We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel for that price”
Review of Hotel Jere

Hotel Jere
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Jere
Ranked #20 of 37 Panajachel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel is located near the pier, about 6min. walk from the center. The room was spacious with an interesting guatemalan decoration, the bed was very comfortable and the owners did their best to keep it really clean. The only problem would be the street noise in the morning, but it's nothing dramatic. It costed 120 quetzales per night (aboyt 12euros) and it was definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianna_Gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Nice place , family owned trying to make the best. Rooms are basic and clean, nights are quite. Sometimes something is not working but it will be fixed. I know this place since more the 15 years and I still like it.

Room Tip: get the rooms with the little private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolisPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Panajachel was a great place to stay, and this was hostel was okay. Decent size room. quite lazily decorated, nice balcony, staff kept our change when we paid for the room and there was lots of... ants. All over the bed, bathroom, floor. It was horrible. They got into our bags, clothes and somehow our alarm clock! Apart from that it was okay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandG1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Room was comfortable, and service was nice. I thought the price was high, so I moved after one night. That was a mistake. The hostel I found after this place, which was not listed in any guidebook or mentioned in any online forum, was a fraction of the price - but it was super sketchy.Nothing came of it, but I should have stayed at Jere. Panajachel, although it definitely has its share of dirty hippies, is a beautiful place, but you do get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights after a disastrous night at another place. For the price there is plenty of value & good location. The room was nice, clean and big w/2 beds for only like $11usd/night which I thought was fair, considering a hot shower and fresh paint all around. This is not a luxury place by any means, but bang for the buck wise I thought it was great. Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We did not enjoy our stay here. It is a no star hotel that charges a price way above that merited, it purports to be something it isn't. Our room was very basic. The sheets and blankets weren't wide enough for the beds. There weren't any other guests there but there were other local people using the terrace. The hostel is surrounded by cocks crowing through the night which sets off the barking dogs. The water in the shower varied between tepid and cold. Everything about this place is BASIC.and we took the first opportunity to escape to a much better place that cost less.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyPParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The staff at Hotel Jere booked our passage to the Guatemala Airport for several days AFTER we stayed with them. We were to make our van connection after spending time at a small resort on Lake Atitlan. An attentive staff member from the hotel actually met us at our returning boat and made sure we connected with the van!! It was service above and beyond the call of duty. They really looked after us.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wastaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bungalows dos Americas
Bungalows dos Americas
#17 of 37 in Panajachel
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jere

Address: Rancho Grande | Calle Rancho Grande, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Price Range: £10 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel jere.nice and safe family environment of three levelsbonito y seguo de tres niveles con ambiente famniliar ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Jere Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing