We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I've stayed in this trip!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've stayed in this trip!!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A simply stunning hotel, very colonial and very clean. The beds were very comfy and the food was great. Didn't try the pool but, went straight into the Jacuzzi and found it lovely and warm. We wasn't in there 5 minutes but a waiter came along and asked us if we would like a drink. So it was cocktails in the Jacuzzi. Couldn't get any better than that!!

Room Tip: A trip on a boat to the little indigenous villages is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinnycow64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Hotel Regis Panajachel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you very much for your glowing review. I am delighted to hear that you found Regis Hotel & Spa to be perfect in every way. We aim to provide the best service possible, going above and beyond our guests’ expectations.

Regards
Ana Ma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    100
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
95
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our Guide told us this was the best in the area and it was "rustic".- It was old bungalow cabins again! They are in desperate need of refurbishment as they had old tiled floors and wooden panelled ceilings but they are clean. Our room had 2 double beds, a wardrobe ,sofa and an old fireplace. A shelf along side it housed an old T.V and a rack under it served for the suitcase. Through the back there was a basic kitchen and it lead out to a walled bare area. Others in our group had the same type of rooms but only one bed and no kitchen .( I think ours was classed as a double as we were a couple whilst the others were solo travellers) The shower and toilet were very compact- when you sat on the toilet yor knees were about 3 inches forom the wall in front of you. My husband always joked about having to turn sideways to do the paper work!
The restaurant is not cheap so we ate out. Breakfast was a cooked set plated one but I did manage to get it swopped for cereal at no extra charge
The grounds of the hotel are well kept and it is surprisingly quiet for being in the middle of Panajachel. There is also security at the front and a gate that is shut at night, which is good as the road it is on is extremely busy.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a bar but it is not often open and always shut by9
A computer is in the reception area and is available for use at no charge.
We befriended a little shoe shine boy who hovered outside the hotel. His name was Salvador and he was so delighted when my husband gave him $10 for a shoe polish- he did an excellent job on his shoes. Look out for him if you visit here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Hotel Regis Panajachel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear brandylad
We thank you for sharing your comments and observations on your experience at Regis Hotel & Spa. We apologize for not meeting your expectations, we are aware that each of the comments made were taken to improve our services.
regards
Gerente Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a welcome two night stay here after a 9 hour road journey from San Christobal de Las Casas, Mexico. The hotel is at the bottom of a steep road into Panajachel, and close to the very beautiful Lake Ativan. The hotel has lovely tropical gardens, hot tub and sauna, and is close to many very good restaurants serving local and international cuisine. On our first evening we had a superb meal at a little restuarant thirty metres from the hotel, with entertainment from male and female folk singers . My wife tried the local potato soup and I had the Steak Mignon - both excellent. The service was extremely pleasant and the meal inexpensive. Breakfast was good, and after a visit to Chichicastenago market and Santo Thomas Church we returned to Panajachel for lunch at the Casablanca restaurant selecting the menu of the day (at less than $15) for Avocardo salad, giant grilled prawns and chocolate dessert. The next day we went across the lake by small speedy boat to Santiago Atilan- beware the swaying floating jetty, and had a tut-tut ride around the village. Santiago Atilan market had huge quantities of avocardos.
This area of Guatemala is very picturesque, and Hotel Regis impressed us as an excellent hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Hotel Regis Panajachel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Malholme
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Regis Hotel & Spa.
Greetings to United Kingdom
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I had read the mixed reviews and have come down firmly on the side of those who like the rustic bungalow charm better than a Holiday Inn. The amplified city concert was drowned out by a rain shower, but we drifted off to acoustic music. The gardens are exquisite. When we asked where the hot tubs were, we were guided not directed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed here with a tour group so can't comment on the price of the room. This hotel is spread around tropical landscaping. There is a sauna, hot spring tub, restaurant, free wifi at the reception area, not in the rooms. The room had one double and one single bed, desk, chair, wardrobe with extra bedding, and a red tile floor. There was also a small round marble table and chair by the window. There was a dressing room which had plenty of storage space and a mini fridge. The bathroom had a large tub with tiled area at the end to put towels, etc. There was ample space on the vanity to put things. The tile floors didn't look very clean. There is no heat or AC in the room and when I washed some clothing upon arrival, it was just as wet the next day, so it had to go to the laundry. The food was good, custom made omelettes on Sunday, fruit choices, cereal, rolls, toast, juice, coffee, potatoes, beans and rice and more.

If you hear some lovely music which seems to be coming from the back of the grounds somewhere, walk out the driveway, turn left on the street and walk about a block until you find the music coming from a Uruguayan restaurant on your left. We kept hearing this haunting music so decided to follow it one evening to this restaurant. One guy plays amplified violin and the other sings and plays guitar, which is a beautiful combination. The singer is also the owner of the restaurant. If they had CD's, I would have bought one.

You will find all kinds of shopping to do on the street, along with many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location except to be on the water!! Rooms are nice for the area well maintained grounds, but the plus are the spas. Make sure to spend an afternoon or an evening in one. Made from rocks,with two other water features as well as a Mayan sauna, tucked away in the corner near the peacock aviary the setting is pure tranquility. A little pricey and the food too, but you are in the heart of Pana and every choice available is in short walking distance. The shops and eateries of all types and the vendors especially the weekend market are right out the guarded security gate, the best on the Lake.

Room Tip: Child friendly, so if you are traveling with children this is a great fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the grounds of Regis Hotel. The garden was spectacular and the private, separate, small buildings the housed the rooms were adorable. Always hot water. Nice sized bathrooms and showers and a very pleasant, helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again if I ever find myself in Panajachel which I hope I do. It was peaceful

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estigirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regis Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regis Panajachel

Property: Hotel Regis Panajachel
Address: Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regis Panajachel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regis Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regis Panajachel Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing