola bar". :(

Room Tip: Hmmm not sure that's possible here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MoEnroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Could not be better as a base for airport, in a gated community a couple of minutes from international terminal. You could literally walk it (although not advisable with cases at wrong time of day), but you don't need to as they supply free transport. Archaeological museum and zoo are a 15 minute walk away. Room on first night was very basic, room on second night was excellent next to garden. Breakfast in small garden very pleasant. In evening you can order a takeaway through reception. No problem with flight noise as flights are infrequent. Like rest of Guatemala will accept US dollars and you will get a better exchange rate, a lot better than licensed rip off rate at airport bureaux. If traveling to Flores on one of the smaller airlines note that they go from another terminal at opposite side of airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMLondon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adriatika Hotel Boutique
Adriatika Hotel Boutique
#11 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#9 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
#17 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#7 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Villa Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Toscana

Property: Hostal Villa Toscana
Address: Calle 8-20 16 | Aurora I, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Villa Toscana!Since 2007, we are a hostel that offers all the comfort you need to feel at home in Guatemala City.We are known for our friendly service in a family atmosphere.Located in a strategic spot, just 1 minute from the airport and near the major tourist sites and business centres, makes us an attractive place for national and foreign visitors. We offer our guests a pleasant, safe and comfortable stay at a great price. Our goal is to make your stay with us an enjoyable experience!ROOMS AND RATES All our rooms are private and include:• Cable TV• Wireless Internet access• Bathroom with hot water• Shampoo, soap and towelsTYPES OF ROOM RATES• Single: 1 single bed US $ 38.00• Double: 2 single beds US $ 50.00• Triple: 3 single beds US $ 75.00• Matrimonial: 1 king bed US $ 57.00• Suite: 1 king bed, sitting area and terrace US $ 66.00Rate includes:• Taxes 22%• Breakfast: typical guatemalan, continental, american or cereal with milk• Private parking• Illimited internet acces in our guest computer or wireless in all the hostel• Immediate medical assistance service• Transfers airport (Intl. La Aurora) / hostel / airport** Shuttle service is included for up to 3 people from 5:00 am to 9:30 pm, outside these hours is an additional fee of $ 6.00. From 4 people on, we hired a bus for $ 15.00 per trip.We are able to comfortably accommodate up to 28 people.Check in: 15:00 Hrs.Check out: 12:00 Hrs.Payment:• Cash in U.S. dollars or quetzals• Checks in U.S. dollars or quetzals (for national companies only)• Credit card or debit card (6% surcharge)SERVICES • Meals (delivery service, fast and gourmet food)• Hot and cold drinks available at the hostel• Taxi• Tours• Rental cars• Laundry• Luggage storageWhat's Nearby?A 15 minute walk are the Museum of Ethnology, Archaeology, Modern Art, Children's Museum, Aurora Zoo and the Handicraft Market.10 minutes by car, there are the Ixchel and Popol Vuh museums.A 5 minute drive you can visit the Zona Viva, famous for its variety of restaurant bars, coffee shops and business centers.A 15 minute drive you can visit the Historic Center, where are located the National Palace, the Metropolitan Cathedral, Trade Portal and Central Park.We are also near the most famous and modern shopping centers as Miraflores and Oakland Mall, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Villa Toscana Hotel Guatemala City
Hostal Villa Toscana Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing