We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - recommended.”
Review of Chinitas

Chinitas
Ranked #24 of 78 Restaurants in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place - recommended.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I spent a couple day in Panajachel and I found this small cafe/restaurant one of my favorite in Panajachel. It is cozy, with nice decoration, great atmosphere, good food, there is also good wireless signal and the service was impeccable. And above all they have live music every other night. Totally recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good tea, good Sushi, nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I've been in Chinitas with my wife for a tea. The tea was really good and was not just one cup, but a teapot! We also ordered some sushi. Well done with some salsas... Yummy!! There is an internet access and we stayed there a couple of hours talking and writing postcards! Recommended! The negative point goes to the treatment... they forgot our table and we always had to call them inside the kitchen!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di_Ferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Had great potential, but let down by a lack of flavour”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We went to Chinitas for a change of cuisine, and the menu looked very tempting, with a range of Asian dishes (Guatemalan and pasta dishes were also available). We both had curries, and while both dishes had seasoned chicken/beef and a lot of fresh veggies, both were let down by soups/sauces that lacked flavour. One sauce was gloopy and really added nothing to the meal.

The atmosphere at the restaurant is great, with a pretty courtyard and music (recorded). The staff are friendly and helpful, but don't appear to have a problem with beggars and street sellers coming in to bother customers while they are eating (one was even allowed to stay in the restaurant to rest in between bouts of hassling us during our meal).

Overall, this place has great potential, but it didn't get above average for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tofu and tampa in guatemala... a dream!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The owner apparently is from Singapore: funny lady, ready to serve you in each request. I am strictly vegetarian, so it is almost impossible for me to find a restaurant where I can eat with no worries of surprises!! but here, gosh, it was a dream coming true. To find tofu, tampa, noodles and my favorite MISO soup was absolutely fantastic. the share of the food is more then fair, the taste (I am not asian) good enough to please your palate and the atmosphere is really pleasant. We went back the night after without a blink!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gotamcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Returned for more again and again”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We visited panajanchel in December 2012 (delayed review). Out first bites of this fusion food nearly put us in a giggle-fit. The pure pleasure of that first taste and the sustained deliciousness of each following bite was such a treat, especially given the garbage American fare typically offered in most tourist holes. The owner/cook is a world traveller herself and has lived in Vietnam, France and Canada. Talking with her was such a pleasure, which was the cherry atop the beautiful and relaxing ambience. Chinitas should be your first dinner choice; and, if you're like us, it'll also be you choice for dinner on day two, day three...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDeCoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinitas also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Chinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing