We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite in Panajachel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mario's Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mario's Rooms
Ranked #3 of 34 Panajachel B&B and Inns
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
“My Favorite in Panajachel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stay at Mario's Rooms whenever I am in Panajachel because of the warm and friendly staff and owners! If feels like home for me because I have been staying there for several years when in Pana. The rooms are very clean and I love all the flowers in the courtyard. I always feel safe and secure at Mario's Rooms. The breakfast is included and is wonderful! They have the best home made yogurt in Pana! I love their fruit and yogurt bowls!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kare a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    53
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
58
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed there with our 2 kids - 6 months old and 2.5 years old.

Very convenient location on the main ( and busiest) street in Pana but very quiet inside. We were one of the very few guests at that time which added to the atmosphere of quietness and emptiness. (Which we actually enjoyed)

No common area so i suppose not an ideal place to meet and chat to other people ( if someone is looking for that) and does not have the feel of backpackers hostels which are often more than the roof and good bed ;)

The room we had (downstairs at the end of the courtyard) was good size, had its private bathroom, towels ( nice if you are travelling only with a synthetic type of camping towels), basic toiletries, a glass of water, very secure (!) safe deposit box in the room ( never found in any other budget accomodation but very useful if you all want to go swimming), a small tv. There was a table and a chair outside the room as well as a hammock ( if think the only one in the hotel).

Breakfast was basic but inlcuded in the price (apart from Antigua and Pana we never found again a budget place with breakfast) - you actually have a choice of 4 options. Eggs and beans is the winner i would say.

The staff ( a lady who cleaned the rooms, washed by hand all bed linen and did the reception duty) was very nice and friendly. But there was no owner present like in some other places who likes to talk to the guests and is ready to give advice and tips about local area.

Look out for colibers in the courtyard full of lush plants :)

And make sure you have a repellent as lots of mosquitoes in the rooms. I wish there were mosquito nets

Room Tip: We liked the rooms downstairs at the back of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Mario's! The staff there are so friendly and the hotel is beautiful! It is full of gorgeous, colorful gardens amongst the patio and I even saw a hummingbird! My only complaint is that my room was pretty small and there wasn't a fan to keep cool, but all in all, I'd for sure go there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place to stay but not very spacious. I could feel the springs in my bed. Very friendly staff. The breakfast included is mínimum. Avoid the oatmeal looks like a runny soup without the oats. Best if you are on a budget. It is very close to an ATM.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed our 5 night stay at Mario's Rooms. The rooms are simple but very clean and far enough away from the busy road to ensure a good nights sleep. The location can't be beaten. A good value option!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anewdayanewplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This place is just far enough from the busy portion of Panajachel to be quiet at night. It seemed to be a pretty safe area. Not a lot going on in the hotel itself but walking distance to everything Pana has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brent_hall11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at Mario's rooms this week. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms were spotless. I even had to look under the bed because I dropped my phone, and there was not a spot I dust anywhere! Would definitely stay again if I came back to Pana.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje El Viajero
Hospedaje El Viajero
#4 of 34 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mario's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mario's Rooms

Property: Mario's Rooms
Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Also Known As:
Mario`s Rooms Hotel Panajachel
Mario's Rooms Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing