We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Playa Linda at Panajachel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Playa Linda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Linda
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Playa Linda at Panajachel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Loved Room 5! Wonderful view of Lake Atitlan from huge balcony. Is a little run down but that large of a room and the view for 450Q? It was definitely worth it for us. You can surely find less expensive places to stay in the area but make sure to get something with multi windows for a cross breeze. Hardly any rooms have A/C OR fans... as it gets pretty cool in the evenings.
The first night we were smoked out of our bedroom because the person staying below us decided to light a fire outside (and, of course, we had the windows open). We mentioned it at the front desk and it didn't happen again, thank goodness. Staff was VERY accommodating! Even a small earthquake while we were there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
16
27
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Probably quite nice at one point but not so now. Maybe nicer if you have a room with doors and windows outside but the ones inside are very stuffy. Paid 220 q which seems expensive. Our beds were in bad condition as well. Family is friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lamaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Great value for the money, with the biggest and most comfortable bed of our entire trip (room 2) and a lovely lake and volcano view. The staff were super helpful and friendly. Cute garden / aviary and in a quiet part of town.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeekyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for a week long visit to Pana. I have stayed in better, and way worse.. It's fairly old and worn but well kept overall.Rooms were pretty big with a balcony looking out over the lake. Beds were comfortable by central American standards.The shower was not the "suicide" type and had plenty of hot water. great location right next to lago attitlan , easy walk to center of town. Many restaurants within a 5 min walk. The staff were very helpful and breakfast is great.Really good base for touring the towns around the lake. Nice garden in front with a small pool. If you're a really budget minded traveler, you will enjoy this hotel. We paid 50.00 per night with breakfast , and were not disappointed. There are definitely better hotels in the area, but you will pay more and you're not likely going to have the view of the lake.. Fun town

Room Tip: Don't get the room at the top of the stairs... You can hear everyone coming and going..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed at the Playa Linda for two nights. I really wanted to like the place, as the people who work there are friendly, but there were just too many negatives. Many surfaces in the room looked like they had never been cleaned (cobwebs coated the wall in the bathroom). The carpets and rugs were really threadbare (you could see floor through them in places). And while it is difficult to find peace and quiet in Guatemala, the nightly serenade by roving dog packs near the hotel was remarkable - starting a little after midnight and going until dawn.

During the day, I enjoyed sitting on the balcony outside my room. However, despite its name, the Playa Linda is not located on the lake, and the view of Lake Atitlan and the surrounding volcanos from the balcony was partially blocked by a relatively new (and ugly) building. An unobstructed lake view might have made the Playa Linda acceptable, but without it, there are better options in Panajachel at this price point (45 USD per night).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panajachel hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is fine if your expectations are modest. The rooms are worn and not completely clean. The view of the lake is partially blocked by an ugly cinder-block building. But the location is good, and the people are great -- very nice and helpful. The breakfast was quite good. The small garden in front is attractive too.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay when visiting Panajachel. We visit Pana every winter and usually stay up in the heart of town, but this year wanted to stay somewhere closer to the lake.
We found Playa Linda from off of Trip Advisor, and thought we'd give it a try.
We only planned to spend a few days and the move somewhere else. Turns out we were so happy, we ended up staying 3 weeks.
The first few days we tried 3 different rooms,as many of the rooms had been reserved and we could only spend one night, but then settled into Room #2 for the rest of our stay.
The view from the large balcony could've be beat. A spectacular sunrise and sunset over the lake every day.
Our room had two beds, but we only needed the king side bed. The bed was a delight, firm and large.
The service was great. Nick was a tireless worker. He tending the delightful gardens on the site, and also did all the room cleaning. That man worked from dawn to dusk daily. We became great friends during our long stay.
All the staff were very friendly and so helpful with anything you needed.
The price of the rooms are very reasonable and include breakfast and coffee from the lobby all morning.
We will defiantly be back next year!

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rockhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.3 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Linda

Property: Hotel Playa Linda
Address: Calle 0-70 7a | Playa Pública, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Linda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Linda is a longer lineage hotels in Panajachel, Solola. It opened in April 1973 in order to serve the national and international tourism visiting the beautiful Lake Atitlan. From its inception has been concerned to offer a service with the highest standards of quality guests adapting to the needs of our visitors. Today, after more than thirty-five years of experience, the third generation of this history of service, strives to keep this tradition in the care of our guests by ensuring that your stay with us a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Playa Linda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Linda Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing